• Replies 204

No offence but why are you looking at all that shit when you can pickup an r33 gtst for under 5k???

Their a bit more than a 5k in perth ... and the only ones around that price are auto

by getting something like a R31/civic/pulsar im hoping that I can get a better example of one which wont have as many problems ..

for example my old excel only had very minor problems with it

thats the idea neway!

http://perth.gumtree...QAdIdZ317221068

no doubt full of bog and ready for more yes.gif

I saw this up for sale a few months ago for alot more if i remember ..

I'm going to check out the 2 manual R31s (one is a silo!), the SR20DET n14, and the 76 celica soon i hope!

*edit* im almost getting sick of gumtree lol haven't looked up any cars for the past few days

Edited by Jonno34

didnt read the 10 pages and im not sure what there worth in perth, but i had a gtir for a while and i tell you what, that was one of the most enjoyable cars i have owned, bit of boost, fuel reg, exhaust and a tune, the thing boogied, heaps of fun, wouldnt say it was the strongest car ive owned as you need to baby them a little bit, but these can be had for 5000 if you have the cash easily and would be my choice if i was after a fun car with a $5000 budget

• 10 months later...

I've just bought my old Mazda MX6 turboback for 700, sold it for 4 and my mate rebuild the engine, replaced heaps of stuff like bushes and wheel bearings and yeah was gonna trade it on his new car but offered it to me for the trade in price... Anyway if you can find a manual one of these in good they're always under 5k and some times I think i had more fun in that than my skyline (i'll find out when i get it back) coz it's so scary being a front wheel drive turbo, but boy did it grip when ya finally needed it too lol

Edited by RSFOURDayz

Jonno - I am yet to get the focus over to you for its detail, but maybe it would be worth showing you the genuine 2 owner datsun 1200 ute I picked up for $3K?

Sure, its not a ground pounder, but with a few bucks dropped into the front end for ball joints etc, and a good service, it is without a doubt, the most fun car I have ever driven, and when it cops the dogleg 5 speed and 32/36 weber in the next few weeks, it will be even more fun :P

My point is, dont be afraid to go for an early car. Datsuns in particular have a massive cult following, and I can buy pretty much any part I want off the shelf. Even hand made replacement panels for rust repairs etc are all available on ebay, and the car specific forums have SO much info on them, I reckon its the best way to get your hands dirty and learn some stuff about cars there is.

Jonno - I am yet to get the focus over to you for its detail, but maybe it would be worth showing you the genuine 2 owner datsun 1200 ute I picked up for $3K?

Sure, its not a ground pounder, but with a few bucks dropped into the front end for ball joints etc, and a good service, it is without a doubt, the most fun car I have ever driven, and when it cops the dogleg 5 speed and 32/36 weber in the next few weeks, it will be even more fun :P

My point is, dont be afraid to go for an early car. Datsuns in particular have a massive cult following, and I can buy pretty much any part I want off the shelf. Even hand made replacement panels for rust repairs etc are all available on ebay, and the car specific forums have SO much info on them, I reckon its the best way to get your hands dirty and learn some stuff about cars there is.

There is absolutely nothing you could say to Jonno that would convince him to buy a car without air con.

$5k gtst = brain annurism when you get it home and find you have to replace everything on the thing

I disagree a bit. A mate of mine just secured an absolutely immaculate 32 for 6k with 90xxx km's. I trust the KM's too, the car looks like it has barely been sat in and the whole car is really amazing.

It was imported in 1998 and I think it sat there without much interest coz someone put an uleh kit on it and painted it a weird orange. Much easier to change the kit and respray it then to go through the BS that I've done with my car, though. Still not complaining with my car, it was a bargain.

$5k gtst = brain annurism when you get it home and find you have to replace everything on the thing

Dissagree also, my first Skyline was an R33 GTSt Sedan, got it for $4,000 with 180,000ks on it and not a think wrong with it.

Quite a few cars available from 'oldies'

...so long as they're not just an 'owner by name only' as a guise for their child/grandchild.

Best way to check that is by way of checking the contents of the glove box and turning on the last radio station listened to and the genre of CD that's in there.

They're often owners of Preludes, Corollas, Getz, Jazz, Accord etc.

Oldies usually ask for too much and resist the 'face to face' offer; but they often relent on the follow-up phone call.

I'm 63 and my Mum is 86 so I've been through all the above hehe...