Hey, just wondering where everyone gets their tools from?

I'm planning to try and fix up my cheapo excel to learn some mechanics on and need to get me some tools (figured I should just save up and buy some tools first rather than continuously renting m'mates place since im a noob and may spend a few hours trying to figure out wtf to do and it'll cost alot to keep renting!)

I've read around the general forums and ive seen that Kinchrome, Sidchrome, Snap On, Stanley are what people have been recommending as good tools and the K mart motopro range or the repco Pro range are good intermediate quality ones (I think the K mart one even comes with a 10 year warranty)

I know I should really buy the best my money can get me, but I make pretty bad money (100 bucks a week at a car detailer - and alot of this goes towards me having to eat!), so I really need to find where to get the best prices on tools from so I can still get good quality stuff (I still hope to get one of the better brands instead of the kmart/repco ones)

I'm planing to just get the basic tools first and build up my collection slowly

Cheers everyone!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/368948-where-do-you-buy-your-tools-from/

Bunnings sell kinchrome/sidchrome and cheap tools, when i was an apprentice i started out with the basic kinchrome stuff and i still have a lot of it. I would start there or even repco/CGL (coventrys tools).

One thing to remember, when buying tools it to make sure they are comfortable in your hand. Grab a spanner and grip it tight, hit it into your hand a few times, is it comfortable or does it make your hand hurt when you grip it? Do the same with a socket set.

Because you are just starting off with tools i wouldnt reccomend snap-on. Yes they are really great quality, but you may not be able to afford the gear.

Repco tools have a lifetime warranty, heaps of our trade customers use them, i've only ever seen one repco tool come back for a warranty claim, and the guy had welded an extension onto it, so welding something on it must have weakened it...

Repco sells Sidchrome stuff too...

Repco sounds good with the lifetime warranty!

I thought the K mart motorpro range was good with a 10 year warranty so a lifetime one would be great

Would repco branded axle stands/jacks be good? I seem to have a vague memory of one of them failing and someone dieing as a result of it a few years back?

Probably shouldnt stinge on the jacks/stands though

Ill pop by a Bunnings and Repco soon to check out prices and how the tools feel :)

Cheers everyone

i dont recommend cheaping out on spanners. you dont need top dollar stuff but $10 set of 20 spanners will let go on those occasions when you really put some weight on them. a set of combination spanners such as kinchrome,sidchrome,jbs etc as previous suggested will last you a lifetime.

stanley screwdriver sets are usually about $30 for 10 or so and are very durable.

socket sets are another essential. from what ive seen the weakest link in a cheap set is the ratchet so either get a cheaper set and buy a good ratchet/breaker bar separately or just buy a half decent set from the start.

other things like pliers cutters etc i usually go cheapish as i lose them all the time. i havent had a pair of sidecutters longer than a couple months.

if you have already been going to m`mates place and doing some jobs you probably already know what tools you need first

Hi Trev thanks for your input,

I've heard good things about Stanley and they sound reasonable in price, I could always just buy them bit by bit, especially for now

I have a rough idea of what I'll need (I own a haynes manual for the excel and it has those lists of tools of what you need for basic jobs, intermediate jobs, etc etc - plus i've read a few threads on the forums which have already covered this) But I havent actually been down to m'mates place, I'm only just about to start working on cars myself, and I figured that instead of spending all my money going to m'mates place I should just buy myself my own tools which I will need anyway, and I'll be able to take my time more at home (which I will need since im learning!)

Only problem is my garage is tiny but It'll be sufficient for basic jobs.

I was thinking of buying a smaller tool kit with most if not all of the tools that I will need? Toolbox etc will be useful too!

What do you think of the Repco Brand? With a lifetime warranty I thought that seemed like a good deal

Do Sidchrome/Kinchrome come with warranty?

Hi Trev thanks for your input,

I've heard good things about Stanley and they sound reasonable in price, I could always just buy them bit by bit, especially for now

I have a rough idea of what I'll need (I own a haynes manual for the excel and it has those lists of tools of what you need for basic jobs, intermediate jobs, etc etc - plus i've read a few threads on the forums which have already covered this) But I havent actually been down to m'mates place, I'm only just about to start working on cars myself, and I figured that instead of spending all my money going to m'mates place I should just buy myself my own tools which I will need anyway, and I'll be able to take my time more at home (which I will need since im learning!)

Only problem is my garage is tiny but It'll be sufficient for basic jobs.

I was thinking of buying a smaller tool kit with most if not all of the tools that I will need? Toolbox etc will be useful too!

What do you think of the Repco Brand? With a lifetime warranty I thought that seemed like a good deal

Do Sidchrome/Kinchrome come with warranty?

there is probably little difference between sidchrome/kinchrome vs the repco brand apart from the feel of them. anything apart from the dirt cheap stuff will be fine. buying a kit would probably be cheaper in the long run but depends how much you can afford at a time.

if your garage is too small just dont bite off more than you can chew. or start bringing your projects inside like me :rolleyes:

Its a 2 car garage so its a decent size but theres really no space to put tools etc :( plus theres a ton of boxes stacked up along both walls so even less space

I've currently managed to save up a bit for the parts needed to fix the excel and to buy tools/rent m'mates places so i should be okay to get a decent kit from the start ... im sure as long as the stuff has warranty itll be alright and i get 10% off at repco woot.gif (RAC member)

sidchrome/kinchrome also comes with lifetime warranties yeah? I remember reading sidchromes do not too sure bout kinchrome too

Corey also mentioned CGL tools - I havent heard much about them before though?

I work in Osb. Park and theres a repco/CGL shop/bunnings all around there so i'll check em out sometime soon :)

repco has the 10% off though xD

The kkinchrome range comes with a lifetime waranty also. Their new range looks quite good. Stanley tools are the cheaper version of Sidchrome i think, which are also ok.

I have a set of CGL spanners, they have held up for a few years. They arent the strongest out though, i have a combination spanner i put a tad too much weight on and kinked it a couple of years ago.

The really cheap spanners you get from bunnings/auto shops i would steer clear of. I use those spanners for the jobs that require a tool to be grinded down to be used, other than that they are a waste of time and money

Called up Repco today - was quoted $875.00 for a complete tool set with:

Screwdriver set

Pliers

Spanners

Sockets

Hacksaw

allen keys

Hammer

2 Adjustable wrenches

or $179 for a basic set with just sockets and spanners

Owch ...

Jonno mate you need to take some time to get shit together,

your How old ?

& good tools cost good money,

now many will say what they like,

I like Snapon & yes i buy if i can,

But you will look about se some good quaity tools at a good price,

so i would say to you ,

get a small 1/4 socket set ,

then Build slowly from there,

i use a small set on my car most of the time,

& when i need 3/8 i use that,

Good luck

Do you need both 1/4 and 3/8 sockets?

I'm trying to fix up the hyundai excel I have (its got a decent list of mechanical problems but nothing too bad - good to learn on thumbsup.gif)

The haynes manual said Ill need

Combination Spanner set (6mm - 19mm)

Adjustable Spanner

Spark Plug Socket with ruber insert

Spark plug gap adjusting tool

feeler gauge set

brake bleeder spanner

Screwdrivers (I have these thumbsup.gif)

Combination Pliers

Hacksaw and blades

Full set of 3/8 sockets

Allen Keys

Torque wrenches

as a starting point for basic jobs .. given that the list was so freaking long just for basic jobs I thought I should just go for the whole set straight up but it looks kind of unaffordable ... not to mention thats 875 JUST for tools and not to mention a few hundred more for stands/jacks .. and other miscellaneous tools

Could I possibly get away with just the spanners/sockets as a starting point? I thought the Haynes manual's list was a bit extensive just for basic servicing

I definitely don't want to stinge with the jacks/stands since their what keeps the car from crushing me :)! - not too sure which brand to go for these though .. repco had a 2000kg hydraulic trolley jack for about 200 I think

I have a few hundred saved up cos I figured that I'd need a substantial amount for this sort of stuff + parts to fix the car up ...

17 years old btw, and I work at a car detailer which pays sh**, but I enjoy the work ...

Do you need both 1/4 and 3/8 sockets?

I'm trying to fix up the hyundai excel I have (its got a decent list of mechanical problems but nothing too bad - good to learn on thumbsup.gif)

The haynes manual said Ill need

Combination Spanner set (6mm - 19mm)

Adjustable Spanner

Spark Plug Socket with ruber insert

Spark plug gap adjusting tool

feeler gauge set

brake bleeder spanner

Screwdrivers (I have these thumbsup.gif)

Combination Pliers

Hacksaw and blades

Full set of 3/8 sockets

Allen Keys

Torque wrenches

as a starting point for basic jobs .. given that the list was so freaking long just for basic jobs I thought I should just go for the whole set straight up but it looks kind of unaffordable ... not to mention thats 875 JUST for tools and not to mention a few hundred more for stands/jacks .. and other miscellaneous tools

Could I possibly get away with just the spanners/sockets as a starting point? I thought the Haynes manual's list was a bit extensive just for basic servicing

I definitely don't want to stinge with the jacks/stands since their what keeps the car from crushing me :)! - not too sure which brand to go for these though .. repco had a 2000kg hydraulic trolley jack for about 200 I think

I have a few hundred saved up cos I figured that I'd need a substantial amount for this sort of stuff + parts to fix the car up ...

17 years old btw, and I work at a car detailer which pays sh**, but I enjoy the work ...

spark plug adjuster tool = a quick tap on the bench

brake bleeder spanner = 8mm spanner or whatever size it is.

i would get 3/8 set before 1/4. i only get 1/4 set out once or twice a month compared to 3/8 daily.

as jonno said earlier throw wheels under the car instead of stands if you have space.or blocks of wood.

you wont need tension wrenches yet.

So for starters all I really need are Spanners, 3/8 Sockets + Ratchet, Allen Keys and Pliers?

I saw spanner + socket sets by sidchrome/Kinchrome/Repco for about the $200 mark I think so thats quite doable!

I'm sure I have alot of allen keys from all those Ikea furnitures too ..

How many wheels would I need?

Should I get them from some kind of second hand wheel/tyre dealer ..? Just small steelies?

Thanks for all the advice so far everyone :)

I don't know about perth, but Auto One/supercheap down here are having a sale on. Their jack stands, little jacks and tools are all really cheap atm. Have you got any catalogues in circulation that you can look through?

Supercheap auto is having a sale on some sidchromes at the moment, but I get 10% off at Repco anyway so I'll compare those prices :)

Ill have a look at auto ones catalogue as well and perhaps bunnings? I can only find kinchromes at bunnings ...

How much should I spend on a Jack?

and should i go for a Trolley or Bottle type hydraulic Jack?

I think I saw the ones that hold 2000kg at repco for about 200

Also .. would I be better off getting a set with just 3/8 and more pieces for just the 3/8

or a set with a few for 1/4 and a few for 3/8?

Roughly how many pieces would I need?

Kincrome at auto one seems really cheap!

Auto one has

39 piece Kincrome socket set for 1/4 and 3/8 for 99.95

69 piece Sincrome tool set - box, 1/4 and 1/2 sockets, 8-19mm spanners for 259

36 piece sincrome socket set for 1/4 for 139

23 piece sincrome 23 piece 1/4 for 69.95

2250 Trolley Jack for 169

2000kg stands - 29.95 or 4500kg stands 69.95

SCA has

69 Piece Stanley black chrome set 1/4 and 3/8 for $69 (this looks really good?)

38 piece sidcrome 1/4 and 3/8 as well as 5/8 and 13/16 spark plug sockets for 99.98

46 piece sidcrome 3/8 and spanner set for 245

36 piece sidcrome 1/4 125

43 piece sidcrome 1/4 140

79 piece sidcrome 1/4 and 3/8 sockets and spanner set for 229

64 piece sidcrome 1/4, 3/8, 1/2 sockets for 185

2500kg Trolley Jack and 2 1200kg stands for 125

Bunnings and Repco dont have a catalogue out at the moment, but I remember bunnings having some kinchrome and sidchrome stuff, and Repco gives 20% off to RAC members at the moment ...

Im getting so confused by all the options haha .. no idea how many pieces for each socket size I'll really need and stuff

All the prices seem quite affordable though :)

I would get the jack and stand combo from sca and teh 69 piece sidchrome kit from auto one. You will find you might not use the 1/4 inch stuff unless you caught into a tight spot.

I mostly use 3/8 and 1/2 when doing mechanical work. 1/4 doesnt come out at all unless its for hose clamps.

When i first started my mechanics i had a kinchrome spanner set, kinchrome 1/2 an 3/8 set and a $30 stanley screwdriver kit and a couple of sets of trojan pliers from bunnings. You don't need really fancy tools to start off