need some info in regards to a recent car accident.

My girlfriends brother was driving home from work. He was merging, and then crashed into the back of a 2010 ute. Now, "Rob" (the brother) provided his license info to the guy, however, the guy did not provide his to "Rob".

According to the police info line (131 444), you are not legally obliged to provide your license info...but whatever.

Now, i have been on the WA dept of Transport web page, and checked on the other guys car rego, It came back with:

Plate number 1c*w***

This vehicle registration is unregistered, expired, suspended or cancelled.

Now, the other driver, has sent many sms messages to "Rob" asking for money and what not, and "Rob" has replied in turn saying that he can get the cash, and he can have $600 for him on friday. but he doesnt know when he will have the rest, the guy has said things like, "lets say $900, and we'll call it a day, and you can pay me back once i find out how much its gonna be". The messages go on and on. Silly i know.

Now, my question: Is Rob (the brother) liable for the accident, as in, pay all damages etc etc?

Or

Because the car is unregistered, does he get off for that one reason?

The police info line suggested we log the crash on (www.crashreport.com.au), that way, it will go to the police so they can get involved, in the end, they will be the ones who decide if Dylan is responsible.

We are in the process of doing this very thing at the moment.

I guess it would come down to witnesses, but without them and it being reported at the time then the unrego'd car is classed as not legal to have been on the road in the first place (unless on a movement permit) so doesn't really have a leg to stand on.

Though I'd like to say "Rob" should just pay up because he couldn't drive in the first place and hit the other car, regardless of if it was rego'd. Learn to merge, it's really not that hard, if you can't then you shouldn't be allowed on the road.

Haha, Pete,

i agree with the last part, he is a fresh P plater too so that alone agrees with your statement,

I have emailed a few people (mickey and Syfon) as suggested above. So i shall see what replies i get.

need some info in regards to a recent car accident.

My girlfriends brother was driving home from work. He was merging, and then crashed into the back of a 2010 ute. Now, "Rob" (the brother) provided his license info to the guy, however, the guy did not provide his to "Rob".

According to the police info line (131 444), you are not legally obliged to provide your license info...but whatever.

Now, i have been on the WA dept of Transport web page, and checked on the other guys car rego, It came back with:

Plate number 1c*w***

This vehicle registration is unregistered, expired, suspended or cancelled.

Now, the other driver, has sent many sms messages to "Rob" asking for money and what not, and "Rob" has replied in turn saying that he can get the cash, and he can have $600 for him on friday. but he doesnt know when he will have the rest, the guy has said things like, "lets say $900, and we'll call it a day, and you can pay me back once i find out how much its gonna be". The messages go on and on. Silly i know.

Now, my question: Is Rob (the brother) liable for the accident, as in, pay all damages etc etc?

Or

Because the car is unregistered, does he get off for that one reason?

The police info line suggested we log the crash on (www.crashreport.com.au), that way, it will go to the police so they can get involved, in the end, they will be the ones who decide if Dylan is responsible.

We are in the process of doing this very thing at the moment.

You'll have to pay him as you are still liable for the damage. If you report it to the police they will probably charge the other guy with driving an unregistered car.

Edited by Dani Boi

Wait... Who's Dylan?

Dunno if this is relevant.. but I remember a case last year where a guy was turning right at some lights but didn't see a car coming in the opposite direction because it was pitch black, the other driver had a black car and didn't have his lights on. The guy turning right got T-boned and was determined to be "at fault" even though the other driver probably caused the accident by not having his lights on.

Like mentioned above, the driver of the car without headlights on was charged separately for not having his lights on but still had his car repaired at no cost to him as he was not "at fault" in the eyes of the insurer.

No worries guys,

I got a reply back from Mickey and its a fairly detailed response, which is good.

also, Dylan and Rob are the same person, Rather than mention his real name. I posted the same question on other forums and just replaced his name thats all

No worries guys,

I got a reply back from Mickey and its a fairly detailed response, which is good.

also, Dylan and Rob are the same person, Rather than mention his real name. I posted the same question on other forums and just replaced his name thats all

Just threw in his real name at the end there to confuse everyone? :P

The guy you hit is just trying to get out of being fined for driving an unregistered car by asking you for money straight up. If you claim it through insurance they'll probably report it to police. Depending on the excesses and the damage sustained to your mates car, I'd report it, why should he not pay for registration when the majority of Australia does...

i hate you guys.

haha

unreg car - tough shit. if the car is unreg then it's uninsured. he can take you to court or whatever but if he has no rego to be on the road then tough shit for him.

that said.

if "rob" is at fault, then fkn pay it. it's 600$. not the end of the world really.

it's easier to pay 600 bucks and send dipshit mcgee on his merry way than it is to:

worry about it

write forums posts about it

get other people like your sisters boyfriend or whatever involved

go to court

involve police

involve insurance

etc etc etc

all over $600.

i've filled up tanks of fuel worth more than that!

i hate you guys.

haha

unreg car - tough shit. if the car is unreg then it's uninsured. he can take you to court or whatever but if he has no rego to be on the road then tough shit for him.

that said.

if "rob" is at fault, then fkn pay it. it's 600$. not the end of the world really.

it's easier to pay 600 bucks and send dipshit mcgee on his merry way than it is to:

worry about it

write forums posts about it

get other people like your sisters boyfriend or whatever involved

go to court

involve police

involve insurance

etc etc etc

all over $600.

i've filled up tanks of fuel worth more than that!

You sir, have way too much money it would seem.

Wanna give me 6 hundgee?

If you pay the dude the cash monies to get it all over and done with, doesn't end up teaching the him a lesson which may then lead to him continuing to drive on the road thinking he can get away with driving an unregistered car.

The brother should pay but also take action, both parties learn the hard way and that's a better chance of having two less people be idiots on the road.

Ok, I'm going to say go through insurance too.

Paying him cash is sort've dodgy..... Especially when he's already driving an unrego'd car. Could claim you didn't pay him and stuff even though he doesn't really have a leg to stand on...

Edited by 10 4

Well, after further talking with the brother. It turns out that he was not insured either. Driving his mums car, so he was not covered on the insurance

so both parties are un insured