• Replies 62

If you want Ash, the best thing to di is power up my data logger in your car and do some stopping tests. Can bring a laser distance measure as well so you can compare stopping distance, with G force and time to stop from data logger. BE good to do it on the same car with same tyres, wheels and suspension. Only variable then will be the pads, be good if you were running the same pads between setups with freshly flushed fluid

UPDATE on my K Sport issue:

The same faulty disk was returned to me (not replaced as had been previously dicussed!) for the second time yesterday and I already knew it was going to be a fail...and I was right...

I got home, fitted the disk, same result: excessive runout

This time I finally got to speak to someone from K Sport Aus who could speak good english and things progressed a little better...

After 3 or 4 phone calls last night and today Frank has finally bitten the bullet and is couriering me down a brand new disk rotor today.

It was long, it was very painful but I finally seem to have a result! cheers.gif

In fairness to K Sport they reckon they had it balanced and all within tolerance on their test bench (which they had videoed but I didn't watch it) but without a doubt it wasn't right on the vehicle which at the end of the day is what counts. The left hand side disk fitted perfectly and was well within the runout tolerance when fitted on the right hand side where i have been experiencing issues with this other disk so I have no doubt at all that there was something wrong with that thing!

You can chose to ignore measuring runout etc when you install your disks (any disks not just K Sport) and you may be OK.

But if you don't and they are out of tolerance it could cost you a hell of a lot more down the track than the $90 for the dial indicator and stand i.e. new set of disks.

I have learnt a sh1t load about brakes along the way that's for sure!

Edited by Checkbuzz

Good and valid points Roy but I didn't come down in the last shower and you haven't read through this thread...

As previously stated:

The hub has been polished to within an inch of its life, has no play and the runout is safely with tolerance at <0.02mm

When I measure and mark the high point on the bad rotor and then rotate it 180 degrees or so on the hub the high point on the rotor remains in the same spot

The good rotor from the left side measures the same when fitted to the right side of the vehicle (<0.05mm compared with 0.25mm for the faulty rotor)

If it is the hub causing these problems then it has somehow escaped the laws of physics that have controlled our entire universe for the past 13.5 billion years since the big bang and may now be residing in some parallel universe... as you say very curious; but I don't want to get into quantum physics, parallel universes and string theory here!

Anyway I took delivery of a new replacement disk rotor today will be fitting it tonight. I do not expect any further problems.

Point is they could pe perfectly true and parallel. Put it on a car with a crappy wheel bearing, rusty hub etc and you may get run out. Interesting to see how you go putting the rotor that reads right on the bad side and test again. Real curious to see the result

Edited by Checkbuzz

They have and I'm not here to bag them... just give other SAU members a factual account of my experiences good and bad.

K Sport brakes still appear to be good bang-for-buck and I'm sure my experience is not the norm out there...

I just can't wait to get the car back on the road... even better the track to put these new brakes to the test!

Well at least K sport resolved your issue. It's enough for me. I'd still buy Ksport / D2 and one day plan too :)

Finally the moment of truth!

Went for a big drive today just taking it easy on the disks for the first 200km and every thing seems really good so far.

My rear disks have also just been replaced and I put a new seal kit in the rear calipers that previously had a sticky piston so the first thing I notice is that I can't hear the rear pads dragging on the disks any longer.

As others have reported with the K Sports the brake pedal seems to engage the brakes at a slightly lower point but it is not significant and I was used to it in minutes.

I did a couple of low speed hard braking stops and it certainly seems easier to make the ABS kick in as you'd expect.

The brakes also seem to have a better feel to them... maybe more direct and responsive? It's hard to say until I give it a good spirited run.

I didn't have any shims to fit the RB75 pads I got for the K Sports so I was worried about noise but so far so good in that respect too.

Will be giving the brake pads a proper "hard" bedding-in tomorrow.

It is great to be driving my Skyline again :D

P.S I kind of thought that the anodized orange calipers would look a bit gay but the actually look great on the car! Will post a pic soon.

Edited by Checkbuzz

Where is the best place to find DVT info on brake setup or do u have some which u could post up ? Also what is the vibration like at traveling speed ? Is the vibration there as soon as you start driving or is it only at a certain speed ? Eg at 110klm :cheers:

Hey mate it is a pretty complex topic and Google is your friend here; try searching on DVT and brake disk runout there are heaps of web pages & PDFs on the subject from all the big players in the game.

Good luck!

Where is the best place to find DVT info on brake setup or do u have some which u could post up ? Also what is the vibration like at traveling speed ? Is the vibration there as soon as you start driving or is it only at a certain speed ? Eg at 110klm :cheers:

i have k sports coilovers and brakes on my car and unreal couldnt be happier, frank is a good man just give him time to sort things out and he will gotta remember his running an mechanic shop, doin mechanical work and running a panel shop and dealing with ksport, so his very busy

Look mate I couldn't care less about the guys personal life to be honest.

The problem has been resolved but it could have been handled much better by both the retailer and (much more so) the wholesaler so let's leave it at that.

Road Test:

I took the car for a good drive today, bedded in the pads and then went for a spin through the hills and I am very happy with the results and the K Sport brakes.

It's difficult to describe the changes but there is definitely more pedal feel, braking is smoother and the pedal is easier to modulate...

I know it sounds strange but it really does feel like you have more brakes... much more actually!

By comparison the old brakes now seem more like an "on-off" switch and the K Sports like a dimmer switch where you can easily and precisely modulate the braking.

This precise control was especially noticeable just where the ABS starts kicking in and you want to just back off the limit ever so slightly

They were really quite confidence inspiring after a while and I cannot wait to see how these things perform on the track! :yes:

i have k sports coilovers and brakes on my car and unreal couldnt be happier, frank is a good man just give him time to sort things out and he will gotta remember his running an mechanic shop, doin mechanical work and running a panel shop and dealing with ksport, so his very busy

Dont wanna drag away from the original topic but where are you meant to get replacement rotors from? Didnt see them listed seperately on justjap.

Just Jap can get replacement rotors. You'd have to call them though.

Installed these yesterday. Was surprised just how easy the install was, everything bolted up perfectly. Only used one shim on one of the bolts on one side and all lined up well. Yet to drive on them, will report back after Sandown on Sunday.

Re the "gay colour", can get them in black if you import them (unsure if they can be found locally).

post-32498-0-84085100-1309769033_thumb.jpg post-32498-0-31751500-1309769062_thumb.jpg

How did your brakes go in the weekend Russ?

They were good except the first dry session when I actually could brake hard I had massive fade. Using Motul RBF600. Gave it a good bleed then it was great for the last session (hardest braking). I'm happy so far.