My R32 Gtr Vspec1 Project Car

lookin awesome mate, where are your quarter panel indicators ? did it come with any ?

Na mate it didn't come with any which I'm rather happy about as I've never liked them lol.

put the VIN into Fast and then you'll know for sure.

Well I put the Vin into get fasted and it came back as a Vspec1.

Good read bro,keep up the good work _b

Edit/ What kinda oil pump you going to be uesing ?

Thanks guys yeah I did forget to put that in didn't I. It's a Trust/Greddy oil pump and already in there. I sort of steered clear of N1 oil pump on the recommendation of a friend and the trust pump came up on here pretty cheap so I got that instead. Just paid for some Xforce dumps off a member on here today so hopefully they'll turn up this week and I've ordered my turbo's just need to pay for them then that's the hot side sorted well other than piping but gotta wait for the engine to go back in to make them up.

Well It's been kinda quiet for the last couple of months other than just acruing parts and waiting for some free time to get them bolted up. Things I've gotten include my dumps, my custom low mount manifolds, Garrett 2860-5 turbo's, Trust oil cooler kit, Tomei adjustable cam gears and Injector Dynamics id1000's.

Just a few pics of everything.

post-58307-0-23154200-1317294958_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-43512900-1317294994_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-40296200-1317295029_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-87112100-1317295035_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-74207600-1317295021_thumb.jpg

My manifolds on another engine at the fabricators I recieved them but they are currently having the inlet sides machined as they had a slight warp and I only want to put them on once lol.

post-58307-0-01204200-1317295136_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-42854100-1317295132_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-88130200-1317295127_thumb.jpg

I also have my power steering pump being modified and my stock oil filter housing as well to delete the original coolant lines off the back of it Should pick them up next week along with my 14mm twin entry fuel rail and FPR.

While I havent worked much on the car itself I decided to paint a few more bits from the engine bay I did my twin turbo pipe the one off the rear compressor outlet and my intake plenum. I aslo forgot to do my lower timing cover when I did the rest as it was still on the engine so I did that aswell.

post-58307-0-37736300-1317295570_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-31440300-1317295590_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-48958800-1317295608_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-47935100-1317295629_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-37269700-1317295498_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-52835100-1317295516_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-86715300-1317295551_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-87610300-1317295535_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-94775800-1317295476_thumb.jpg

I should have my manifolds back by the weekend so I might start bolting them and my plenum up to the motor and get that back together over the next couple of weeks so I can finally get the engine back in but I'll update as I get stuff done.

Yeah it certainly did. I spent an hour the night before trying to straighten out all the bent fins and I dont think it came up too bad. I decided to paint it satin black just to draw the eye away from it until I can afford a bit of a 'bling bling' front mount but it'll do for now. Aslo picked up my fuel rail and reg last night. Spent yesterday arvo moving all the bits round to the shed where the car is ready for a 3 day bolt on blitz in the next week or two. Also organized a few things just as a bit of a tidy up really.

post-58307-0-24523200-1317529607_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-19458800-1317529628_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-17134700-1317529644_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-41946600-1317529658_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-04096900-1317529671_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-40053500-1317530532_thumb.jpg

post-58307-0-07065000-1317529684_thumb.jpg Cant keep away from the candy cupboard lol.

I also decided to paint the RB26 on the timing cover black just to set it off a bit.

post-58307-0-53018700-1317529847_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-29860900-1317529831_thumb.jpg

I started a custom front splitter for it about a year ago and had a heap of step by step photo's which got deleted before I got them up here but so I decided to dig it out today and get a few snaps so you can get the general idea of what I'm thinking.

This is the plug I ended up with after about 20 hours cutting out molding and shaping

post-58307-0-39171200-1317530073_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-96983600-1317530057_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-18049000-1317530045_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-59939900-1317530032_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-72225600-1317530086_thumb.jpg

I decided to make it as a lower attachment to the existing lip instead of molding it all into one cause it's gonna be fairly low and I reckon it may take a hit or two so it needs to be easy enough to replace/remove if need be.

post-58307-0-88594700-1317530282_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-94489400-1317530269_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-44045900-1317530255_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-24338900-1317530236_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-62815700-1317530220_thumb.jpg

The finished mould.

post-58307-0-15342700-1317530586_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-84080200-1317530566_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-06331100-1317530577_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-49832900-1317530551_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-99679000-1317530541_thumb.jpg

I think I might end up making one then altering it a bit as I'm not 100% happy with the centre and making a better mould so I can make a few of them. I also need to get the front end back on the car so I can check the angle etc. so it wont be till it's together and running again.

Well slowly getting there engine is about 90% together ready to drop in hopefully next weekend just got a few small things to do like oil/water lines set up timing put clutch on and then hopefully in it goes.

post-58307-0-02548000-1319361392_thumb.jpg My awesome looking manifolds!

post-58307-0-55820700-1319361476_thumb.jpg Modified oil filter housing heat exchanger blocked off.

post-58307-0-93625300-1319361498_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-24721500-1319361522_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-04389700-1319361586_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-09572400-1319361654_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-68299400-1319361351_thumb.jpg

post-58307-0-87527400-1319361726_thumb.jpg Had to change the 2 bottom fittings on the oil drain to 90degree ones so they cleared the rear dump pipe.post-58307-0-84986100-1319362168_thumb.jpg

post-58307-0-93450500-1319361756_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-53908100-1319361797_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-39574500-1319361695_thumb.jpg

hi there been reading your build just a quick 1 i have 285 rubber under the front on my r32 gtr and all i did was roll the guards but i do run 2 deg camber up front

hope this helps

good luck with build

its lookin good so far

mate you should of cermaic coated the exhaust manifolds and dump pipes !!

Yeah man I know it's totally Irish. I should also upgrade the front diff while the engines out too and then there's the gearbox...... I've considered it all and will eventually do it but I'm starting to drain the money pool and still need basics like Z32's, coilpacks and rubber not to mention all my intake piping, fuel setup, tuning, rego, insurance etc. etc. I'm at the point now where if I do everything while it's apart it'll be another 2+ years before I get it on the road and the whole piont of having a car like this is to enjoy it so I've got to get it going. I plan to do most things to the car but over time so if I can drive it while saving for the next set of mods then all the better. They're not welded on there so maybe next winter when it's off the road I'll pull them out and do it as well as the rear housings with external gates on them :thumbsup: ....... maybe or maybe the year after lol all depending on money. We all know things like this are never truly finished and if they are then it's because of a 5 year build or endless budget neither of which I have lol.

sycorb: thanks for the heads up I'm not too fussed with the fitment issues as I'm going to paint the car so I'm pretty happy to roll/ flare them as much as I need to. I'm probably going to run 255/265s max anyway as I like the look of them back off the rim a little but I'll make sure I can fit big rubber NOW incase I want to run it in the future.

Well just a few things to post up. Finally got everything bolted up and managed to drop the engine in on the weekend. Now it's onto the piping fabrication and hooking up all the wires.

post-58307-0-17838400-1321872947_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-86016100-1321872064_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-84047700-1321872094_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-15059600-1321872168_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-18196300-1321872131_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-62035700-1321872027_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-01239200-1321872197_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-11512400-1321872529_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-52928300-1321872552_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-11156700-1321872577_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-03941000-1321872604_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-52986500-1321872636_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-49161300-1321872712_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-99487100-1321872738_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-54730800-1321872823_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-95429900-1321872467_thumb.jpg

looks trick brodie, i admire your guts to stick with this project from the (broken) start to the perfect end :)

Cant wait to see more updates

Cheer man yeah it's taken a while but it'll be worth it in the end I'm pretty stoked to have the engine back in the car it's kinda like now all the hard work is done lol which isn't true but it's the major part anyway. I'll get the car jacked up tomorrow ready to put the gearbox in and start bolting some stuff back up. Ordered all the intercooler bends on wednesday so hopefully start making that in the next few weeks too.

Well it's been a while so bout time for an update. I managed to get the car jacked up at the end of last year but didn't get time to put the gearbox in till after christmas. It took a bit but was nowhere near as bad as I was dreading. My brother sat on the centre console with a rope around the tail of the box and a mate and I lay under the car with a jack and twisted and wiggled it until after about 10 minutes it went in. I had to pour the oil out of the transfer case cause before I pulled the box out I trial fitted a short shifter and it jammed in there and the little plastic cup on the end of it fell into the gearbox so I managed to get that out. I also changed the gearbox oil with redline shockproof for good measure.

post-58307-0-76712900-1329002494_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-67054200-1329002512_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-75598800-1329002539_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-61241400-1329002459_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-74512000-1329002556_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-49343900-1329002572_thumb.jpg

I got my cooler bends just before christmas but I have only mucked around a little with them I'm going to wait till my mate and I have a full weekend free to get them bowled over. I also changed my injector plugs over to suit the ID1000's.

post-58307-0-22418900-1329002727_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-22473800-1329002786_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-74306600-1329002813_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-85756900-1329002855_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-93473900-1329002760_thumb.jpg

I had to buy some alloy tube and make 22mm spacers for my fuel rail.

post-58307-0-37400100-1329003273_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-36126200-1329003308_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-00134500-1329003442_thumb.jpg

I got my y pipes bolted back up and my intercooler back on ready to make the piping up.

post-58307-0-17970000-1329003708_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-87911300-1329003734_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-47055200-1329003722_thumb.jpg

When I was putting the gearbox in I crossthreaded one of the gearbox mount bolts so I had to tap the thread and get a new bolt but it's all fixed now. I bought some -6 braided line and a heap of fittings and made up all my fuel lines yesterday. I was originally going to convert my Hicas lines into new feed/return lines but the hard line to braided hose fittings I bought werent the right size so I'm just running the standard ones for now and I'll sort something else out later when I upgrade my fuel setup.

post-58307-0-78452600-1329035868_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-35853200-1329035940_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-09954900-1329035914_thumb.jpgpost-58307-0-87764100-1329035971_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-29536600-1329036001_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-57509400-1329036049_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-42244900-1329036024_thumb.jpg

I also got my O2 sensor adapters and installed them. Mounted all my coil packs and plugged in the injector loom and coilpack loom. Bolted on my inlet cam cover for good now and put my timing cover on so it's starting to take shape.

post-58307-0-89998500-1329036434_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-11133900-1329035823_thumb.jpg

I still need to bolt up the turbo water feed and return lines then I can put all the crossover pipes and turbo intake pipes on and start making all my piping up. Hopefully tomorrow I'll get time to bolt my tailshaft, starter motor and frontshaft in then I can get it back down on the ground again.

On friday I was test fitting my little brothers new front bar for his 33 and had to do some fiberglassing to it which re-motivated me to dig out my splitter that I'd thrown under the house a few months ago when it went a bit pear shaped. It was originally my mould that I was planning to make the splitter from but when I went to start fiberglassing it I realised that I couldn't get my fingers down inside it to lay the fiberglass so I cracked the shits and glassed the split down the centre together after which I forgot about it for a while. Anyway I took to it with the grinder the other day and have decided to make that into the actual splitter so I've started turning it into the finished shape that i want then I'll work out how to make replicas from there.

post-58307-0-79519600-1329037447_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-14380600-1329037478_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-14579300-1329037512_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-16081400-1329037550_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-30575100-1329037421_thumb.jpg

And the all important (read dodgey) thing I did today was wind the clock back. I figured if I'm going to have a new engine I may as well start fresah on the colck. Plus who'd believe 32000km's anyway lol.

post-58307-0-19327600-1329037780_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-41368600-1329037820_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-91545200-1329037855_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-61271800-1329037747_thumb.jpg