Hi guys, this may sound super noob but would like to find our anyway. Would like to add a boost controller on the car n would like to know if the boost hi n low will be dyno tuned? Another question is, doing controller then front mount intercooler a good way to go? Thanks heaps

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/385276-noob-r33-gtst-s1-question/

stock r33 ecus cant be tuned and when adding high boost it will go into rich and retard and will not give u proper boost.either a remapped ecu or nistune are the cheaper options but u will also need aftermarket coil packs and regapped spark plugs for better performance.the list goes on.do a search u will find all ur answers there or go and see a reputable tuner

that makes it sound a bit worse than it is. you can easily run 11 or 12psi safely without any issues and you will see noticable gains without needing a tune.

have u seen wat happens wen u do it on a dyno?or road tune?

yup. had my 33 running the stock ecu with a front mount cooler, cat back and running about 12psi (and the timing advanced a few degrees) and it made just over 200kw at the wheels (204kw to be exact) on a dyno and AFRs weren't that rich (no richer than at lower boost levels). a mate made 177kw from his 33 at similar boost on the same dyno, but his engine was a bit worn and it had a remapped ecu (was in the car when he bought it, so no idea what it was tuned for).

oh and i forgot to say, you only need aftermarket coils and plugs if the stock ones are cactus. my mates 33 that made 177kw, i installed a larger turbo on it and tuned the ecu he got for it and it made 250kw with the stock coils and copper spark plugs gapped at 0.8mm

yup. had my 33 running the stock ecu with a front mount cooler, cat back and running about 12psi (and the timing advanced a few degrees) and it made just over 200kw at the wheels (204kw to be exact) on a dyno and AFRs weren't that rich (no richer than at lower boost levels). a mate made 177kw from his 33 at similar boost on the same dyno, but his engine was a bit worn and it had a remapped ecu (was in the car when he bought it, so no idea what it was tuned for).

oh and i forgot to say, you only need aftermarket coils and plugs if the stock ones are cactus. my mates 33 that made 177kw, i installed a larger turbo on it and tuned the ecu he got for it and it made 250kw with the stock coils and copper spark plugs gapped at 0.8mm

thats interesting cause i asked my tuner if i could rum 11psi boost with a stock ecu,3.5" exhaust,r34 smic (im now running a fmic) and stock turbo and he said it it would go into rnr and that there are no real gains to be made.

the 204kw u made in ur r33 was it a safe tune so to speak its not goin to blow ur motor or turbo in the near future?

thats interesting cause i asked my tuner if i could rum 11psi boost with a stock ecu,3.5" exhaust,r34 smic (im now running a fmic) and stock turbo and he said it it would go into rnr and that there are no real gains to be made.

the 204kw u made in ur r33 was it a safe tune so to speak its not goin to blow ur motor or turbo in the near future?

11psi shouldn't put the car into rnr, however every car is different. most cars don't hit it until up around 13psi. this is also the limit of what is safe to run on the stock turbo without drastically shortening it's life. this is well documented on this forum. plenty of people will tell you that the stock turbo stops making power at around 12 or 13psi, but that is totally wrong. this is generally said by people who have never tried it and have simply read it on a forum (written by other people who have never tried it and simply read it on a forum too) and they take it as gospel. but i digress.

the 204kw i made in my 33 was on the stock ecu, so it was as safe as any stock ecu (safer than most aftermarket tunes). the AFR's were in the mid 10's at high rpm, so plenty of head room if it started to lean out. it was on the verge of hitting rnr though as there were 2 slight dips on the graph. i'd had to back the boost down by about 1psi on the way to the dyno as it had hit rnr. as for blowing the motor, the stock motor is safe at 200kw. the general concensus is that 300kw is the upper limit of the stock motor (you can make more power than that on the stock motor but it won't last long). it was the upper limit of what's safe for the stock turbo though. having said that i got a hold of a remapped ecu without rnr and was running 14/15psi for about a year with no problems. never had it on the dyno with that ecu (had checked the AFR's with a mates wideband though and they were safe). definitely had more power though. one day i wound the boost back down to 11psi and put the stock ecu back in and it felt much slower.