Cheers dude yeah it DID look good didn't it lol ;) Na I think you'll like it even better when it's finished!

Well you weren't wrong there. It looks pretty sweet. I agree with Notorius about the lip in the middle. But I will reserve my judgement until it is a finished item. Good work once again... :thumbsup:

Yeah like I said I've got to mould it in two pieces so I'll take a mould of the top as it is and then smooth it out and see what I think. I have a picture of the finished product in my head which I think will look good but I'll just have to see if I can make it into reality and if it will work in reality lol.

How's the most important part going?

Hey mate, great build and good to see you have stuck with it! I know what those highs and lows are like.. Looking forward to seeing it finished how you want it. cheers

Cale

Well it's been a while have been pretty busy with work lately and it looks like this month is going to be much the same. But I have had a chance to do a few small things over the last week or so. I had to replace the crappy old 3 inch de-cat pipe so I bought a 3.5 inch 100 cell High flow of the net only problem was I couldn't find any long enough with flanges already welded so bought some 2 bolt flanges and considering I also had a custom catch can to make I decided to borrow my mates Tig and teach myself to Tig weld.

post-58307-0-03566600-1370334635_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-01008400-1370334643_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-56030500-1370334651_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-85103300-1370334657_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-40180500-1370334664_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-83424800-1370334671_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-37663800-1370334678_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-18927000-1370334685_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-32522900-1370334691_thumb.jpg

I had to cut the 3 inch flange off the rear section of the exhaust and change it to a 3.5 to match the Cat but once I had done that I had to extend the cat because it wasn't long enough which meant finding a 50mm length of 3.5 inch stainless pipe which was an absolute mission. Ended up having to buy a mandrel 45 degree bend and use the end off of that.

Lets just say Tig welding stainless steel is an absolute breeze thought it was going to be a lot harder than it was............ unfortunately it doesn't transfer over to Aluminium lol. I have half done the catch can but was too embarrassed to take photo's lol. I'll get some pics when I finish it off.

I also changed over the air filters for some better ones once I finish the catch can and put my new oil pressure sender in I can get it tuned so I'll hopefully have that done by the end of the month.

not going too bad for a homosexual, round 2 of the catch can next weekend! just gotta show the ally who's boss lol

Calling me a homosexual? I'm not the one who's thinking about selling my skyline because I'm too gay to drive it anymore!

Just got through this build.. Wow

Props on the front bar repair and splitter, that modified 33 wing is pretty cool as well.

Glad to see you pulled through all this bad luck and still going! Touch wood! Amazing car choice also ;)

Well had a bit more progress over the last few weeks I got the old girl a present about 6 months ago but only just got around to fitting it. I love the look and feel of the new wheel because it's not too far gone from the stock wheel but unfortunately it is smaller which will take a bit of getting used to.

post-58307-0-76887600-1372580742_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-94882200-1372580737_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-38823900-1372580749_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-04127500-1372580754_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-73963600-1372580758_thumb.jpg

Got my exhaust all back on.

post-58307-0-13363500-1372581607_thumb.jpg

I said in my last post that I had taught myself to tig weld stainless and was having a go at an ally catch can but that didn't quite go to plan so I Started again and called in a mate to do the welding for me which we started today and got it all tacked up and he'll finish it for me this week sometime.

Original can

post-58307-0-61569700-1372580733_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-31283000-1372581096_thumb.jpg

New can.

post-58307-0-90190500-1372581106_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-93233100-1372581116_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-21670000-1372581127_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-89529700-1372581139_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-91313800-1372581145_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-22178100-1372581176_thumb.jpg

I changed the shape to just a simple rectangle and will retain my stock rad overflow bottle. I was also gonna put baffling in the can but after talking to my mate we agreed to just run with Stainless steel wool so should work fine. I'll measure the contents once it's finished but it looks like it should hold 2-3 litres so if it fills that I've got bigger problems to worry about.

I've also got a mates black series 7 FD RX7 that he wants me to bare metal respray so I just knocked up a few different options for painting on my spare boot to show him and thought I'd take a few photo's just for fun.

post-58307-0-23156800-1372581619_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-15787800-1372581613_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-61812500-1372581624_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-68683800-1372581629_thumb.jpg

And lastly the important stuff. Got a mates mate who's a mechanic and does RWC checks to come check out the car last week and with a few minor changes he said he's happy to pass it so rego should be a breeze and it's booked in for it's run in tune on Thursday the 11th of July so less than 2 weeks!!

Heaps excited but absolutely shitting myself at the same time not sure what I'm gonna do that day might need a few Valium or something cause I'll be a nervous wreck lol.

Well had a bit more progress over the last few weeks I got the old girl a present about 6 months ago but only just got around to fitting it. I love the look and feel of the new wheel because it's not too far gone from the stock wheel but unfortunately it is smaller which will take a bit of getting used to.

attachicon.gifCan 035.jpg attachicon.gifCan 034.jpg attachicon.gifCan 036.jpg attachicon.gifCan 037.jpg attachicon.gifCan 038.jpg

attachicon.gifCan 007.jpg

I said in my last post that I had taught myself to tig weld stainless and was having a go at an ally catch can but that didn't quite go to plan so I Started again and called in a mate to do the welding for me which we started today and got it all tacked up and he'll finish it for me this week sometime.

Original can

attachicon.gifCan 004.jpg attachicon.gifCan 003.jpg

New can.

attachicon.gifCan 039.jpg attachicon.gifCan 040.jpg attachicon.gifCan 041.jpg attachicon.gifCan 048.jpg attachicon.gifCan 049.jpg attachicon.gifCan 050.jpg

I changed the shape to just a simple rectangle and will retain my stock rad overflow bottle. I was also gonna put baffling in the can but after talking to my mate we agreed to just run with Stainless steel wool so should work fine. I'll measure the contents once it's finished but it looks like it should hold 2-3 litres so if it fills that I've got bigger problems to worry about.

I've also got a mates black series 7 FD RX7 that he wants me to bare metal respray so I just knocked up a few different options for painting on my spare boot to show him and thought I'd take a few photo's just for fun.

attachicon.gifCan 044.jpg attachicon.gifCan 042.jpg attachicon.gifCan 046.jpg attachicon.gifCan 047.jpg

And lastly the important stuff. Got a mates mate who's a mechanic and does RWC checks to come check out the car last week and with a few minor changes he said he's happy to pass it so rego should be a breeze and it's booked in for it's run in tune on Thursday the 11th of July so less than 2 weeks!!

Heaps excited but absolutely shitting myself at the same time not sure what I'm gonna do that day might need a few Valium or something cause I'll be a nervous wreck lol.

Good stuff mate. Its coming along really nicely. I can relate to the "nervous wreck" etc... as I will be in the same boat once mine is ready.

But after all the hard work and hours spent on the car I think you have the right to be nervous / ecstatic about finally driving it.

Keep it up and look forward to more progress.

Cheers A.

Good stuff mate. Its coming along really nicely. I can relate to the "nervous wreck" etc... as I will be in the same boat once mine is ready.

But after all the hard work and hours spent on the car I think you have the right to be nervous / ecstatic about finally driving it.

Keep it up and look forward to more progress.

Cheers A.

Cheers man I was at this point 9 months ago before I found the oil pump problem so it's like having to go through the whole thing twice! I've already organized to have the whole day off cause I don't think I'd be able to concentrate at work.

Anyway should go smoothly and by the end of the month it should be on the road if all goes to plan. Now I just need to start looking at insurance which 3 years ago wasn't much fun and I doubt it's gotten much more enjoyable since lol.

Anyway keep up the good work and loving the progress of yours. Shouldn't be far off either.

attachicon.gifCan 035.jpg attachicon.gifCan 034.jpg attachicon.gifCan 036.jpg attachicon.gifCan 037.jpg attachicon.gifCan 038.jpg

attachicon.gifCan 007.jpg

Original can

attachicon.gifCan 004.jpg attachicon.gifCan 003.jpg

New can.

attachicon.gifCan 039.jpg attachicon.gifCan 040.jpg attachicon.gifCan 041.jpg attachicon.gifCan 048.jpg attachicon.gifCan 049.jpg attachicon.gifCan 050.jpg

attachicon.gifCan 044.jpg attachicon.gifCan 042.jpg attachicon.gifCan 046.jpg attachicon.gifCan 047.jpg

What's the reasoning for the steel wool at all? just to stop slosh?

Yeah easier than complicated baffles and probably more effective. I imagine I'll still end up with some oil residue issues from the filters especially as i don't have cam cover baffles yet but for now until i track the car this should solve most of the problems. hopefully lol.

Ryan capel used to and probably still does put steel wool in catch cans jangles, it's meant to be a great air-oil separater. And yes since it's 3/4 full of the stuff there will be a whole lot less sloshing about. Going to try finish off the welding one night this week.

Got the catch can in question welded up thisarvo, been a interesting arvo, had to work thismorning til lunch time, was speddy about getting away and heading for home to get started, got about 5 kays from home, snow was belting down over grass tree hill (one of our famous targa stages) and then a massive arse tree across the road, MEH, 25 kays back around to get home another wa y, got set up, got stuck in was pretty happy well as happy as i could be welding ally, got to the fianl two welds, out of gas. Fuuuuu..... belted over to the weld shop and got there with 5 mins to spare til he closed, back home, DONE. cleaned it up quickly with a wire brush, i think it will be getting painted anyway but looks pretty good. ended up putting a plate behind the inlets to force the gasses/oil down and its 3/4 full of stainless scourers, and pipes that go all the way to the back of the can to the breather so should work pretty well. it held 3.75 litres of water. so thats the last piece of the puzzle for now, next stop - tuning! must have earnt myself a coldie i reckon

image_zpse360d80b.jpg

image_zpsf1e00b22.jpg

image_zps17b694ad.jpg

image_zpsc19b03aa.jpg

Good luck mate.

Just watch out for hidden rust... that's the killer with GTR's that have not been taken care off,(Weathered)...Take it to someone who knows how to find if there is any as u don't want it Hidden inside the panels and only visible once it has eaten through. Have seen 2 people make big mistakes when buying GTRs which looked cheap & then months later after they spotted a few spots, they realize what they bought and these were around the 15/16k purchase

Once you have stripped the entire thing to bare metal it should help you identify. Not sure if this is what your going to do as I have not read the whole thread, either way sounds like your having fun. lol thats all that matters , you and your wallet will get a good work out by the end of it hhehehe

By the way did you say it was a Vspec2? why does your profile say vspec1, the Vspec2 was built in 02/94 & Vspec1 was 93

Edited by GTRAAH

Good luck mate.

Just watch out for hidden rust... that's the killer with GTR's that have not been taken care off,(Weathered)...Take it to someone who knows how to find if there is any as u don't want it Hidden inside the panels and only visible once it has eaten through. Have seen 2 people make big mistakes when buying GTRs which looked cheap & then months later after they spotted a few spots, they realize what they bought and these were around the 15/16k purchase

Once you have stripped the entire thing to bare metal it should help you identify. Not sure if this is what your going to do as I have not read the whole thread, either way sounds like your having fun. lol thats all that matters , you and your wallet will get a good work out by the end of it hhehehe

By the way did you say it was a Vspec2? why does your profile say vspec1, the Vspec2 was built in 02/94 & Vspec1 was 93

you probably should of read the thread, or at least looked at the start date.....

Well It's been nearly 4 months since I took my car in to get a base tune on it so I could run it in. The tuner rang me up that afternoon and told me that he had it on the dyno and everytime it hit boost it was chaffing oil smoke from the exhaust. He said he couldn't go any further because it was so bad and he thought it was turbo oil seals.

Took the car home and tried every number of things until a member on here suggested I clean the exhaust. I dropped the exhaust off and whamo no smoke. Put it back on and smoke. So I gave it a thorough cleanout and put it back on the car and it cleared the smoke up about 80-90%. Got a day pass to go get tyres put on and it seemed to have fixed the problem.

It's lucky because I was very close to swapping the turbo's out and it would have been for nothing but I wish I'd known and just bought a new exhaust from the get go.

Skip to Friday just gone and I had it in for a RWC. Car passed with no problems went and put 12 months rego on it and have been driving it ever since!!!!!!!!!!

Absolutely stoked to have this thing on the road after nearly 4 years of ownership. It is running great, idles smoothly, temp is sitting where it should, sounds amazing and the car just feels so tight and ready to eat up the road. (only got the run in tune so I'm babying it) but you can already feel the potential under your foot.

I've already done nearly 300km this weekend so I'll do an oil change then get it upto around 1000km and get it back in for a proper tune.

I'll get it cleaned up properly in the next week and get some decent photo's up but heres some quick phone snaps.

post-58307-0-65755700-1383448224_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-29027900-1383448252_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-88321400-1383448295_thumb.jpg post-58307-0-04784000-1383448273_thumb.jpg