Does anyone out there know where I can get 1999 R34 GTR MFD Sharp LCD screens. The sun shagged mine so I need another one and I'm not to keen on buying the whole display unit. Any help would be most appreciated as I've trolled the net and cant find anything.

Is the inside of the screen all cracked? If so, it's the polaroid film.

Which can be bought for about $15 posted, takes about 20mins to replace and done, you'll have a brand new screen again :)

Here's an example of what I'm talking about:

3200500953_f5866f36c1.jpg

Get it from 3Dlens Coporation in Taiwan.

You need to remove AC vents, MFD shroud, unplug MFD, unscrew the screen, unplug the screen, remove glass lens, remove old film, clean screen, apply new screen.

It's probably a job that I'd do it for $60-70 inc film :)

Thanks heaps Charles !

This i can do myself i just need 2 get the film :thumbsup:

No worries at all :)

Mine looks very similar. Will the film replacement job fix the "orange boarder" around my screen where the peeling is at its worst?

Yup it would. Colours from a LCD screen will look distorted without that film or with a bad film. So once you replace it, it will look brand new again.

Charles i did the screen last nite.

Man it wasnt easy !!! hahahaha

Takin off the old film was a misson

But the end result is well worth it

Screen is brand new again woot woot !

Thanx heaps :thumbsup:

Haha good to hear mate :)

Getting to the screen wasn't that hard, but pulling the old film off and cleaning is the hardest part lol.

Post up a pic :P

Oh and also, for those who hasn't done it yet, make sure no dust or ANY particles or residue gets under the new film, as it will look like a dead pixel once you turn it on haha, happened to me, true story :P

Lots and lots of elbow grease and some bug spray to clean off the dregs.

What a marathon! But it does look a thousand times better than when I started, and keeping it out of the sun is priority number 1 from now on.

Thanks Charles89 you saved me a fortune!

Lots and lots of elbow grease and some bug spray to clean off the dregs.

What a marathon! But it does look a thousand times better than when I started, and keeping it out of the sun is priority number 1 from now on.

Thanks Charles89 you saved me a fortune!

No worries mate, glad I saved you from buying a new screen :)

Maybe post up a pic of your new screen :P

Anyone from Brisbane attempted this? Im worried I would screw something up he he...

Lol, unless you accidently stab your screen with a screwdriver, you aren't gonna stuff it up :P

A few advices if you attempt it.

-Remember how to pulled it apart

-Make sure you carefully pull our the screen plug from the board.

-Be patient when cleaning the screen after you pull off original film, because 1 dot of residue = 1 dead pixel.

-Make sure you put all the screws back in afterwards

Trust me, if you can opperate a screwdriver and have a decent enough memory to remember where everything goes, you will be fine :)