Well It's been nearly 4 months since I took my car in to get a base tune on it so I could run it in. The tuner rang me up that afternoon and told me that he had it on the dyno and everytime it hit boost it was chaffing oil smoke from the exhaust. He said he couldn't go any further because it was so bad and he thought it was turbo oil seals.

Took the car home and tried every number of things until a member on here suggested I clean the exhaust. I dropped the exhaust off and whamo no smoke. Put it back on and smoke. So I gave it a thorough cleanout and put it back on the car and it cleared the smoke up about 80-90%. Got a day pass to go get tyres put on and it seemed to have fixed the problem.

It's lucky because I was very close to swapping the turbo's out and it would have been for nothing but I wish I'd known and just bought a new exhaust from the get go.

Skip to Friday just gone and I had it in for a RWC. Car passed with no problems went and put 12 months rego on it and have been driving it ever since!!!!!!!!!!

Absolutely stoked to have this thing on the road after nearly 4 years of ownership. It is running great, idles smoothly, temp is sitting where it should, sounds amazing and the car just feels so tight and ready to eat up the road. (only got the run in tune so I'm babying it) but you can already feel the potential under your foot.

I've already done nearly 300km this weekend so I'll do an oil change then get it upto around 1000km and get it back in for a proper tune.

I'll get it cleaned up properly in the next week and get some decent photo's up but heres some quick phone snaps.

attachicon.gifRego 029.jpg attachicon.gifRego 031.jpg attachicon.gifRego 033.jpg attachicon.gifRego 037.jpg

Well done mate. So happy that you are finally enjoying it after all this time.

I know it does feel good thats for sure ;)

You should post up dyno graphs of run-in tune if its available??

Definitely post pix up - that would be awesome

Congrats again mate.

Well It's been nearly 4 months since I took my car in to get a base tune on it so I could run it in. The tuner rang me up that afternoon and told me that he had it on the dyno and everytime it hit boost it was chaffing oil smoke from the exhaust. He said he couldn't go any further because it was so bad and he thought it was turbo oil seals.

Took the car home and tried every number of things until a member on here suggested I clean the exhaust. I dropped the exhaust off and whamo no smoke. Put it back on and smoke. So I gave it a thorough cleanout and put it back on the car and it cleared the smoke up about 80-90%. Got a day pass to go get tyres put on and it seemed to have fixed the problem.

It's lucky because I was very close to swapping the turbo's out and it would have been for nothing but I wish I'd known and just bought a new exhaust from the get go.

Skip to Friday just gone and I had it in for a RWC. Car passed with no problems went and put 12 months rego on it and have been driving it ever since!!!!!!!!!!

Absolutely stoked to have this thing on the road after nearly 4 years of ownership. It is running great, idles smoothly, temp is sitting where it should, sounds amazing and the car just feels so tight and ready to eat up the road. (only got the run in tune so I'm babying it) but you can already feel the potential under your foot.

I've already done nearly 300km this weekend so I'll do an oil change then get it upto around 1000km and get it back in for a proper tune.

I'll get it cleaned up properly in the next week and get some decent photo's up but heres some quick phone snaps.

attachicon.gifRego 029.jpg attachicon.gifRego 031.jpg attachicon.gifRego 033.jpg attachicon.gifRego 037.jpg

That's awsome mate, is it all still running well? you must be happy yoiu have sorted the oil issue out... what a fkn ride!

... Run in, all I can say is don't baby it too much. Plenty of boosting (low boost of course) and some moderate loading.

Justin

Well done mate. So happy that you are finally enjoying it after all this time.

I know it does feel good thats for sure ;)

You should post up dyno graphs of run-in tune if its available??

Definitely post pix up - that would be awesome

Congrats again mate.

Hey man thanks so am I lol. It's been way too long but well worth the wait.

I haven't got any Dyno graphs of the initial tune as he cut it short because of the smoke so no idea of the power but I'll definitely get them up when it goes back in a couple of weeks.

That's awsome mate, is it all still running well? you must be happy yoiu have sorted the oil issue out... what a fkn ride!

... Run in, all I can say is don't baby it too much. Plenty of boosting (low boost of course) and some moderate loading.

Justin

Cheers Justin yeah it's running sweet. if I didn't know it was a fresh engine I'd be more than confident to stretch it's legs. Engine ticks over like a dream, Gearbox is quiet and smooth, New clutch is a breeze to use now I'm used to it but has a bit of bite lol and the 4wd is working after I bled it last week and nearly drove the car off the front of the ramps once I had lol.

I have been taking it pretty easy so far. Matt at Tas engine reco said that if Kutzie has tuned it rich not to go round getting it on boost too much as it will fuel wash the bores so I've just been keeping gear changes around 3700-4500 with the occasional venture to 5500-6000 every now and then and getting it under load up hills and stuff but I'll change the oil tomorrow night as it's starting to colour and go see Kutz next week to book it in for a porper tune. While I'm there I'll just have a chat to him about how much stick I should give it.

Hey man thanks so am I lol. It's been way too long but well worth the wait.

I haven't got any Dyno graphs of the initial tune as he cut it short because of the smoke so no idea of the power but I'll definitely get them up when it goes back in a couple of weeks.

Cheers Justin yeah it's running sweet. if I didn't know it was a fresh engine I'd be more than confident to stretch it's legs. Engine ticks over like a dream, Gearbox is quiet and smooth, New clutch is a breeze to use now I'm used to it but has a bit of bite lol and the 4wd is working after I bled it last week and nearly drove the car off the front of the ramps once I had lol.

I have been taking it pretty easy so far. Matt at Tas engine reco said that if Kutzie has tuned it rich not to go round getting it on boost too much as it will fuel wash the bores so I've just been keeping gear changes around 3700-4500 with the occasional venture to 5500-6000 every now and then and getting it under load up hills and stuff but I'll change the oil tomorrow night as it's starting to colour and go see Kutz next week to book it in for a porper tune. While I'm there I'll just have a chat to him about how much stick I should give it.

It will be well and truly run in by now.

Also, I hope you get a proper tune and not a porper tune! =P

Well had it in for a tune today. Car went well but had issues with the CAS and boost controller so car wouldn't get over 15psi.

Still happy with the result for now just happy it is all running fine and I can actually give it some stick now lol. Will replace the CAS, get a new Boost Controller, upgrade AFM's, Balancer and Coil packs then send it back for another go early next year.

Anyway the results. Now I know it's not ground breaking but it gives me hope for the future cause if it's this fun to drive with only that much power I cant wait till it's got another 100 or so lol.

post-58307-0-41330100-1385547070_thumb.jpg

Well had it in for a tune today. Car went well but had issues with the CAS and boost controller so car wouldn't get over 15psi.

Still happy with the result for now just happy it is all running fine and I can actually give it some stick now lol. Will replace the CAS, get a new Boost Controller, upgrade AFM's, Balancer and Coil packs then send it back for another go early next year.

Anyway the results. Now I know it's not ground breaking but it gives me hope for the future cause if it's this fun to drive with only that much power I cant wait till it's got another 100 or so lol.

Save up and get a whole Ross kit and eliminate any further CAS issues..

trustr32, on Today, 08:11 PM, said:

Nice power curve mate.

Looks like approx 277rwkw. Thats a good number @ 17psi

What's wrong with the CAS?

Is it because it's old / worn out or just not reading correctly?

Ha ha not real sure what's going on there Ants but I've reported it so hopefully it should get removed soon.

Anyway may as well update this while I'm here. I got another CAS and swapped it over and it seemed to fix the issue for a few weeks but it has started to play up again the other day so now I'm going to have to start the process of trouble shooting to try and eliminate exactly what the problem is. It will just stall like it's got an ignition cut when you come upto a set of lights and then when you take off you have to rev rev rev to get it to go and then it misses and plays up an absolute treat. It's not regular though only does it every now and then and only low down like at a set of lights or intersection. Seems to be only when the car is hot. Anyway I'm going to start replacing the whole ignition and all the sensors one by one until I eliminate everything.

Other than that I haven't done much other than enjoy the car. I've put nearly 3,500kms on it and other than that ign issue it hasn't missed a beat. The power is great for the street just enough to have some fun and not scare you every time you put the foot down but still enough to get power oversteer out of corners (not that I know that) ;). I'll fix the ignition problem over the next month or two then look at getting the last few items before getting it back in for a final tune sometime in the next 6 months. Not really in any great rush as the car is already too fast to use on the street lol.

Thanks Tobs_r32 it doesn't stay clean for long being black and the paint work is fairly rough but it's got a certain rough tough charm about it that I do like.

Ha ha not real sure what's going on there Ants but I've reported it so hopefully it should get removed soon.

Anyway may as well update this while I'm here. I got another CAS and swapped it over and it seemed to fix the issue for a few weeks but it has started to play up again the other day so now I'm going to have to start the process of trouble shooting to try and eliminate exactly what the problem is. It will just stall like it's got an ignition cut when you come upto a set of lights and then when you take off you have to rev rev rev to get it to go and then it misses and plays up an absolute treat. It's not regular though only does it every now and then and only low down like at a set of lights or intersection. Seems to be only when the car is hot. Anyway I'm going to start replacing the whole ignition and all the sensors one by one until I eliminate everything.

Other than that I haven't done much other than enjoy the car. I've put nearly 3,500kms on it and other than that ign issue it hasn't missed a beat. The power is great for the street just enough to have some fun and not scare you every time you put the foot down but still enough to get power oversteer out of corners (not that I know that) ;). I'll fix the ignition problem over the next month or two then look at getting the last few items before getting it back in for a final tune sometime in the next 6 months. Not really in any great rush as the car is already too fast to use on the street lol.

Thanks Tobs_r32 it doesn't stay clean for long being black and the paint work is fairly rough but it's got a certain rough tough charm about it that I do like.

Hi mate.

Glad they (mods) got that crap removed.

Your issue sounds very much like a problem I had with mine a few years back.

Ended it up to be a coil pack gone bad. It was easy to identify the issue as the suspected coil pack had this black residue around it.

Replaced it with a second hand one and stalling and rev / misfire issues resolved

Cheers man. I've gotten hold of another igniter module off a mate and a brand new set of coil packs. I'll try them both individually to see if I cant narrow this problem down. After that I guess it'll be AFM's then all the engine sensors till I iron this sucker out.

SPOTTED kingo beach last night... sounds great!

... have you replaced your coil pack loom? symptoms sound very wiring related.

looks good on the street with those side skirts and rear pods too.

Justin

Cheers Justin. Yeah that thought has been in the back of my mind too. I was in town yesterday arvo and it started playing up so I pulled over and put that igniter module on that my mate lent me and no problems! Took off felt a lot smoother power delivery and it even got very sideways when I got on boost out of a t junction. Actually surprised me lol. That seems to have fixed it for now but I'm going to leave it on for a week before I'm sold on that.

It only seems to do it when I'm in town and not moving very fast I'm guessing something is getting too much heat soak at low speeds and starts messing up but when I'm on the highways it must get enough airflow under the bonnet to keep it cool enough to operate. I'm going to chuck a thermometer under there for a few days and see if there's a significant difference in engine bay temps on the highway vs around town and try to fix that if there's a big difference.

I'll keep you posted anyway.

I was glad we caught up when i came home and was definately a fun car to go in. Will be alot better once you get the airflow meters sorted and can run more boost.

You've done a great job building it.