SAU Nationals Road Trip

This is just an unoffical SAU cruise where we can enjoy the trip together and make a long trip much more enjoyable. The whole trip takes about 8 hours without stops so we will need to meet up early and leave strictly on time.

I've given about 15 minutes of buffer for each of the scheduled stops. The idea is that if you REALLY want a certain type of fuel or have to pee, then stop and meet us at the next location. We won't be stopping at each servo on the way to Yass. So between Pheasants Nest and Yass if you want to stop just meet up again at Yass. As long as you are quick and don't dilly dally you should be fine. We have two longer breaks - for meeting up in Yass and then a quick lunch & Pit stop in Albury.

What to bring:

Be sure to be prepared for a solid 8 hours of driving. Have brekkie before we meet up and have your sunscreen on - nothing worse than truck driver tan!

Also a good idea to have some drinks, snacks and a pack lunch as we won't have much time for stops on the road - just a quick potty stop here and there.

If you have a CB bring it along so we can chat along the way with an extra set or two of batteries. Most only last 4-6 hrs on a set. Or better if you have a ciggy adapter.

THE PLAN: Google Map Version (Link)

Sydney Meeting Point:

Starting Location: Pheasants Nest Mobile

Starting Time: Will leaving on Friday 28th October.

Meet up @ 7:00 for a 7:30 AM SHARP! departure.

We WILL leave right at 7:30 am so don't miss the bus.

Remember we are on a strict schedule to meet up with the Canberra people at meeting point #2.

Canberra Convoy Catch-up:

Starting Location: Caltex Truck Stop @ Yass off Hume Hwy

Meet up Time: Meet up @ 10:15 AM for a 10:30 departure.

Fast Fuel & Pit stop in Albury:

Arrival Time in Albury: 2:10

Activity: Fuel stop of choice and just a few minutes for lunch

Meeting Point: Aquatic Centre

Departure time: 2:30 SHARP! Don't be tardy!

Arrival in Shepparton: 4:40 pm

Now check into your hotel, have a quick tidy up and meet up for the pre-SAU Nats festivities!

Detailed Driving Instructions: (As from Google maps)

Mobile @ Pheasants Nest on Hume Hwy Starting Point

Shell Truck Stop on Hume Hwy (Optional) 55 km – about 35 mins

BP Truck Stop @ Marulan on Hume Hwy (Optional) 25.5 km – about 16 mins

Caltex Truck Stop @ Yass on Hume Hwy 114 km – about 1 hour 13 mins

Yass to Albury on Hume Hwy 302 km – about 3 hours 41 mins

Albury to Shepparton via Hume Freeway 173 km – about 2 hrs 7 mins

Sydney Meeting Point - Mobile @ Pheasants Hill

Fullscreen%252520capture%25252010092011%25252091402%252520AM.jpg

Canberra Meeting Point - Yass Caltex & Maccas off Hume Hwy

Fullscreen%252520capture%25252010092011%25252074003%252520PM.jpg

Albury Meeting Point - Aquatic Centre Car Park (End of Hume street)

Fullscreen%252520capture%25252010092011%25252071948%252520PM.jpg

The Trip Route:

Fullscreen%252520capture%25252010092011%25252073729%252520PM.jpg

• Replies 127

great burgers? +1 for amending trip to include these...

great work Eric, are you still going to try and shoot this video along the way? how about some twisty bits thrown in?

just m 2cents, will be there either way.

Video of trip down & along the way - Yes!

Twisty bits, well it's a long day and if we want to take an extra hour for a burger stop (I'm in favor too!) then we won't really have time.

But I may ask a few folks to take a go-pro and "talk to the camera" a bit on the way down.

Last time we did a large drive to shepp (about 20 people) it took SO LONG because of stops and bullshit - my advice would be to do the touristy stuff on the way home if it needs to be done, that way anyone who's not interested can just keep on going and also there's no rush to be anywhere because the event is over :)

Video of trip down & along the way - Yes!

Twisty bits, well it's a long day and if we want to take an extra hour for a burger stop (I'm in favor too!) then we won't really have time.

But I may ask a few folks to take a go-pro and "talk to the camera" a bit on the way down.

i just bought a driftcam pro, can also contribute a go pro HD and two handycams if that helps :)

really should go pay for my trackday tickets too for this thing..as for twisty bits, fair point with distance we are going. we are going to at least sit on 119km/hr on the freeway right? will save us at least X amount of minutes over the day...:P

I have to update the trip. New plan is to have lunch at the half way cafe instead of in Albury.

We'll still have a fuel stop in Albury but meeting point will change. I'll try to figure out our timing for you Humbla - but given the number of cars and length of the trip, I don't know how accurate will be. PM me your cell number and I can SMS you from one of our stops.

Ok so last night started to update but stupid windows update crashe my machine! ARGH!

Will update by the weekend.