hi all just a quick one,long and short of it i live in vic and it looks like i might be moving to canberra soonish can anyone tell me what sort of check's they do on your car when changing over rego or is it walk in walk out type thing? it has a bit of work done to it and want to know if i'll have to strip it to stock or if i'll be ok leaving as is,any info would be great cheers

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/361498-wondering-about-rego-in-act/

I bought my GTT from Vic... we have "authorised inspection stations" here which are just workshops/servos, but if your car is too modified you will have to go to the main inspection place at Dickson (aka "the pits"). It's a proper inspection place with rollers, noise level equipment etc.

The rules seem to be a bit better here than some states (we can have un-enclosed pods etc) but it's a bit hit and miss. If your car is tidy you may get away with more than if you are trying to pass something that looks like a drift pig.

What sort of mods are we talking about?

I bought my GTT from Vic... we have "authorised inspection stations" here which are just workshops/servos, but if your car is too modified you will have to go to the main inspection place at Dickson (aka "the pits"). It's a proper inspection place with rollers, noise level equipment etc.

The rules seem to be a bit better here than some states (we can have un-enclosed pods etc) but it's a bit hit and miss. If your car is tidy you may get away with more than if you are trying to pass something that looks like a drift pig.

What sort of mods are we talking about?

3 1/2 inch exhuast,pod(not in box),bov,intercooler,plazaman pleanum+90mm throttle body,microtech ecu,900 cc injectors,fuel pump+regulator,garrett turbo,boost controller a few other bits and pieces that should be ok rims,suspention ect no body kits or big wings,the thing is i can get it striped to stock here for $200 (have all the stock gear still)so not sure weather to get it done here or wing it and hope for the best cheer,another thing are there epa notices there too anyone who has been to vic should know what i'm talking about

Edited by russ123

+1 @SHELL

if its only guna cost ya $200 then id do it now and get it changed back after the rego side of things is sorted.

-exhaust needs to be <90dB @3,200-3,600rpm (depending on date of build)

- no bashed out cats or de-cat pipes (big fines)

-pod needs to be secured and have some kind of heat shielding

-bov needs to be 100% plumb back and not adjustable

-intercooler needs to be securely mounted and centre section of bumper bar cant be completely cut away

-cant have a boost controller or bigger turbo

-coilovers are legal if they are set to correct ground clearance and eyebrow heights (usually marked so they can see if they have been messed with in case of a defect etc)

-tyres need to be load rated

-wheel spacers are illegal (any kind unless its an OEM fitted track kit)

-cant have external fuel pumps and big surge tanks in your boot unless its engineered

-no drift style handbrake buttons (no spring etc)

-unsure about anti-hicas bars

-no locked diffs

-if you have braided brake lines they must be DOT and ADR approved

hope that covers enough for ya

+1 @SHELL

if its only guna cost ya $200 then id do it now and get it changed back after the rego side of things is sorted.

-exhaust needs to be <90dB @3,200-3,600rpm (depending on date of build)

- no bashed out cats or de-cat pipes (big fines)

-pod needs to be secured and have some kind of heat shielding

-bov needs to be 100% plumb back and not adjustable

-intercooler needs to be securely mounted and centre section of bumper bar cant be completely cut away

-cant have a boost controller or bigger turbo

-coilovers are legal if they are set to correct ground clearance and eyebrow heights (usually marked so they can see if they have been messed with in case of a defect etc)

-tyres need to be load rated

-wheel spacers are illegal (any kind unless its an OEM fitted track kit)

-cant have external fuel pumps and big surge tanks in your boot unless its engineered

-no drift style handbrake buttons (no spring etc)

-unsure about anti-hicas bars

-no locked diffs

-if you have braided brake lines they must be DOT and ADR approved

hope that covers enough for ya

thanks heaps guys reckon i will get it done before i head up only one thing that's sort of got me worryed the bov bit mine's a gfb 3 in 1 one it's all plumbed back but it has a plug in it that i can screw out and screw in a trumpet and can be adjusted :unsure: it's not in the same spot a stock one now