Yeah im a bad person blah blah blah.

I don't think you are a bad person I just think you could save yourself a lot of trouble down the track doing it in a less "look at me mr policeman" way.

It just doesn't make sense to go out of your way to increase the chance of a defect when you can make a car go just as fast/loud and look stock under the bonnet.

One of my "mates" got busted doing the dodgy call up mr RTA guy and give him $500 to clear a defect. Has been to court ~6 times now (over the past 2 years) keeps getting adjourned over and over again, he lives in Kal in WA now so he has to come down to SA for court every few months whilst they stuff him around.

He didn't even get his own car off defect, all he did was pass on a phone number for someone else.

Just something to keep in mind if your bloke ever does get busted, they will go back and look at EVERY SINGLE CAR he has approved and re inspect it. Something like 400 cars had to be reinspected when this guy got done.

You WILL get a record for it if you get caught. Bloke is getting charged for fraud and some other fairly high level charge.

Edited by Rolls

Yeah im a bad person blah blah blah.

Im building a car that is going to go like a cut cat and look good doing it, bling, loud noises, whatever. Because you dont approve doesnt mean you need to give me shit.

I dont troll your threads and pick on your attempt at building a car, say your doing it wrong, its shit you'll get defected and whatever else.

A cop, being a prick could defect almost every car on this forum if he wanted to even a stock one. (Yes, also having police friends that have told me this and do, do this). Let the defects come and watch them go. You think im the only one on here that makes a call to get rid of them? People wish they could make a call for shit like that. Rather than changing things, get the car passed then changing things back.. Save the time and hassel and find a dodgy bloke. Note. Funny story - Said policeman friend called me asking if I can get his 200sx a dodgy blue for rego.

Says alot doesnt it.

Yes you could argue, do it right the first time, make it all perfectly legal and passable and don't get defected to begin with, but we aren't in a perfect world, ANY modification is a defect. So its almost impossible.

Then argue about engineers cert and stuff, they are easy to get done aswell. All comes down to making that phone call, they just cost more lol.

No one has to agree with you or do it your way OR the 'right' way. So stop getting your panties in a knot and pull ya head in.

Now i'll sit back and watch the PM's come in from the unfortunate people like yourself that don't have these people to call asking if I can put them onto someone that will engineer their car or clear a defect ;)

Thanks again for the kind words.

Think to, if I was worried about getting busted, would I be posting on a public forum? hmm..

Maybe later this arvo i'll put up some pics of the car :)

Thats all well and great. Kudos to you for making your car the way you want it, building a car is all about doing it YOUR way, to make it individual. However..

If you want to do things the illegal way, good for you. Dont go posting it all over the internet because you make the rest of us (who do it legally) look bad, and quite frankly, like a bunch of dickheads.

You might not be a hoon on the road sending the wrong message, but saying shit like that is just as bad.

Think before you post please.

Rolls - Atleast your living up to your signature. Show me a Rb25det making 450+rwkw with a low mount? The reason im going high mount as it gives me space and plenty more turbo options while looking good (I like the look of a high mount big single).. Im also going plazmaman plenum because I dont like the stock cross over pipe, they work well and also look good.

Dajae - I respect what your saying and getting at, but the 'rest of us' is just a wrong statement. Reguardless of what I do its just truth of how things happen these days, you may not do it, but I'll bet my dodgy blueslip on it there are 100s if not 1000s on here that do.

I'd rather the car to be modded and appeal to the car scene than to be/look stock to appeal to the police. In the last 12 years of owning/building modified cars, more modified/blingy than the one im building i've only be defected twice. I keep my cars up to scratch to 'try' and not get done, but I dont fly under the radar to avoid it either.

I've been using the same mechanic mate for the same period of time, he knows my cars, he knows what im like with them, hes the one who said theres no point bringing it to him cause he knows the condition of them, so I now I just call him and does the rest, while also sorting out a few others on the side. Makes life easy.

Kind of look I want.. --> http://www.google.com.au/imgres?q=motive+dvd+engine+bay&um=1&hl=en&sa=N&biw=1280&bih=578&tbm=isch&tbnid=fkynQAphvhVseM:&imgrefurl=http://motivedvd.com/motive/2011/08/17/in-the-build-jem-moes-nissan-r32-gt-r-skyline/&docid=EyoyY5-yuwQE_M&imgurl=http://motivedvd.com/motive/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/Motive_0013.jpg&w=1500&h=1000&ei=cmkzT7KeC-7QmAWM3_3zAQ&zoom=1&iact=rc&dur=109&sig=110444413959318780956&page=1&tbnh=112&tbnw=158&start=0&ndsp=19&ved=1t:429,r:2,s:0&tx=67&ty=71

Now a serious question. Whats a good brake upgrade for the 33's? Am leaning towards D2s. Ksport dont appeal to me. maybe too blingy vs performance lol.

having a car with 100kw or 1000kw does not mean it cant be engineered, 100% road legal.

its all comes down to emissions. end of story.

so i guess if you go to the epa and get an emission test then get it engineered, with nothing changed there shoule be no reason to be defected again.

if you keep getting picked on seek legal advice for harassment.

obviously not as easy as it sounds but DO ABLE.

Thats not a wow factor, Thats a "damn thats a huge bitch" factor lol

Lol. First thought that came to mind.. Deuce Bigolo.

As for brakes (OP), i know of a great brand that have affordable bolt on kits. When i head into my tuners shop tomorrow, i'll grab the brand for you. I think it starts with "n"?

having a car with 100kw or 1000kw does not mean it cant be engineered, 100% road legal.

its all comes down to emissions. end of story.

Not true, there are power to weight ratios that are required to be met.

For example you can no longer engineer an rx3 with a 13b turbo rotary, they flat out deny the request to modify vehicle.

There are also limits on engine size. For example in a R32 a turbo charged 4.4L v8 is the largest engine you can get engineered in it, Or a 7.3L NA engine was what I worked out when I was looking at it.

Edited by Rolls

BMYHOE - Im not concered with an engineers cert and epa at this stage. If it comes to that will cross that bridge when it happens. As I said im not worried about defects.

Rolls - I dont want to buy someone elses work. Id rather do it myself so at the end of the day I know its done and done right, I know whats in it, what its capable of and the satisfaction from it all. But having said that it will never be 100% finished, there will always be something that can be improved if that all makes sence.

Eat-me - I started out wanting 400rwhp lol, my XR8 has 400hp/560nm but its 1800kg, most people think its fast. So i figure same power in a lighter car, awesome, then after talking to tuners and $$ I am/want to spend they are saying i should start looking at atleast 450rwkw. So I got excited a little and am running with the idea. 1 tuner in particular seems to think i'll get to 700rwhp from his previous builds.

Dajae- If you could get the name of those brakes that would be cool, i'll sus them out. Fairly confident i'll pick up the D2's at this stage though.

These are the pics I have at the moment, 50mm gate, plenum, fuel pump etc etc.. til I transfer more off my old phone. I havent got any of the actual engine as its still not built or complete.

The whole thing is still about 2months? maybe longer before its driving again. Like a 10 week wait on the exhaust manifold.

Still a big list of stuff to get like bigger sump, balancer, fuel rail, injectors and fuel reg. I've decided on it all, just buying it and waiting for arrival. Turbo is the BW I got for a case of beer, that wont end up on the car because of going a GTX35R of EFR turbo that I'll end up with instead. P.S thats not me holding the turbo lol.

320535_10150804858955597_755005596_20630691_698318302_n.jpg

320742_10150804860820597_755005596_20630704_901364710_n.jpg

310548_10150804862445597_755005596_20630719_848681078_n.jpg

309190_10150804848970597_755005596_20630621_247578547_n.jpg

308537_10150824369315597_755005596_20767547_1961999171_n.jpg

305124_10150804845345597_755005596_20630615_1796615380_n.jpg

294400_10150804854075597_755005596_20630660_923448239_n.jpg

293150_10150804852110597_755005596_20630640_1090179916_n.jpg

270265_215298171838673_100000754745714_524896_6559473_n.jpg

251583_10150405664029896_836009895_10849958_445604_n.jpg

Edited by stiddy

Ahh, I know alot of people are going to bag the rear spoiler lol. I did think about changing to a GTR one with carbon blade. But, its a factory tommy one with the little plaque on it and it really has grown on me, so it will probably stay.

Exterior wise it will pretty much stay the way it is, except the rear wheels will end up on the front, the front ones will be sent out to get the offset changed, widened and more dish added, a bloke near me does this sort of stuff at $250-300 a wheel.

Have toyed with the idea of carbon fibre bonnet, front bar carbon canards, carbon B pillar covers and carbon fibre 'side steps' bolt on under the rear of the side skirts and another peice under the rear bar behind the wheel..

But will see what the future holds and what the mrs will allow lol. Already been told NO to the widebody kit from RHDjapan. I figured wider the guards the wider the rims = bigger dish, she didnt see it that way. lol

Edited by stiddy

meh just looks like another series 1 except a tall wing...

that turbo is huge, have fun filling that up with air... wait for it, wait for it...... no no wait for it... and wheel spin, dada....!!!

go for it though, anything on wheels can be fun imo

Should try and get this thread moved to the Projects, build-ups forum.. Seems to be taking that path :)

Got any pics of the wide body kit? I want 18x10.5 (not sure what offset i would need) on mine, and pretty sure hell would freeze over before i got them fitted up comfortable the way it is.

You should look into getting stroked, just so you dont have to wait hours for that turbo to come on to boost.

BMYHOE - Im not concered with an engineers cert and epa at this stage. If it comes to that will cross that bridge when it happens. As I said im not worried about defects.

Rolls - I dont want to buy someone elses work. Id rather do it myself so at the end of the day I know its done and done right, I know whats in it, what its capable of and the satisfaction from it all. But having said that it will never be 100% finished, there will always be something that can be improved if that all makes sence.

At lot of people saying this but I still don't get it. Lets look at the two scenarios:

Buy a stock car for $15k and spend $50k getting it to show car spec how you like.

Buy a show car for $25k and spend $15k tweaking the things you don't like about it.

Scenario 1 takes years and costs you $65k

Scenario 2 takes you maybe 1/4 the time and costs you $40k

You still end up with the same result, you just take some of the guess work and hard work out of it, you also save a lot of coin by buying someone elses money pit. That is the way I look at it anyway.

75coupe - if you read right, before researching and thinking biggest is best, I got that turbo for a case of beer. Thats not the turbo going on the car, its just the turbo sitting here at the moment. It will end up being sold or used for an ash-tray or something..

Rolls - yeah I know what your getting at, I do.. and it makes plenty of sence. But I dont want anyone elses money pit. Whos to say I buy one thats been done and end up changing everything anyway. May aswell start from scratch and do it my way. Plus, im not worried about the money side, nor the re-sale when its time to sell. I just look at it as my project and a hobby.

PS. Ive got a stock fuel rail and reg, and 555cc nismo injectors to.. offer?

Dajae - Not really interested in a stroker at the moment, as said, that turbo wont end up on the car. re: comments to 75coupe. Will end up with an EFR or a GTX35R instead.

http://www.rhdjapan.com/nissan/r33-skyline-gts-t/fenders-doors <-- for the wide kit.

I'll start a project build thread when most of the parts arrive, I've got all the pics together and its actually starting to take shape.

With you huge power goals and being seemingly unfussed about cost you'd be mad to not got a 3L RB30 or a 2.8 stroker, will make the car MUCH better to drive.

+1 . If you go the right places, one could get a stroker kit for similar pricing as normal forged items.

Plus you can brag that you have a stroked Skyline ;) add to that whole "wow" factor you're after.