Any Fishing Fenatics In Here?

33GTRV

Hey guys, i surely cant be alone in my fishing hobbie? anyone out there in qld get into thier sportfishing or catch and release fishing?

I do, love this time of year for fantastic barramundi, mangrove jack and queenfish. My weapons of choice are a Gary Howard carbon custom shinji rod, 4-7kg and a shimano carbom CI-4 with 20lb finns and a Shimano T-curve and Stella 8000f with 40lb Power Pro.

Cheers, Allan

• Replies 85

When Im in your part of the world with work Im loving the fishing

My PENN 950 with 50lb braid/leader/trace on a PENN steel tip pro 7' rod for the sharkies, a ABU GARCIA cardinal with 20lb mono for bait for the sharkies, and a little SHIMANO PX2000 on a JARVIS WALKER travel mate with 8lb for spinning in the shallows whilst I wait for the PENN or ABU to scream.

Best Ive had was at Mapoon FNQ, hooked everything, even got a Saw Fish off the beach, which of course was released. Reefs, Whalers, Hammer Heads, Barra, Queens, Jacks in the rivers and 11ty million breams, I even got a grouper on hand line, awesome trip, Ill look for some pics, post up you pics to motivate me to get up there again.

P.S Sydney fishing is rubbish. :down:

3 of the 3000 fish I got in 09, its been to long between drinks.

Ive got 3 mths long service leave next year though, me thinks its time again.

Just got to watch out for the Crocs, almost got eaten trying to get the stupid Grouper back in the water, LOL.

Ah I think I might join in this convo.

I have a bit of an arsenal of fishing gear - I'm a loyal Raphala fan...

A few recent piccies of some catch on the goldie. You never have a phone/camera for your good catches, but here are a few anyway

50cm breambo

post-50568-0-18660200-1320559701_thumb.jpg

Good tailor - Can't remember size

post-50568-0-57522600-1320559746_thumb.jpg

Couple of jewies

post-50568-0-52699600-1320559835_thumb.jpg

Never seem to have a camera/phone when on the water :(

Love fishing, when ever I get the chance (rarely these days) I plan for it (tides etc). I usually go over to stradbroke island for it though.

I cant get enough of land based game fishing, mainly sharks lol! Id post up some pics but they all got destroyed in the floods early this year :(

I caught an 8ft leopard shark off the amity point jetty when I was 15! But I still like fishing for anything really, I like using lures its a bit of a challenge.

Ive been away all weekend on the hunt, up mission point with the boat and jetski...

Weather was not the best Saturday, but as long as there is water and something is biting im happy...

I dont take unless im going to eat it, so most of what we catch goes back... About 95% of whats hooked goes back i reckon...

Im just in it for the fresh air and the time spent with friends...

i'll normally only take 1 or 2 for eating and throw back the rest normally just off the jetty or the river bank when i get the chance to.

Although most of the time i go i don't catch much at all

Anyone done some Brisbane river fishing? I know traditionally its not known as a fishing area... but wow... a few years back I randomly went fishing (Near breakky creek) because the misses family wanted to go there so I thought I'd bring a little rod - wow, there are some BIG fish around (ignoring sharks). Heaps of body sized Cod. 1-2m salmon. Tonnes of good sized bream for the young ones if you have them. Big flatty and even caught a little snapper there!!

Not sure if you guys remember how much of a shark grounds the Brisbane river was back when the old fish markets used to throw all their scraps in. But my old man caught a 5m Mako shark on a hand line. Took him out to sea for 2 hours before he could finally bring it up to shoot it in the head. Shared it with his mates and we all ate it for weeks.

I'm actually headed to the spit on the 18th with my Brothers. So if anyone feels like some fishing company on that day!

MLR, that is a beautiful queensland groper. They are such a good looking fish. Speaking of qlg groper, the biggest ive ever caught was in the brissie river ;) There are some MONSTER cod and groper in that river. Went out last night to a popular little spot on the calliope river and managed to snag 4 barra, one went a 1015mm, the others were 707mm, 691mm and 530mm and managed to jag an absolute horse of a jack, went 640mm, absolutely georgeous fish for the rivers. Going back tonight with a camera to see if i can get some snaps on the brag mat for bragging rights :) Trying to convince the wife to let me upgrade one of my outfits, its like asking her to get her tits cut off lol. She never understands lol

Cheers, Allan.

PS. if anyone is ever up this way and wants a quick session out on the water, shoot me a PM and if im available and the tides and moon phases are good we will go and harass a few fish :)

Anyone done some Brisbane river fishing? I know traditionally its not known as a fishing area... but wow... a few years back I randomly went fishing (Near breakky creek) because the misses family wanted to go there so I thought I'd bring a little rod - wow, there are some BIG fish around (ignoring sharks). Heaps of body sized Cod. 1-2m salmon. Tonnes of good sized bream for the young ones if you have them. Big flatty and even caught a little snapper there!!

Not sure if you guys remember how much of a shark grounds the Brisbane river was back when the old fish markets used to throw all their scraps in. But my old man caught a 5m Mako shark on a hand line. Took him out to sea for 2 hours before he could finally bring it up to shoot it in the head. Shared it with his mates and we all ate it for weeks.

I'm actually headed to the spit on the 18th with my Brothers. So if anyone feels like some fishing company on that day!

Yeah I caught a 1m threadfin fishing in the brissy river. I get the shits fishing in there most of the time as there is way too many catfish. If you go out to the port you can get jewies and even the rare snapper- I havent caught one yet though.

Lol some vietnamese guys caught a huge and I mean freaking huge eel out of the moggill creek catchment (or whatever its called) near my old mans place. It must have been at least 6m long, I'm pretty sure they ate it too as they were filleting it when I saw them.

Edited by Silvia GTR

Yeah I caught a 1m threadfin fishing in the brissy river. I get the shits fishing in there most of the time as there is way too many catfish. If you go out to the port you can get jewies and even the rare snapper- I havent caught one yet though.

Lol some vietnamese guys caught a huge and I mean freaking huge eel out of the moggill creek catchment (or whatever its called) near my old mans place. It must have been at least 6m long, I'm pretty sure they ate it too as they were filleting it when I saw them.

Yep, the salmon in there is not in short supply thats for sure.

My wife is viet so I go fishing with her Dad and his mates quite a bit. I'll be the odd Aussie guy with a bunch of viet's lol. Man, they have some odd ways of doing things, but they know what they are doing. They tend to enjoy their eel... I don't touch the stuff lol - they always try to get me to eat it... They go to a lot of effort to eat it and even prefer it over fish say like whiting and pearch.

Been doing a bit of fishing up in northern Japan (NE tip of Hokkaido) as Sept~Oct was salmon spawning season.

Plenty of easy fish to catch but biggest hassle is not to get eaten by bears.

Its an absolute must to have at least 2 of you, one person can fish and one to keep an eye out spotting bears as they are on the hunt feeding up for winter.

Every year a few people get eaten !!

I've fished a couple times down under the story bridge off a mates yatch he lives on, always get some decent sized fish there, i don't eat it though.

On eel, its boney and oily, only eat it if your really hungry.

Caught a couple squire out around Mud island a couple weeks ago, mate got a decent size jew fish there too, also got a stingray

well, what a night, went out with a cast net, grabbed me half a dozen live baits and got absolutely bloody smashed by barra. there were that many you could shine the torch into the drink and see the red eyes everywhere! biggest went 1012mm and 21.6kg last night, i have a picture but i cant get it on here :( had an absolute ball, but no jack were to be had last night. Tides were a little wrong, tonight is a primo tide for the fellas though. So, any tips on how to upload pictures? i tried the way nismoid instructed but she wont work lol

Cheers, Allan

A japanese fishing trip at its best hey?

Caught a couple squire out around Mud island a couple weeks ago, mate got a decent size jew fish there too, also got a stingray

Mud island has a small reef on one side of it - some decent fishing there. I think recently there has been a ban on fishing there though. Might be worth checking that up as that local reef can really pack a fish

biggest went 1012mm and 21.6kg last night

So, any tips on how to upload pictures?

Man, you have to upload this one.

Go to "Reply" and the page reloads. Once reloaded there as a big reply box and there should be a small section under this reply box which says "choose file" click that button and select your photo to upload then press "Attach this file". It will upload the photo to the reply, but then you will see a small icon of your photo and must click 'add to post'. So its a small process. You will see a small amount of code in your reply box - That's when you know the photo will appear.

Been doing a bit of fishing up in northern Japan (NE tip of Hokkaido) as Sept~Oct was salmon spawning season.

Its an absolute must to have at least 2 of you, one person can fish and one to keep an eye out spotting bears as they are on the hunt feeding up for winter.

Every year a few people get eaten !!

Combining fishing and hunting? Sounds like win.

You cant hunt the bears as they are protected but they sure can hunt you.

They have been coming into towns quite a lot this year as looking for easy food.

There are plenty of deer around and even though they are protected as well I have a couple of dodgy Japanese mates(ones with parts of missing fingers) who pack the odd compound bow int the car on fishing trips.

They make bloody good eating.

Couple of bears that wandered too close to town and got shot and stuffed...

P9130099.jpg