Being in the market for a skyline/import car, I have been considering the future of when I have had my use of the car and am in the market to sell. At a guess I would say that these types of car depreciate less than your regular domestic vehicles (i'm encouraging someone to state otherwise). Naturally I am hanging out for a car with low k's and clean history (if any exists) to potentially forego any issues when it comes to sale time.

Obviously P plate limitations, the GFC, and perhaps recent events in Japan have affected this market, and therefore the resell potential of these vehicles. Since looking for a suitable car (carsales/forums/ebay) I have noticed that many of the same cars remain on these sites for months and months and mainly the ones with sharp price drops get sold. I have just been thinking, is the market for these cars dying off that badly? Naturally the target market for these cars and hence demand, is a lot smaller which makes me wonder is buying one a really dumb idea?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/359895-resale-and-demand-for-imports/

What makes you think they depreciate less?

A R34 GT-T has gone from what, 30k or so 4-5yrs, to 20k or so. You can get a R33 GTR for 20k even.

The fact it's N/A - even less. Look through the FS section, car sales etc. Nobody is selling easily these days unless its rare.

Take a Porka Cayenne or a BMW 335i, both have dropped 40-50k off their sticker price in 18-24months.

Whatever car you buy, forget about resale values unless it is rare. It's been this way for a number of years now.

A R34 GT-T has gone from what, 30k or so 4-5yrs, to 20k or so. You can get a R33 GTR for 20k even.

20K is a lot higher than I've seen any sell on the forums lately ..

.. closer to $12-15K maybe - and yet people are still trying to flog off R33 GTS-T for $15K ..

As someone who bought their R34 GT-T 4 years ago, it's bloody depressing.

Wouldn't say that the resale value has held particularly well - not that I particularly care - don't plan on selling it anytime soon .. Market for 6+ cyl/turbo cars dropped out the arse when the GFC hit, and it didn't really ever recover ..

As a matter of fact I am after a R34 GTT.

I think the problem is that diposers of this type of car still think they can get rid of them at a decent dollar, comparative to what they have spent.

This is clearly not the case as the demand has gone way down, and the 'market' price just hasnt reflected this. None of the cars I have been monitoring have been going for $20k...not sure how location affects this though. Seems to be a lot more better quality in nsw/vic

Simple fact is that banks have tightened up = less unsecured personal loans.

Edited by clintwb

I think the problem is that diposers of this type of car still think they can get rid of them at a decent dollar, comparative to what they have spent.

This is clearly not the case as the demand has gone way down, and the 'market' price just hasnt reflected this. None of the cars I have been monitoring have been going for $20k...not sure how location affects this though. Seems to be a lot more better quality in nsw/vic

It took my bank less than 15 minutes to secure me a $17,000 loan and I'm only 18.

It took them two days to give it to me.

Why did it take so long? Because I didn't provide enough payslips.

Srsly... I don't think the banks are holding out too much.

It's always the way. More often then not, people try to sell these cars for unrealistic prices. Therefore, they're for sale for longer periods of time.

Skylines/performance cars alike are not cheap to run. Generally run on premium, with quality oils and parts. So naturally when the GFC hit, a lot of people tried to offload and not a lot wanted to buy.

You need to keep in mind that cars for sale on this forum in particular don't move very fast. Reason? The vast majority of cars for sale are skylines, and the vast majority of us already own skylines. Unless it's a rarer/cheaper car, you'll tend to be trying to sell it for a while.

I wouldn't get a loan for a car, ever. Can't see the point in borrowing money for something that becomes less valueable everytime you turn the key. End up paying 25 grand back for a car your purchased for 17 grand and is only worth 10 grand by the time your loan is paid off.

Errrrrrrmmmm

To be quite honest ... This thread are things that help kill the value. Ie:

Saying they lose value.. Is what causes value drops..

Dealers saying they're worthless and nobody wants them. Is what helps kill the value.

Dealers that say that are what makes a certain dick head that I know called up a guy selling a well maintained s14a with mods and is asking 13.5k for it and offer that guy 8.5k

People like that destroy the value of cars.

Value means nothing.

For what it's worth. I imported my cefiro in 2004 and had it landed complied registered for 6.4k... In 2004

I sold it in 2010 for 7.5k

1100 dollars appreciating value over six years. Can't complain about that???

In 2006 my mum bought a soarer for 7k... Last weekend we sold it for 6.5 k

500 bucks depreciation over 5 years...

Can't complain about that?

Skylines are a different ballpark mind you... A bit more common and most people that WANT them... Already own them :P

& this is the reason I don't plan on selling my car for a long time (probably never, had a engine rebuild planed when it hits ~200k kms), besides sentimental value, the car is basically worthless to anyone else other than me.

My mum's white good Camry will worth more & be much more easy to sell than my car.

As for OP if you're looking to reasons to justify to yourself a guilty conscience for lowballing some guys hard work...

Don't.

Seriously if you have 10 grand and want an R34 for instance,please give up.

I really hate how (not saying this is you) but I really hate people that are hmm 19 or 20 and want an R34 and have 8grand they're willig to spend..

Seriously there are people like that.. Shit. I actually know of two wankers one in Perth one in Sydney that are putting out wanted to buys for Toyota soarers with extensive service history and they both want them to be well looked after and they're willing to pay UP TO 4 grand for a perfect magical soarer.

Those people are bogan dickwads.

If youre like them then seriously fwark off!!!!

People who say "these cars are old therefore they're worth nothing"

Are what brings the value down of these imported cars.

The guy that we just sold the soarer to... Asked me why is our soarer costing an extra grand than what ahmed hussiens 5k soarer from the other side of town is costing, and I said to him...

Brand new water pump, whole file worth of service history, upgraded radiator fans, Japanese forged wheels, bridgestone tyres, new timing belt, new brakes, new battery, fresh rego.

He checked everything over and agreed that it was a well maintained import and was definitely worth what he was paying for it.. Which it was...

Obviously if you're looking at clapped out R34 that have never had an oil change since being in Australia and still has the wako's oil filter .. Has cig burns all over it and brown stain on drivers seat

and mysteriously has only done 42,000km etc then obviously that car is not worth 15k..

But if that R34 is a fair say 15k.. Looks immaculate. Has a nice engine that has been freshly serviced and owner has taken good care of it then why CAN'T he have 15k for it??

I mean what cars can you buy these days that are a head turning turbo coupe with all the modern features?

If you cant afford an import.. Don't buy one. Go buy a Hyundai Getz instead.. Obviously that doesn't answer your question but yeah long and short is...

An imported car is worth what the car is worth.

Not it's age. Not it's km. Not it's colour. Etc

Mate, im over 25 and am more than happy to spend at least 15k for the right vehicle. I just want to stimulate some convo, particularly from current skyline owners (which will soon be me)

You don't buy a car like this because it's cheap to run and will hold its value. What attracts me to the car is its uniqueness, styling and power - it is a hard thing to quantify which is why pricing is a contentious issue in my mind.

No lowballing here

Demand hasn't gone down - there are just that many shit examples & market flodding it's dragging the overall down.

A very clean, low KM car will still fetch a good price regardless of whether you are willing to pay for it. As you are only willing to spend 15k, you'll only get 15k worth of car. You cannot expect a super clean car, wild mild and decent mods, low km's etc for 15k. It's not going to happen IMO regardless of what the "average" market price is today.

I know two people recently who've sold built R32 GTR's for around 35k, where similarly modded R33's are fetching the same money.

Op I wasn't saying that was you by any stretch of the imagination man, putnit this way if I thought you were one of them I would not have said anything, I'll repeat what I said earlier...

Generally speaking these cars are priced at what they are worth. End of story...

Same goes for japan also with importation of cars...

A few weeks back I saw a R32 Gtr get sold for what would have worked out to be 37 grand in Aussie dollars...

And that's in japan.. Where everyone thinks That car depreciate like mental...

Welcome to the market of imported cars... Some cars are worth nothing... Some cara are worth thousands n thousands more

spending 15k and getting 15k worth of car is the whole concept of exchanging money for goods, isn't it :P

seriously though, good thoughts all around. what can I say - the import market intrigues me.

was thinking about seeing if chef could hook me up......free reacharounds!

spending 15k and getting 15k worth of car is the whole concept of exchanging money for goods, isn't it :P

I know you're not 100% serious in the statement, but as you know; All cars of a certain spec were created equal. 10-15 years on, this is far from the case.

Thinking that a 20k+ immaculate R34 is overpriced because you can buy a clapped out one for 15k will only hurt your wallet and the market in the long run.

I know you're not 100% serious in the statement, but as you know; All cars of a certain spec were created equal. 10-15 years on, this is far from the case.

Thinking that a 20k+ immaculate R34 is overpriced because you can buy a clapped out one for 15k will only hurt your wallet and the market in the long run.

no, not 100% serious but conversationally, in your example - doesn't the 5k price difference reflect the difference between an immaculate car and a clapped out example?

as someone mentioned earlier I definitely believe these cars still fetch money not in correlation with their age, simply due to their features, styling and power which is well beyond their time.

the japs def know their shit when it comes to cars

no, not 100% serious but conversationally, in your example - doesn't the 5k price difference reflect the difference between an immaculate car and a clapped out example?

as someone mentioned earlier I definitely believe these cars still fetch money not in correlation with their age, simply due to their features, styling and power which is well beyond their time.

the japs def know their shit when it comes to cars

It does reflect the price difference, which was my point. However, what was also implied was the market being overflooded with said "clapped out" examples. Skewing the price.

People see 20k examples and think "why would I pay that when I can pay 15k for one?" and either lowball the immaculate example, saying "I can get one for 5k cheaper." or they go and buy the clapped out car for 15k, realise it's a heap and resell it for 13-14k just to pass it on. Just perpetuates the cycle. EDIT: I was guilty of this in my R32 in a respect. I saw ranges in price from 5-11k and thought 11k for an immaculate example was a rip-off. So I bought a 6k R32, which was very clean for what it was but it needed work (bit of paint, replacement parts, servicing) and wasn't registered. By the time I'd finished with everything, the car owes me over 10k and it's still lacking some power mods that those 10-11k examples I looked at initially. Go figure.

I don't think they fetch money beyond correlation with age and features. These cars were not cheap run abouts in their day. They were the pride of japan. I don't know what they retailed for in Japan, but they definitely weren't a cheap car.

The offered features in the early to mid 90's that only Euro cars had at the time. A 2000 model R34 fetches about the same as a BMW 320 from about the same year. I'd be guessing their new retail price would be about similar. The Skyline might have been a bit less, but you have to add in that it had to be imported and complianced in Australia, which bumps the value.

Edited by Truffles

It does reflect the price difference, which was my point. However, what was also implied was the market being overflooded with said "clapped out" examples. Skewing the price.

People see 20k examples and think "why would I pay that when I can pay 15k for one?" and either lowball the immaculate example, saying "I can get one for 5k cheaper." or they go and buy the clapped out car for 15k, realise it's a heap and resell it for 13-14k just to pass it on. Just perpetuates the cycle. EDIT: I was guilty of this in my R32 in a respect. I saw ranges in price from 5-11k and thought 11k for an immaculate example was a rip-off. So I bought a 6k R32, which was very clean for what it was but it needed work (bit of paint, replacement parts, servicing) and wasn't registered. By the time I'd finished with everything, the car owes me over 10k and it's still lacking some power mods that those 10-11k examples I looked at initially. Go figure.

This.