I just read we are losing the v8 supercar round

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2011/06/23/239811_motorsports.html

pretty gay as it's the main race event for the year. Even gayer that Lara just spent 18x the cost of the v8's on sponsering the hawks!

Edited by sav man
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/368701-no-more-v8-supercars-for-us/

• Replies 50

It's not even a direct 1.3m cost... it's just free shipping across (1.3m retail in tt line tickets)

Spend 1.3 (more like 750k actual cost) to get 3.3 back into the economy... daaaa??

Who cares about football anyway!!

And on top of it all, the 20 schools they are closing- they have to give the school stimulus cash back! ha ha ha.

Tasmania's grucked! :domokun:

It's not even a direct 1.3m cost... it's just free shipping across (1.3m retail in tt line tickets)

Spend 1.3 (more like 750k actual cost) to get 3.3 back into the economy... daaaa??

yeah lets spend $18m on football instead.....

Shakes fist at over paid pollies :glare::angry:

They can't be that over paid either if they're not all suicidal about their pay rate freeze.

I almost had a heart attack when they were talking about public service jobs and pay freeze on the news, I wasn't really listening and I thought for a second thinking I wasn't going to get a raise this year :'(

Luckily this was not the case.pirate.gif

Hi ben

As you are well aware deb and i do our best to go to 2/3 v8 rounds every year,but probably no more i will just still go to queensland and race nev's car twice a year.

I am going to eastern creek in august for the drive around with agression with nev.

the baby is going great now,i had also needed to replace one coil pack.

You would think the tassy govenment would want to keep the v8 because of the financial gain to bussinesses and the popularity of the sport.but no they would drop a good thing and poor a shit load more of our money into another football venture,just so they can big note themselves.

it seems to me thay want to be better than the jones.

stuart

in roll on effect, cost of every track day at symmons just went up hugely, due to no big players pumping cash in for a well prepared and maintained venue.

in summary, take from poor (motorsport tas) give to rich (aus football league).

football is a self sustaining thing because of all the advertising involved, unlike motorsport which is steadily dying in australia because of governments and a nanny nation full of sit at home watch tv have no goals in life work eat sleep repeat types.

Football can bite the big one, I've said from the start with the Hawthorn deal that there is no way in HELL that they would be generating the money/tourism that the government keep stating they are from football games in Tasmania.

WHY would people come to Tassie to watch a game here when they can/could go to the MCG/SCG etc it just doesn't add up???

Sure they reckon that surveys are always done to ask where people are from and if travelling interstate and paying for accommodation but I still smell a rat and it all started with that retard Bartlett. Why would we push so hard for football games let alone a Tassie AFL team when there are so many things that the money could be spent on around the state that are actually neededdomokun.gif

V8's are here this year and I have no doubt that they will be back next year and the one after and this is all just hype.