ok just dropping my view, i agree with ur saturday nite cruises no other cars other than skyline to promote the club, but thursday nites seems some of u dont mind others coming along, i love the sound and look of skylines.

but whens u's start saying if its not a skyline shouldnt be hear to me that sound as if u think ur better than anyone else cause u own a skyline. which in return goes back to the commodore drivers which think there better than anyone else cause they own a commodore, those people piss me off. not everyone has the budget to buy a skyline.

but also wat about those people which owned a skyline or lookin to buy one? u saying they can come along to enjoy the atmoshpere of it all when i tagged along last week didnt have the radio on listening to the turbos spool *drools*

i mean like i was gonna get a skyline but once insurance company hit me with the price of $3700 for NON turbo R33 i said *** that, reason was buying a new car to fix my turbo bug, so i went for the mr2 good value for money and cheaper on insurance than a siliva (not now though stuiped tree). but probley will look at a skyline in the future.

also Ska my turtle would have agree'd with this screwed rotarys and piston power go the flipper! :)

• Replies 150

Platinum.... It would only sound like we "think we are better than anyone else because we own skylines" if you are completely paraniod/defensive/etc. It is a Skyline Club, it is not a difficult concept to grasp. You also say that "not everyone has the budget to buy a skyline" This contradicts your other comment, as everyone has the budget to buy a commodore. Skylines are cheap anyway. You might have made some sense if you were talking about ferraris.

Nismo boy - you know ill tell you to f*ck off even if you are in a Skyline :)

Please guys, keep it mature, and making sense.

Maybe each cruise Thread should specify not only meeting point and destination , but also what can and can't go on the cruise , since we all have to read the thread no-one has an excuse for doing the wrong thing .

IE: THURS NIGHT CRUISE , 32nd march 2003

Meeting point : BP on SMITH ST at 8:15 leaving at 8:45

destination : Maccas at Millton 11:00 approx

RIDES : IMPORT NISSANS ONLY ( or SKYLINES ONLY , or IMPORTS ONLY or INVITE BY PM ONLY )

or something to this affect

MY 2% of $1 au

but whens u's start saying if its not a skyline shouldnt be hear to me that sound as if u think ur better than anyone else cause u own a skyline. which in return goes back to the commodore drivers which think there better than anyone else cause they own a commodore, those people piss me off. not everyone has the budget to buy a skyline.
Noone is saying that we think we're better than anyone else because we own Skylines... actually, I dunno why anyone would think that they're a better person just because of the car they drive. That's just stupid.

I think some of the non-Skyline drivers who are getting stroppy in here a reading this as though we're saying that they can't come on ANY cruises or other events. This is not the case! Although I feel that some events should be restricted to Skylines, we would still allow other vehicles to attend 'unrestricted' events.

Re not having the budget to buy a Skyline - you can pick up an Aus-spec R31 Skyline for a few grand, and stock R32s are similar money to a VP/VR Commodore.

Nismo Boy - if you turn up at an event that has been specified as a Skylines-only event, then yes, you've just wasted your fuel. A Porsche is not a Skyline. If you turn up at a meet that hasn't been made a Skylines-only thing, you would more than likely be welcomed into the group.

We are a Skyline club.

Our main focus is Skylines.

Why is this such a difficult concept?

I can't believe the amount of shit I've read. I got to page 3 and stopped.

Here are my points of view.

For 1, I was under the impression thursday nights were for socialising and catching up with people, not just to look and see other skylines... Please correct me if I'm wrong.

For 2, The impression I get from what I've read is that if Andrew and I turned up in Brutis, we wouldn't be accepted nor spoken to because it's not a skyline? Even though the skyline would be sitting in the driveway at home?

For 3, On specific events, IE the Massive Skyline Cruise, I wouldn't expect other cars to turn up. Hence why I've requested that the thread only be posted on this forum. To keep the wanker factor out.

For 4, Some of you talk about the wanker factor of the way people drive in other types of cars. Have some of you stopped and considered your own driving habits? I mean, come on, pot calling the kettle black.

I personally don't have an issue with people coming to general cruises that aren't Skyline specific (ie, thursday night cruises). I've attended many cruises that were VL Calais cruises, ford laser cruises, bike cruises... and we have always been welcomed because it wasn't a specific cruise.

I think some of you need to get off your high horse about owning a skyline. It's just Skyline! Another car in the big world of imports and performance cars.

:) (above)

Well I think all that obvious from this is there is definitely two sides to the fence here. Unfortunately I guess it will be the wingeing side will be the one that will have their sway with snide comments or other rudeness to turn others away anyhow. Bit disappointed to be honest.

Aren't these cruises held on public roads?

And anyway, if some load of bogans in a dunnydoor crash a skyline cruise and then act/drive like wankers, what is there to connect them with the skylines?

My feeling is that yes it is a skyline club, surely it is up to the organiser of the cruise to REQUEST vehicle types if he/she wants to, but if someone in a "non skyline" turns up and chooses to drive along the same route as everyone else... what can you do?

OK this is getting out of hand. I'll make it simple - READ THIS CAREFULLY.

1) We're ONLY excluding non-Skylines from the occasional Skyline-only event.

2) We don't think we're better than anyone else.

3) We don't think that Skylines are the best car in the world and that we are somehow better than anyone else for owning or driving one.

4) We're a Skyline club. What's wrong with having a few Skyline-only events??

5) What's the point in having a Skyline club if we don't focus on Skylines??

6) You don't need to own a Skyline to join the club.

I honestly don't see where the problem is. It's not like we're saying that if you drive a GTiR Pulsar or something that you're not allowed to socialise with SAU members. All we're saying is that, for specific, selected events, you have to be in a Skyline to take part. Is that so unreasonable? Geez people, get off your high horses and stop your whinging.

NismoGirl: You know we wouldn't snob you because you're not in a Skyline. You've been around for plenty long enough that most of us already know you anyway. If you're attending a Skyline-only event though, you should bring the Skyline.

Master_d: Of course you're welcome :) On a Skyline-only event (and I imagine that these would easily be outnumbered by the less restrictive events) though, it's not a Skyline, regardless of driveline.

Platinum.... It would only sound like we "think we are better than anyone else because we own skylines" if you are completely paraniod/defensive/etc.  It is a Skyline Club, it is not a difficult concept to grasp.  You also say that "not everyone has the budget to buy a skyline"  This contradicts your other comment, as everyone has the budget to buy a commodore.  Skylines are cheap anyway.  You might have made some sense if you were talking about ferraris.

Nismo boy - you know ill tell you to f*ck off even if you are in a Skyline :)

Please guys, keep it mature, and making sense.

Slip, you no I can always feel your love :)

I'm just happy to be out cruising and having fun, dont lose sight of the big picture, all this arguing and decision making is taking away from what should be happening, and that is everyone enjoying themselfs and having fun. Who really cares is anyone rocks on on a thursday night in whatever, thurday night is the best night to socialize and have fun with friends. Fair enough it's nice to have a skylines only cruise every now and then, but seriously if anyone is getting that worked and offended that another car is crusing then they shouldn't be on the cruise in the first place. Are you gonna tell your best mate who doesn't own a skyline he's not allowed to hang with you because of what car he has? I sure as hell wont, because having fun and being with mates means alot more to me than a having a skyline.

Erin - as Marc said, as if you would be shunned, be realistic, you know thats not the case.

Dynamix, if your mate owns a Festiva, just bring him in your car. " Are you gonna tell your best mate who doesn't own a skyline he's not allowed to hang with you because of what car he has?" Noone said you aren't allowed to have friends, if all you did in your life was go on SAU cruises, then it may pose a problem for the relationship between you and a mate, but I'm sure that SAU cruises would take up a very small percentage of time in your life, meaning that you wouldnt have to tell your mate he "can't hang with you".

Don't overreact guys, its a discussion, not an argument, and not the end of the world.

Nismo Boy - Im going to kiss you the next time I see you. Youve been warned.

By god what a bunch of ignorant, arrogant shits have appeared in THIS thread.

I've been to plenty of skyline cruises (lucky I was in a skyline at the time!) and I never thought I'd see some of the comments that are appearing in here. I just cant get my head around the fact there are so many high-horse comments coming from people who own a 10k-20k car. It is not some elite club that justifies having such an attitude.

I especially love the comments about other car owner driving like dickheads. Good son of rajab. Count the crashes and check the statistics huh? Last 3 mountain runs we've attended... Who crashed? ... 180sx, skyline (32 gtr), skyline (33 gtst iirc)...

As to the whole idea.... I really dont think it was worth bringing up. As someone said, they wouldnt turn up to a falcon cruise with their skyline, so what on earth makes you think falcons would turn up to a skyline cruise? And even if they did, why on earth does it matter? Do you really think there are so many people who idolise skylines so much that they will tag along? Some crazy-arse mental images you got going there. Most people couldnt give two squirts of piss for a skyline.

Argh anyway. I enjoyed the times I've been out (and omg omg omg omg there were OTHER CARS THERE TOO!@#!@#) but if this is honestly the attitude of the club as a majority, ya'll can go and get ****ed.

Don't want to ruin a friendship krawler but I disagree with some of your points..

I just cant get my head around the fact there are so many high-horse comments coming from people who own a 10k-20k car. It is not some elite club that justifies having such an attitude.

Maybe not an elite club but a skylines club none the less...

As someone said, they wouldnt turn up to a falcon cruise with their skyline, so what on earth makes you think falcons would turn up to a skyline cruise?

It's been happening with an annoying regularity, hence this thread got started..

Do you really think there are so many people who idolise skylines so much that they will tag along? Some crazy-arse mental images you got going there.

Not mental images... Real life facts... EVO83 is a prime example...

In the end I think Revheads ideas on different rules for different cruises is probably the way to go... I used to be against anything other than Nissans on our Thurs meets but I have "seen the light" and I'm quite happy to have others come along for the social aspect...

okay adding my view... if a skyline cruise has been arranged... then you'd expect only skylines to come... for thoes who don't have a skyline hitch a ride with someone that does have one.....

i reckon skyline cruise = skyline cruise

my 3 cents...... 2cents is worthless in australia.... it just gets rounded down to nothing!

Paulie_Bro

I think that is the most level headed post I have seen in this thread. Good on ya.

Just remember guys, what do you type in to get on these forums.... www.skylinesau..........

I think that should say enough.

I myself at the moment do not own a skyline, but if there is a skyline only event then I will either hitch a ride or take Marc's car, if he's not going. I am not going to turn up in the beemer. If I cant hitch a ride or get a car then I miss out, see you on the next one...

Th usual Thurs night runs, sure, I'll bring the beemer if I need to. We are talking about a few get together events per year, I really can't see what the big deal is. And as Marc said the membership for asks you what type of car do you drive? I think this opens the club up for anyone to join, get all the benefits but there will be a few events that you will need to bring a skyline or hitch a ride in one.

Please tell me if there is another car club that does not have the same rules.

Gary