black hawk Posted May 21, 2011 Share Posted May 21, 2011 Hi Guys and Girls... Just need to know what mods is essential to drift R33 skyline GTS-T .......... I want a drift setup in my skyline not for proffessional use but just if i go on track so i can drift my car properly with full control and less body roll......... was watching few videos on you tube and these guys were amazing ........... Just need to know that do i have to change the DIFF as well ???? and as i think need some power at the wheels as well so how much RKW at least i need to drift my car easily........... do i have to buy coilovers as well ???and whtat other mods i need ???? so if anyone can help me with this setup then it will be highly appreciated ....thanks Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
Russman Posted May 21, 2011 Share Posted May 21, 2011 Start with a mechanical LSD diff and go from there. Check out vicdrift forums. Plenty of write ups there. All the info you need. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825381 Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulr33 Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 go speak to centreline in thomastown they have packages to suit Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825539 Share on other sites More sharing options...
joeyjoejoejuniorshabadoo Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 coilovers, ~8/6 for street/track or ~10/8 for track drift only swaybars - whiteline adjustables or selby's are an easy option diff - you can buy a locker from kaaz USA fairly cheaply at the moment at a minimum this will make it a lot easier to control Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825599 Share on other sites More sharing options...
black hawk Posted May 22, 2011 Author Share Posted May 22, 2011 thanks guys for your replys.............. but how much KW at least i need at the wheels ........ as i think this is the most important one............ and how much all up it will cost me (Drift Setup) ,.............Thanks Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825781 Share on other sites More sharing options...
WGNC-34 Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 Most of the guys on here who are involved in any kind of motorsport, rallies, circuit, drift whatever will tell you that suspension and body control are not only more I mportant than power at the wheels but you will achieve a greater improvement for a lower cost, so as above start with a diff, 2 way is best but u can get the diff shimmed to lock it up as a start, coilovers,and some stiff swaybars, costwise it depends how far u want to go and how much u can do yourself, probly 2000 will get u some 2nd hand coilovers a shimmed diff and a rear sway bar probly with change. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825801 Share on other sites More sharing options...
waxracing Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 1000 horsepower Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825816 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mohsen Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 1000 horsepower That's crazy! Your going to need to do an LS1 conversion. After you do the conversion. Stroke it to 2 litres Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825927 Share on other sites More sharing options...
waxracing Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 come on 1000hp will make it very easy to get sideways Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825941 Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulr33 Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 for basic drifting you need 200rwkw imho sell your car if its stock and buy a modified GTST already with this power level otherwise going from stock to 200rwkw + basic drift setup ecu 1000 tune 500 exhaust 1200 tyres 600 suspension and diff setup 1000 new diff 1000 good intake 350 boost controller 300 intercooler 600 fuel pump 300 clutch 1200 doesnt include coilovers doesnt include new diff should get some change from 10k be prepared to bin your car and if its your only car rethink if you are ok with loosing your car many have done so before Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825945 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jezza-gtR Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 Just go to the track, drive, learn and most of all have fun. I can drift my R31 easily with 90rwkw, coil overs and a locker. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825976 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 thanks guys for your replys.............. but how much KW at least i need at the wheels ........ as i think this is the most important one............ and how much all up it will cost me (Drift Setup) ,.............Thanks Power isn't important at all. Skill & car setup are far more important than power. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825989 Share on other sites More sharing options...
joeyjoejoejuniorshabadoo Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 you could get away with just an ecu, exhaust, fmic, clutch and suspension no worries nistune - 800 2nd hand fmic - 300 hd clutch - 500 2nd hand coilovers - 700 2nd hand swaybars - 200 welded diff - 100 R32 actuator - 20 that's $2620 for a fairly easy to drift setup that should yeild ~180rwkw but as has been said, power is not that important for drift, it's all in the suspension and handling setup my ke70 only had like 70rwkw and it was easy enough to slide Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825994 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jezza-gtR Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 Also check this out mate. http://www.nissansilvia.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=491405 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5825997 Share on other sites More sharing options...
black hawk Posted May 22, 2011 Author Share Posted May 22, 2011 hi Guys,,,,,,,,,, Thanks for replys and great help............. Yes, I got pretty much stock car at the moment......... Only Mods are FMIC , Exhaust , BOV and I just did a dyno run and it was 165Kw ............ So i decided to buy the Coilovers and aftermarket ECU.................. The list of stuff that is sitting in my Garage is as below 1. Tein HA Adjustable coilovers (Second Hand) ----- $800 2. Apexi Power FC (Second Hand) ----- $1000 3. Apexi Electronic Boost Controller (Second Hand) ------$450 4. Apexi air filter kit (Second Hand) ------$350 5. Defi Guages (Boost and Oil Pressure (Brand New) ------$400 6. Autometer Tacho (Brand New) ------$200 All this stuff is sitting in my garage collecting dust as I spended all my saved up money to buy this suff and now i don't have enough to put them in......... Anyways, the only things i have to buy now is Two Way Diff and Sway Bar according to you guys to complete Drift Setup............ Any good place in Victoria where I can take my car and all the above mentioned stuff and other stuff (Diff and Sway bar) to put them in OR Sell this car and all that stuff and buy a Modified Skyline................. Any recommendations??????????????????????????????????????? Thanks Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5826851 Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulr33 Posted May 22, 2011 Share Posted May 22, 2011 if your on a budget why so much on guages??? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5827076 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ARTZ Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 Hektik points are good for rwkw you should know that by now Paul. Also, they will match his veilside kit as for Recomendations, put all the stuff on your car and go sliding, if you want some more power ( and I would too ) get turbo hiflowed with steel wheels so it can handle 18 pounds of boost, about 1000$, plus tune will be 500+ this will give you plenty of power (210kw) for learning and one thing nobody has mentioned strangely enough, a hicas lock bar, which is probably more impotant than anything else. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5827420 Share on other sites More sharing options...
alr33x Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 for basic drifting you need 200rwkw imho sell your car if its stock and buy a modified GTST already with this power level otherwise going from stock to 200rwkw + basic drift setup ecu 1000 tune 500 exhaust 1200 tyres 600 suspension and diff setup 1000 new diff 1000 good intake 350 boost controller 300 intercooler 600 fuel pump 300 clutch 1200 doesnt include coilovers doesnt include new diff should get some change from 10k be prepared to bin your car and if its your only car rethink if you are ok with loosing your car many have done so before you could get away with just an ecu, exhaust, fmic, clutch and suspension no worries nistune - 800 2nd hand fmic - 300 hd clutch - 500 2nd hand coilovers - 700 2nd hand swaybars - 200 welded diff - 100 R32 actuator - 20 that's $2620 for a fairly easy to drift setup that should yeild ~180rwkw but as has been said, power is not that important for drift, it's all in the suspension and handling setup my ke70 only had like 70rwkw and it was easy enough to slide ya'll tripping. my car slides fine stock power, fmic,exhaust thats it. weldy, coils,swaybars,solid bushes or whatever there called 2 drift days not an issue. clutch is still going strong. Just get out there have a crack mate dont worry about these high rollers. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5827438 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ARTZ Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 thats the best advice yet alr33x another thing I forgot to mention why not just fit all the stuff to the car youself, there is plenty of info online how to do stuff. I dont know what im doing but I reckon I could fit most of that stuff in a weekend with some help from my old mate google Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5827468 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hattori Hanzo 69 Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 selling the gauges should be enough to get it all installed chief Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/365109-basic-things-i-need-to-get-some-sideways-action/#findComment-5827594 Share on other sites More sharing options...