I would like some decent seats for my r32, the standard ones are fine for daily driving but would like something that will actually hold me for track days.

What are your opinions on the best seats for a r32?

I dont have a massive budget, only want to spend around $600 including rails.

1st option is r32 gtr seats, but trying to find really clean ones is almost impossible, almost all have either minor holes or wear marks as you would expect from a 20 year old seat. They fit the budget of around $500.

2nd option is r33 gtr seats, they look basically the same as the r32 seats but are more expensive around $800

3rd option is cheap aftermarket such as fake bride, drift from autobarn etc etc. Atleast the seats from autobarn are adr compliant but who knows how long they will last and were there made.

4th option is a cheap but decent brand bucket seat such as a Cobra monaco, but they dont come with rails.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/361015-best-seat-options-for-r32-opinions/

Not sure if you saw my thread in cosmetic section but I bought a bride gias replica and man... It feels like the seat is bear hugging me around corners.

And tbh, I reckon they hold much better than a lot of those aftermarket seats out there.

But if fake brides aren't your thing, autobarn, has drift blades on special again for Easter for $200 ea.

Do you have the option of spending the $600 on just the one chair?

Can it be a fixed back?

I personally like the R32gtr seats for the price. You can pick up really good condition R32Gtr seats for under $500. They dont hold like a proper bucket seat but they are firm.

I can spend the money on one seat thats fine, i could get a cobra or sparco seat for around $500, but just have to find an appropriate rail.

charles89: the only thing i dont like about the fake brides is you dont know the actual quality of the seat and there not adr approved. I just dont wanna have the feeling of 'oh is this seat going to fall apart in a crash'. Saying that the drift brand seats are prob made in a sweat shop in china or taiwan to.

A mate at work just bought a pair of fake brides and he reckons there awesome to.

I'm going to go have a look at a pair of gtr seats tomorrow, i'll stop into autobarn and revolution racegear and see what they have.

I want the seat to be 'legal' to, i'm guessing there wouldnt ever be any probs with gtr seats as there a factory seat and with a sparco or cobra i'd imagine they comply with adr's or whatever.

How well do they hold you in? Haven't sat in r32 gtr seats before.

I'm not doing alot of track work, just deca's and maybe sprints.

I'm going to have a look at the drift blade seats tonight, see how they feel to sit in, can compare with the gtr seats tomorrow. Only prob is rails, i heard they dont make rails for drift seats.

R32/33 GTR seats are no good when using a harness as there is no room for your neck if you have a prang.

My old R34 GTR seats on the other hand are the super awsomeness for a daily which sees the track.

But for a $600 limit you might be best just getting a drivers seat.

Mark

heck i can even get bride (copies) recliners :)

heaps comfy!

Thanks but i might steer clear of the copies for now. I'll see what my mates ones are like he just got, apparently there some of the best copies around, he got the kevlar ones.

I sat in the drift blade just before, feels ok but maybe its just me being pretty thin but the shoulder supports do f**k all, I mean my shoulders were atleast an inche below the actual shoulder supports.

But there pretty good for the money and still better the standard bench seat.

I dont really need a passenger seat so i guess i should invest in just one really good seat for the drivers. Ill have a lot at some sparco and cobra seats tomorrow.

Anyone know if the sparco and cobras are street legal? There FIA aprroved but that doesnt mean much for street use.

How about getting a GTR seat (or pair) and using a harness for the track?

Edit: Just read what someone said about having a prang.

What about only using the harness for the track? I know the risk still occurs though but it's unlikely you'll have a heavy collision at the track...

Edited by -Jimmy-

Look at the just jap copys, just picked up a pr of recaro copys with rails for $449 from memory around $80 to freight to darwin and they ADR aproved.

just need to have the rails modded to suite as they are universal read runners.

I don't find my Recaro SR3 'buckety' enough to hold me in on the track personally (and the Just Jap copies are copies of the SR3).

They probably hold you in as much as a GTR seat, maybe a little more but not much.

i have r33 gtr ones in my r32 and they were the best investment, had series 2 r33 before and they sat so high that my head just about hit the sunroof, once i got the r33gtr seats in they were perfect sat low with the rails and are comfortable. i would pay the extra money over a r32 gtr seat anyday they are much better. just use harness for when you are on the track and normal seatbelt for daily driving

Well found out you cant legally have a bucket seat in a 2 door car without it been reregistered as a 2 seater so there goes that idea. Prob not the best idea for a daily anyway.

Also if i got bride rails for the drift seats your looking at almost 1k all up for 2 seats, i could get r33 gtr seats for cheaper so that puts an end to that one to. I could get the universal rails but cbf with the stuff around.

So looks like its gtr seats.

Going to go have a look at some r33 ones on monday, apparently there a fair bit better then r32 gtr seats and have a better wearing fabric.

I think the law is you can't have 2 fixed backs, because you can't recline the seat forward for the people in the rear in case of an accident. But having one fixed and a recliner passenger would still allow this. Best bet is to buy the best seat you can find, you've got to sit in it every day and use it everyday so why cheap out on it?

I love my seats in the GT-R but am thinking of upgrading to 34R seats. Also my 32R seats are mint. No tears or holes, barely look used.