erik Posted December 5, 2011 Share Posted December 5, 2011 after installing a series 2 front bumper to my series 1.5 the indicators flash twice as fast. I noticed the lights in the indicator are 5w t10 wedges and the old ones are the bigger 21w festoon style, so i think the less resistance is making it blink faster Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
erik Posted December 5, 2011 Author Share Posted December 5, 2011 would i have to just replace the flasher relay? With one out of a s2 r33? Also where do i find the relay itself Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6139520 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Socrates Posted December 5, 2011 Share Posted December 5, 2011 maybe not the relay but the resistance sensor, you're on the right track. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6139552 Share on other sites More sharing options...
erik Posted December 5, 2011 Author Share Posted December 5, 2011 any idea where i could find it? i thought it would of been in the fusebox in the engine bay and the cover says it should be in there but it's empty Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6139646 Share on other sites More sharing options...
markdem Posted December 5, 2011 Share Posted December 5, 2011 the sensor will probably be part of the ecu. i'd try to change the resistance of the circuit before i went trying to modify an ecu. but im not sure how your gonna go about lowering the resistance. maybe a 21W wedge type bulb? if they exist? i dunno. google... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6139768 Share on other sites More sharing options...
erik Posted December 5, 2011 Author Share Posted December 5, 2011 i don't think it would be in the ecu, i spoke to a guy at an auto-one and he tried to sell me the original resistor, but obviously that wouldn't fix it. That does mean it is just a 3 pin resistor that i need to find. New question! If i convert all my indicators to LEDs can i just buy a resistor made for them? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6139787 Share on other sites More sharing options...
t_revz Posted December 5, 2011 Share Posted December 5, 2011 turn on indicators and follow the clicking noise to the flasher unit. once you know if it has 2 or 3 terminals then go to an auto sparky or supercheap etc and get an electronic flasher unit. flasher usually looks like a small silver can electronic ones flash at the same speed regardless of load Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6140446 Share on other sites More sharing options...
markdem Posted December 5, 2011 Share Posted December 5, 2011 turn on indicators and follow the clicking noise to the flasher unit. once you know if it has 2 or 3 terminals then go to an auto sparky or supercheap etc and get an electronic flasher unit. flasher usually looks like a small silver canelectronic ones flash at the same speed regardless of load i like that idea! id take a look into doing that if someone tries to sell you a resistor to place in there, slap them. your new bulbs have more resistance than the old ones. putting more resistance in the line will only make things worse. if t_revs idea doesnt work i suggest making a short circuit with an appropriate resistor in parallel to the indicator circuit Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6140546 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony de Wonderful Posted December 5, 2011 Share Posted December 5, 2011 Does anyone know where the relay thingy is on the R33 and is it 2 or 3 pin? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6140621 Share on other sites More sharing options...
t_revz Posted December 5, 2011 Share Posted December 5, 2011 prob in the fuse panel in the cab or under the steering wheel. ive never had to go looking for mine so im unsure Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6140684 Share on other sites More sharing options...
erik Posted December 6, 2011 Author Share Posted December 6, 2011 it's a 3 pin, not sure if the positive is on the left or right though i purchased all new LED lights and a led flasher, it sounds like it's just the electronic type. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6141976 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mr031 Posted December 6, 2011 Share Posted December 6, 2011 if you are looking for it, just put on the indicators and you will hear it. if using just leds get a led flasher unit Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6142014 Share on other sites More sharing options...
erik Posted December 6, 2011 Author Share Posted December 6, 2011 http://myworld.ebay.com.au/jagtradingonline/?_trksid=p4340.l2559 Link to ebay store i used, they seem legit. i like that idea! id take a look into doing that if someone tries to sell you a resistor to place in there, slap them. your new bulbs have more resistance than the old ones. putting more resistance in the line will only make things worse. if t_revs idea doesnt work i suggest making a short circuit with an appropriate resistor in parallel to the indicator circuit sorry mate, from my understanding it would be the same either way? so a resistor would fix it but i'd prefer to just replace the flasher unit with an electric one seems better than mucking around with wires and resistors Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6142018 Share on other sites More sharing options...
76GTR Posted December 8, 2011 Share Posted December 8, 2011 What happens when you turn on the hazard lights? True the turn signal relay relies on load in the circuit turn off and on at a steady pace. Are all the turn signal lights working and are you using LED bulbs in the circuit. There is a black relay under the dash near the steering colum. Hope this is any help. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6145250 Share on other sites More sharing options...
erik Posted December 8, 2011 Author Share Posted December 8, 2011 when i put the hazards on the flash normally, all the lights are working and none of them are LEDs however i had a series 1.5 had big 21w globes and the series 2 bar has little 5w T10 wedges. so that would be what's tricking it into blinking quick. thanks, now i kinda know where to look Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6145298 Share on other sites More sharing options...
76GTR Posted December 9, 2011 Share Posted December 9, 2011 I've got a r33 gtr and the front indicators globes are a 18w t10 wedge type globe. Maybe try them. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6145696 Share on other sites More sharing options...
erik Posted December 9, 2011 Author Share Posted December 9, 2011 i've already ordered a full set of led globes and an electronic flasher unit, but thanks for the suggestion, i didn't know you could get the t10 in 18 watt Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6145863 Share on other sites More sharing options...
76GTR Posted December 9, 2011 Share Posted December 9, 2011 Sorry mate my mistake they are a t15, 16w globe, it's also used as a high mount stop light globe Cheers Clynton Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6146541 Share on other sites More sharing options...
erik Posted December 12, 2011 Author Share Posted December 12, 2011 ahh ok, no worries Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/384907-r33-indicators-flashing-too-quick/#findComment-6149082 Share on other sites More sharing options...