In OZ I suggest a larger trans cooler fullstop.... Summer time is a killer on most elements of this car....moreso on the gearbox and plenum temps.

No harm in putting in some kind of thermostat either for winter.

• Replies 183

Might get one of the B & M ones then, check out Jase's on the cruise and see what I think.

Keen on getting the IC sorted first so I can work out how much room there is :S

TONS!

Best thing I did was relocate the horns to the side, gives you a shedload of room to work with. I should really stop being so lazy and just take a decent photo. If I get time, I will tonight!

Jetwreck installed my shift kit yesterday arvo, while I got in the way and generally hid Allen keys for him...

When you open the box and see just what you get for your money, you'd be entitled to feel a little short-changed.

However, patience is a virtue, and it will be rewarded with a gearbox that simply provides the absolute best of all worlds! At light throttle openings; beautiful smooth but fast shifts, not harsh at all. At higher throttle openings (around 3-4000rpm) firm fast shifts with a nice squat from the rear as it picks the next gear.

At full throttle, shifting at Redline on damp roads, mine now squats down, shoves you into the seat and spins the rear wheels for a car length until the torque split throws power back to the front!

Yeaaah! That's what it should be like! This mod has just scraped off the veneer of respectability that the NM35 has, and I can now see the potential it must have with another 30% to 100% more power.

If you are tossing up whether to do this mod; DO IT! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!

If you are tossing up whether to do it yourself; have a good hard think, and honestly assess you mechanical ability. If you are not extremely confident in your ability; leave it for someone who is.

There are many small procedures that must be done correctly TO THE LETTER, if you get just one wrong; you could well be f##ked. If you lose one tiny detent ball, or lose a spring; you're going nowhere.

I watched Craig go through the entire process, and assisted at key points, and this is not a simple job. To be entirely confident, I'd be wanting to go through the whole thing again, with his assistance.

I estimate it would take me between 6-8 hours to do my first one; checking everything twice. It takes Craig around 4 hours.

I also used Nissan Matic-J at $69 for 5lt, rather than Nulon at $59 for 4lt. You need around 8lt, so you'll have enough left to do a transfer case flush as well.

Thanks again Craig for your efforts yesterday, I couldn't be happier, the car is f##king awesome!

Edited by Daleo

Nice Dale!

veneer of respectability - I like that!

Mine will be going in tomorrow - we'll see what changes they made in the GB with the TCU and things. I really don't need the shift kit at the moment- I find the behaviour of my gearbox to be fine. What I am pre-empting is that things will be radically different when it gets some boost in it over the next couple of months, and being on the dyno for a day I don't want the gearbox to expire.

I'd be interested to see what's the diff between the transgo kit and the kit I got. If its a huge difference I might shell out for one...$260 is farking cheap...

I can't remember what the stock transmission was like...all I know is that I never used the tiptronic mode before I had my shift kit installed...and now I use it all the time :whistling:

Just come back from my install with Jetwreck.

Can only echo everything that Dale has said above. At parts of the process my mind was boggling! There were differences in my gearbox- namely we had to lower the crossmember to allow access to a plug on the drivers side- that connects to the Transmission ECU, which is sitting in the gearbox. Difficult with the exhaust in the way.

Shifts are still sliky smooth for me on low throttle, while the gear box performs much more positively on upshifts at WOT. It doesn't have quite the same effect as Dales, but then again, I'm lacking boost! Once that changes, I'm sure it will come into its own!

All sealed up again after a bent pan rail sprung a leak.

Bit of a touch up with a hammer; all sorted. Also knocked over the transfer case fluid change.

Thanks again for the use of the hoist Craig; heaps easier than battling on the garage floor.

Beers are on me next time.

Fark this shift kit kicks arse!

Edited by Daleo

looking forward to a weeks break on this now as the next 4 kits wont be hear for a week.....I recounted....thats 7 NM35's and 1 PM35 I have done.......4 since Wednesday.

On other news guy's if you want kits I am after another 2 to add to the next buy.....to keep shipping costs down.

looking forward to a weeks break on this now as the next 4 kits wont be hear for a week.....I recounted....thats 7 NM35's and 1 PM35 I have done.......4 since Wednesday.

On other news guy's if you want kits I am after another 2 to add to the next buy.....to keep shipping costs down.

Well done mate; man on a mission!:thumbsup:

Get on this guys; this is my new favourite mod.