Here's an R34 with the offset below,

Front: 18 x 8.5 +37 Rear: 18 x 9.5 +42

http://www.rimtuck.c...jpg&id=1228&h=1

http://www.rimtuck.c...jpg&id=1228&h=2

http://www.rimtuck.c...jpg&id=1228&h=3

So should this should be a good fit :D

[F] 18x8.5 +32

[R] 18x9.5 +38

pretty conservative what look you going for?

• Replies 111

no probs man, theres also a thread where people put up pics of their offsets/wheel sizes I think, just to give you more of an idea :)

Yea, had a search through that, not many R34 GT/GT-T's considering how long the thread is :(

pretty conservative what look you going for?

Just to fill in the guards with little to no modifications :thumbsup:

to fill the guards ur probably gonna wanna be looking at +30s I reckon, my +27s are a bit risky ... do you plan on lowering the car a whole ton?

if not you could go for 9 inches with +27 offsets Like i did no problems

to fill the guards ur probably gonna wanna be looking at +30s I reckon, my +27s are a bit risky ... do you plan on lowering the car a whole ton?

if not you could go for 9 inches with +27 offsets Like i did no problems

Not a lot as I have a pretty steep driveway, probably a little gap between the tires and the guard.

EDIT:

Here's a R33 with these offsets, pretty much the same apart from the +30 instead of 32 at the front,

[F] 18x8.5 +30

[R] 18x9.5 +38

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h287/z_tuned/IMGP0561.jpg

Edited by Converge

+27s will be all good then :) but 30s are just as good and probably safer so id probably stick with them

id go 30s probably but i loved this wheel design and it only came in +27 ..

Haha, this is really confusing, I never knew it would be this much of a headache choosing wheels, but now I'm in the market for some, it has given me quite a lot to think about :domokun:

I'm hoping,

[F] 18x8.5 +32

[R] 18x9.5 +38

Will fit nicely, with maybe a little -ve camber if needed, as they are currently in stock in Sydney, with the color I want and in my budget :happy:

What's your budget like man?

I shall post pictures up in a few ;)

Mine are ROTA G - Force wheels ... Don't flame me for using ROTA .. their all I could afford

About 2.5K, but the less the better obviously, it was 3K, but need to get a transmission service :(

No worries :thumbsup:

Why buy bilsteins and kings when teins are around the same price. I could be wrong but i'm pretty sure a mate at work got his teins for around $1400-$1800 brand new for a full set, they wernt the lower model either, they were the shock adjustable ones, he got them from some place in the uk from memory.

I really am against conventional spring and shock setups compared to coilovers, they just dont get the results or have any height adjustability. When i wanted springs for my hr31, unless i wanted stock spring rates you couldn't get a spring that was captive ie legal and or lowered anywhere enough that made it worth doing. I ended up getting non captive springs which were friggin rubbish. I also had bilsteins before with stock spings and after with the lowered springs and they wernt that great, not stiff at all and they didnt even have bump or rebound adjust and there friggin expensive to boot.

As I mentioned before, unless your car is 100% straight, you wont get a 100% level car, which atleast with coilovers if you have any issues (might only be like 5-10mm) atleast you can adjust it.

Plus you can always get coilovers with softer springs, my mate i mentioned his teins came with 4kg all round which is perfect for a street car.

Up to you but i think your wasting your money on a conventional spring and shock setup, especially if its like $1500 for that setup, decent coilovers can easily be had for that amount.

Why buy bilsteins and kings when teins are around the same price. I could be wrong but i'm pretty sure a mate at work got his teins for around $1400-$1800 brand new for a full set, they wernt the lower model either, they were the shock adjustable ones, he got them from some place in the uk from memory.

I really am against conventional spring and shock setups compared to coilovers, they just dont get the results or have any height adjustability. When i wanted springs for my hr31, unless i wanted stock spring rates you couldn't get a spring that was captive ie legal and or lowered anywhere enough that made it worth doing. I ended up getting non captive springs which were friggin rubbish. I also had bilsteins before with stock spings and after with the lowered springs and they wernt that great, not stiff at all and they didnt even have bump or rebound adjust and there friggin expensive to boot.

As I mentioned before, unless your car is 100% straight, you wont get a 100% level car, which atleast with coilovers if you have any issues (might only be like 5-10mm) atleast you can adjust it.

Plus you can always get coilovers with softer springs, my mate i mentioned his teins came with 4kg all round which is perfect for a street car.

Up to you but i think your wasting your money on a conventional spring and shock setup, especially if its like $1500 for that setup, decent coilovers can easily be had for that amount.

Hey,

I've contacted Sydneykid and exchanged a few emails with him, I have yet to order any yet, but I will do a lot more research into these as I want to buy the correct stuff :domokun:

woops double post

It's that stupid board error message isn't it :dry:

http://i763.photobuc...n/untitled4.jpg

http://i763.photobuc...n/untitled1.jpg

http://i763.photobuc...on/IMG_7677.jpg

I hope you can see those pics, im having no luck uploading them the normal way

i think im just not v good at it though but oh well

*edit* as you can see the wheels are sticking QUITE far out ...

If i was to lower the car very much I would most likely have to roll my guards

Edited by Jonno34

Well, I don't really know much but this is my reasoning for getting bilsteins rather than BC coilovers or tein super streets.

Most coilover units are made with twin tube shocks, "The main drawback of a twin-tube damper is that its damping force is not as sensitive nor as repeatable as a mono-tube."

So apparently monotubes are a superior type of shock absorber to the twin tubes... this was also covered in a number of different threads on these forums

for virtually the same price, you're getting monos instead of twins?

And my final reason is that by doing this I can first purchase shocks, then springs ... lowering my instant cost .. the shocks alone will cost about 1k at the moment, and I can then purchase the 600 dollar springs at a later time leaving my pockets slightly less damaged in the meantime :)

As I said before I'm not the smartest guy around, I dont know much, but from reading the forums most people have said that monos are better shocks.

However, I reckon both are good enough for street use, just dont go crazy on the stiffness unless you're into that sorta thing .. I doubt at a street level there'd be a large amount of difference? The price difference is minimal also ..

Tons of people have sworn by Tein Super streets, BC BR Coilovers, and others have also loved their suspension set ups from sydneykid. In the end I think their all good options, and I was just pointing out another option to converge :)

http://i763.photobuc...n/untitled4.jpg

http://i763.photobuc...n/untitled1.jpg

http://i763.photobuc...on/IMG_7677.jpg

I hope you can see those pics, im having no luck uploading them the normal way

i think im just not v good at it though but oh well

*edit* as you can see the wheels are sticking QUITE far out ...

If i was to lower the car very much I would most likely have to roll my guards

Haha, sorry to put you through the trouble :P, thanks for that.

Indeed they do stick quite a fair bit, this is what's confusing me,

This R34 GT-T here

http://www.rimtuck.c...jpg&id=1229&h=3

Has GTR wheels, which are 18 x 9.0 +30

They look pretty flush, which is what I'm looking for (don't mind if it sits in a little more).

So with the offsets, the more -ve offset, the more dish you have correct?, so the hub will be sitting IN the car more, making the wheel stick out more?

If i have more +ve offset, the hub will be sitting further OUT more and make the wheel stick IN more?

So the rear wheels I'm looking at are 18 x 9.5 +38, which means the hub will sit OUT 38MM's more from the center, so in theory cancelling out the extra .5" and making the wheels sit further in the guards more right?, so it should fit under the guards fine right?

Sorry if that was really confusing, honestly I am quite lost at the moment...:domokun:

Edited by Converge

Once you mention Deep Dish wheels I have no idea man :( confuses the hell out of me

with non dish wheels its nice and simple ... lower offsets means it sticks out more. higher offsets go in more

those 30s are quite flush, but looks rather risky, as do mine. IMO go something like a 32 or so on a 9 inch wheel if you can

Also, for some top advice, just head down to a local tyre store or something, and ask em for advice on what wheel size/offset

thats what I did :)

Once you mention Deep Dish wheels I have no idea man :( confuses the hell out of me

with non dish wheels its nice and simple ... lower offsets means it sticks out more. higher offsets go in more

those 30s are quite flush, but looks rather risky, as do mine. IMO go something like a 32 or so on a 9 inch wheel if you can

Also, for some top advice, just head down to a local tyre store or something, and ask em for advice on what wheel size/offset

thats what I did :)

Haha, no worries, I think these will be perfect,

[F] 18x8.5 +32

[R] 18x9.5 +38

This car here has,

[F]18 x 8.5 +37 [R]18 x 9.5 +42

http://www.rimtuck.com/photos.php?photo=1286606895.jpg&id=1228&h=1

http://www.rimtuck.com/photos.php?photo=1286606905.jpg&id=1228&h=2

http://www.rimtuck.com/photos.php?photo=1286606915.jpg&id=1228&h=3

It looks almost perfect (To me), the wheels I'm looking at have a little lower offsets, so it will stick further out, making it perfect :thumbsup:

Thank god I got that sorted :banana::banana::banana:.

Thanks HEAPS for your help, I will also drop by a tyre store and ask for suggestions as well, but I think I have the perfect size :D