Yeah I'm pretty sure it's going ahead.

Toffy's got the track all booked.

Not sure how much it's going to cost, is it like $120 each or $120 for the track for all of us? I'm a little confused about that.

i couldn't actually book it without forking $$$ up front , but it is 'noted' i shall ring des or dave back tomorrow for final confirmation :)

• Replies 127

Need to rewire car, front wipers won't go, only have half of dash working, constant high beam (need new indicator/high beam module), power steering leak, over heating. Today I found a mighty 2 bolts in gearbox mount with 1 not even done right up! Need new door locks as when I finish work and it is raining I can't drive home and have to leave it at work unlocked.

Hey guys-

Well I'm back a little sooner than I thought... so I'll be there! Can't confirm if I'll get out there- but I'll be there either way.

Oh and zoidbergmerc- if I came off a little rude yesterday at the bottle shop, I apaologise... I'f just come off the back of 48hrs of flying/airports/no sleep.

Justin

haha you're right mate, I could tell from the bags under your eyes that you were a little sleepy.

I'm not sure if my Skyline will be 100% ready... Anyone got an oil cooler they want to sell?

Hi lads, looking forward to this, hope the weather plays ball, I'm waiting on some new brake pads to arrive, so starting the get a little edgey about that!

I dont want be Mr negative party pooper bubble burster BUZZ KILL here, but for the guys who haven't done a track day or many of them, I think you will quickly see that a monthly thing will be a tad too much.

You will quickly realise that you need/want to upgrade various bits of your suspension (unless you have a full blown all out 15-20k suspension setup)

You will get sick of street rubber, and if you drive your car on the street regularly, you will want a second set of rims with semi's/race rubber.

Brakes, you will want good pads, good pads will be chewed quite quickly so, only going to get a couple of track days out of a set really, with some street driving included. you will want to machine rotors between pad changes and then fluch fluid etc. not the end of the world but few hundred bux every time this is done.

Ideally you will want to service your car, plugs/oil/filter before a track day. I dont know if I believe it, but its often said 1 lap at the track is equal to 1000 kays on the road. I thinks it more like 100 kays at the track is equal to 1000 on the road.

I think once every 2-3 months would be ideal, like a summer SAU day, Winter SAU day etc. just A idea.

Not saying everyone will be out to brake world records, but you'll be going as fast as your car/abilities allow. My cars goes ok around there, but I want tp spend another 15 on it lol, track days are addictive, and its great to ring your beasties neck, coming out of turns out of shape, painting lines and not be worried about Mr Plod standing up the road with a radar in hand, or angry motorists. Its a healthy way to get it out of your system, and the urge to play up on the street is greatly reduced!

Hi lads, looking forward to this, hope the weather plays ball, I'm waiting on some new brake pads to arrive, so starting the get a little edgey about that!

I dont want be Mr negative party pooper bubble burster BUZZ KILL here, but for the guys who haven't done a track day or many of them, I think you will quickly see that a monthly thing will be a tad too much.

You will quickly realise that you need/want to upgrade various bits of your suspension (unless you have a full blown all out 15-20k suspension setup)

You will get sick of street rubber, and if you drive your car on the street regularly, you will want a second set of rims with semi's/race rubber.

Brakes, you will want good pads, good pads will be chewed quite quickly so, only going to get a couple of track days out of a set really, with some street driving included. you will want to machine rotors between pad changes and then fluch fluid etc. not the end of the world but few hundred bux every time this is done.

Ideally you will want to service your car, plugs/oil/filter before a track day. I dont know if I believe it, but its often said 1 lap at the track is equal to 1000 kays on the road. I thinks it more like 100 kays at the track is equal to 1000 on the road.

I think once every 2-3 months would be ideal, like a summer SAU day, Winter SAU day etc. just A idea.

Not saying everyone will be out to brake world records, but you'll be going as fast as your car/abilities allow. My cars goes ok around there, but I want tp spend another 15 on it lol, track days are addictive, and its great to ring your beasties neck, coming out of turns out of shape, painting lines and not be worried about Mr Plod standing up the road with a radar in hand, or angry motorists. Its a healthy way to get it out of your system, and the urge to play up on the street is greatly reduced!

great post Jack.

It gets very addictive and also bloody expensive.

great post Jack.

It gets very addictive and also bloody expensive.

dont i know it too, and i havent even started the series i plan to yet lol

I do agree with jack! 1 every 3 months is reasonable, especially when you take into account some of us do hillclimbs (collinsvale, basky, domain, highclere x2) so at $100+ a pop for those + fuel / maintenance, track days add up!

i do random track days every so often with mates or when i'm really really bored lol

but i do like the idea of a 4 event per year, 2 basky, 2 symmonds? rotation system?

haha nah, 62 is all i have managed out of it, but fairly consistant 63's My coilovers are my biggest let down, wayyy to stiff and just doesnt soak up the bumps well anough around basky, always farting around getting it down smooth. going to invest in a better setup in the coming months. bilsteins def on the cards. Pull some weight out of it (still retains aircon etc) so hoping to pull min 50kgs out of it and add 50-70kw's. plus some other suspension odds and ends.... see what I mean!! still in the transition from a trackable street car to a streetable track car. eventually aiming for something simular to what Woolls has achieved.

know what you mean about suspension jack, mines soaks up the bumps well, following you, your car didnt budge a mm.. it just wanted to let loose everywhere lol

i really need my diff sorted then i reckon ill hit 62's, pb atm is 63.38 not bad when i couldnt put the power down on last corner and exiting esses.

It's nice to hear someone say their coilovers are too stiff, some of the people I know seem to think the harder the suspension the better it is, then put the loss of traction over anything not completely flat down to their peak power figures which are only ever hit at 7500rpm :P that being said my suspension is floaty at the best of times, and tends to give itself over to the r33 whale concept

I think the monthly idea was mostly to make it a recurring thing, there are enough super sprints and hillclimbs around the state to keep people too busy even without these track days. I'm happy for a track day with each season as I hope to do some super sprints and just normal track days myself after this initial one, which will fill in any gaps that I can afford. I do like the working bee concept though :)

I would guess we will have to see how many people even turn up, it could still be the biggest flop in motoring history :P

If I get a 2:00 around baski I'll do the happy drunk dance of joy, then if I get 1:50 around the same thing and so on. If I dont get a 2:30 I will be doing the sad slump of a middle aged lady who has drunk too much gin, and retiring my skyline to someone who can drive... I've never seen anyone over 2:30 yet, unless they were being towed, and even they were close :P

well I suppose the good think about setting your goals so low is that you're sure to avoid disappointment lol

So super stoked for the weekend, not sure which car I will be taking yet...

go out there, have fun at first learning your car and the track, at any stage just ask some of us to come out for a lap with you in your passenger seat or take a ride with one of us to learn the lines :-) me and a mate have gotten some guys to drop 4 seconds per lap just by showing them simple lines.