Peeps,

I purchased a motorbike at the start of the year and have been loving it - especially the parking benefits and fuel savings.

I've had a lot of different imports including a gtr, and the best one I've driven is my current Evo 8mr. I love it to death and not much will touch it through the twisties. Though I am paying a bank loan for it - and now that I'm based in town everyday parking has been a problem.. so I take the bike whenever it's not raining. Meaning that I'm paying a $35k premium for a car that I now only use on the weekends.

So I think I'm going to sell her and buy a much cheaper alternative. Though will definately consider buying another one when I'm better financially suited or stretch to a bncR34.

Naturally as an enthusist I'm not going to buy a Yaris and am fine living with an older car with a more interesting pedigre.

Ideally want something $5k - $10K (rather lower).

Cars in that range are GTST's (which I've previously owned), s13's (love the fact that its cheap parts central), 300Z's (which I dont want to touch),soarers (really hate autos though) etc

Though I'd like to try something different.. so

Honda CRX, Civic with b16a, integra, Toyota MR2 both the aw11 and the later model sw20, Celica GT4, V8 Holden, Starlet GT.. etc etc and others are options.

Anyone care to comment on previous experience or what would be the go or suggest any others I've missed.

Edited by CONRAD
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/

Turbo MR2 like this one are on carsales for 5k and similar - snap snap snappy oversteer

BlackDriver.jpg

CRX light, fun - a bit sh*t inside - though BANNNZAIII

Honda_CRX_rear_20081209.jpg

I've heard good things about these.

uk_vehicles.1975.1.jpg

One of these for 5/6K - love the engine - though don't want people questioning my sexuality

crx49qm.jpg

Edited by CONRAD
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5943110

ewwww. only school teachers who go out cruising for students on thursday night drive preludes....creepy....

go the CRX/civic/integra imo. its small enough to deal with the city crap you want. I Have a friend with a caldina, nice car but maintenance and turning circle arent good. stalet would work well.

which ever way you go about it...make sure you get something small enough with a good turning circle..as ive found these are the only 2 things you need in city or traffic....gawd i hate traffic....

if you intend on sitting on a grid locked highway for hours everyday i'd suggest a white auto mid nineties commonwhore. (fark i hate traffic...)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5943865

^^ That was a joke wasnt it? He said he doesnt want to have his sexuality questioned :P haha

Id go for the Civic/Integra. Dam cheap to run, and dont go tooooo bad considering. That, and parts are a dime a dozen.

VTEC! Dont insult it by spelling it like Ford.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5944159

At the risk of derailing this thread:

I'd avoid the FWD cars. FWD is poo. Go the S13 or the GTST. I reckon the 33 GTST is the most car for your dollar in that price range and the S13 is going to be something you can flog for cheap.

I'd take a turbo RWD GTST or S13 over a NA FWD Honda any day.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5944224

heaps of good cars to choose in price range...most already mentioned. some others which come to mind...series 4 mazda rx 7, ford kh tx3 4wd turbo,subaru liberty rs or late 90's impreza wrx....

Edited by rgr34
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5944411

Peeps,

I purchased a motorbike at the start of the year and have been loving it - especially the parking benefits and fuel savings.

I've had a lot of different imports including a gtr, and the best one I've driven is my current Evo 8mr. I love it to death and not much will touch it through the twisties. Though I am paying a bank loan for it - and now that I'm based in town everyday parking has been a problem.. so I take the bike whenever it's not raining. Meaning that I'm paying a $35k premium for a car that I now only use on the weekends.

So I think I'm going to sell her and buy a much cheaper alternative. Though will definately consider buying another one when I'm better financially suited or stretch to a bncR34.

Naturally as an enthusist I'm not going to buy a Yaris and am fine living with an older car with a more interesting pedigre.

Ideally want something $5k - $10K (rather lower).

Cars in that range are GTST's (which I've previously owned), s13's (love the fact that its cheap parts central), 300Z's (which I dont want to touch),soarers (really hate autos though) etc

Though I'd like to try something different.. so

Honda CRX, Civic with b16a, integra, Toyota MR2 both the aw11 and the later model sw20, Celica GT4, V8 Holden, Starlet GT.. etc etc and others are options.

Anyone care to comment on previous experience or what would be the go or suggest any others I've missed.

mx5, end thread

wont be gayer then anything you have mentioned.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5945092

At the risk of derailing this thread:

I'd avoid the FWD cars. FWD is poo. Go the S13 or the GTST. I reckon the 33 GTST is the most car for your dollar in that price range and the S13 is going to be something you can flog for cheap.

I'd take a turbo RWD GTST or S13 over a NA FWD Honda any day.

Yet another uninformed biased muppet with no idea

While the Civics aren't going to rock your world, they're a lot of fun and great for what they are (a 1.6L NA shopping trolley). In your price range they are hard to beat. Reliable, reasonably quick and lots of fun. I am yet to be beaten by a RWD turbo in my FWD Civic rally car, so they must have something going for them.

Of course FWD isn't for everyone, so test drive before you buy. If you can live with the shame of owning a FWD, then you won't go too far wrong with a B16a Civic / CRX.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5948575

In that budget I would also consider...

Series 4 Mazda FC RX-7

Suzuki Alto Works

6th Gen Mitsubishi Galant VR-4

8th Gen Pre-Facelift Legnum/Galant VR-4

Toyota Aristo

Toyota Supra MKIII

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5948846

RS Clio 172 isn't bad.

They are in the price range.Fun to drive

Mine has a Group N ecu and an exhaust. 14.2 sec 1/4 mile at the drags , 6.5L/100kms , goes around corners and stops very well. Take it to a track day and due to it's light weight the wear and tear is minimal on tyres and brakes.

No police attention, high safety rating to boot and plenty of laughs from making sceptical passengers poo themselves at the suprising accelleration , braking and cornering. :laugh:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5948873

RS Clio 172 isn't bad.

They are in the price range.Fun to drive

Mine has a Group N ecu and an exhaust. 14.2 sec 1/4 mile at the drags , 6.5L/100kms , goes around corners and stops very well. Take it to a track day and due to it's light weight the wear and tear is minimal on tyres and brakes.

No police attention, high safety rating to boot and plenty of laughs from making sceptical passengers poo themselves at the suprising accelleration , braking and cornering. :laugh:

:thumbsup:

Bought my 2002 Clio Sport 1.5 years ago for $9,500 with 55,xxx kms.

5088325499_c898ae43af.jpg

+ Leather / alcantara seats and trim

+ Xenons with auto-on

+ Rain sensing wipers

+ Climate control AC

+ 4 airbags

+ Fits mountain bike

+ 125kW in 1035kg body = good power/weight

+ 0-100km/h ~7.3 sec

+ ABS, EBD, later models also had ESP, cruise control

+ I average about 8.5 to 9.0 L/100km with mostly city driving

Downsides

- Had to do cambelt change due to age (not kms) - ~$2K

- JC5 Gearbox leaks common (usually slow leaks)

- Fit / finish can be a bit sketchy

- Steering wheels wear very badly

- Can be temperamental on cold starts

Mine's got a sunroof but those were pretty rare on 172s. Later 182s got cruise, larger 16" alloys and dual exhaust.

If you have any other Qs let me know. Sometimes I don't even mind leaving the GTR at home and taking the Clio through the twisties.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/372643-downsizing-car/#findComment-5949281