Hey Chaps,

Yesterday I got back from Port Augusta, on the way home my car got absolutely peppered with Bugs. I'm talking roasted crickets here. So today being as hot as it was, I decided to take it through the auto wash at my local Caltex in Morphett Vale. I'm not a massive fan of using auto car washes but I have used this one several times in the past as a last minute thing and never had any issues. when the bristle arm was cleaning my rear windscreen, it didn't go around my spoiler like it usually does, it just chopped straight through it lifting it straight off the car and breaking the screw holes off completely.

As you can imagine, my blood pressure nearly ignited and I went into the servo to complain. the guy behind the counter wrote down what happened and then gave me a complaints number to call (of course they aren't open til Tuesday) Tried calling my insurance company (Just Car) and they were also closed.

After speaking to a few people about it, all seem to have different opinions. Some think that the servo will accept no liability for damage to the vehicle, others say that I should just get it repaired and send them the bill. As I have never experienced this before, I wanted to know what you guys think. I'll never be getting my car washed by machine again, however as I said, this has never happened before and the car usually comes out looking quite good afterwards.

James.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/386985-spoiler-torn-off/

I have always wondered about the brush washes with the roof spoiler so I use big bucket at darlington as it has touch free washing and manual bays. Your going to have to get it fixed anyway, so go through insurance or ask their opinion, otherwise go for what you can. You might get lucky.

Just ring your insurance company, they have more clout with these operators, there was a thing on tele that i saw last night and the sleezy operator didn`t want anything to do with him and there is no recource.

Your insurance company will do the job and you wont loose your no claim bonus.

Fair to say that, unless otherwise stated or signposted, you should be able to expect to go through a car wash without it damaging your car.

I'd send it on to your insurance. You may have to pay the excess in the short term but should get it refunded when the car wash pays up.

Hope you don't have any trouble getting them to pay up; I hate it when cars get damaged like that.

The carwash I have near me, states on the ticket that cars with spoilers and mag wheels should not use the carwash as they can be damaged; I'm not sure how you'd go in a situation like that. I suspect it probably weeds out the bulk complaints but I'm not sure if it's ironclad.

Ok so after hours on hold today, I got told by Caltex that they will not cover it because it's aftermarket. I basically told them that I don't give a shit whether it's aftermarket or not. I use the carwash all the time and also use the servo at least 3 times a week.

I hung up and spoke to Just Car, they advised me to call Caltex back and tell them that the spoiler was stock as they won't actually send an assessor out to see the vehicle. They also advised that even if Caltex decline the claim once i get the quotes, Just Car will look at waiving my Excess. As I'm only 23, my excess is quite large for a minor repair such as this. I used to work in a panel shop and reckon it'll be in the ballpark of about 500-700 inclusive of labour.

Called Caltex back, told them that it was stock and managed to get my claim conditionally approved based on quotes. Now just need to find some time to get a couple of quotes to have the car repaired.

I've used Hounslow Crash Repairs at Christies Beach for a couple of other cars and he did a great job on them. If anyone has any other recommendations of decent panel shops, please let me know, prefer south of the city due to travel.

Cheers for all the help guys, will let you all know as the situation progresses.

James

two places i have found good, are eagle paint and panel on port rd, installed and painted body kit on previous car, and silver's motor bodies at windsor gardens if ur willing to travel a little but do a really go job. they do exotic cars there, had my whole front end replaced by them in my last car after a crash nd handled better afterwards. (will probably be the most expensive quote as well)

Hey fella,

Bad news about your spoiler,

I have a spare rs4 rear spoiler in pearl white if you need, good condition.

Good luck with your insurance,

It is a good excuse to get something a bit more to your personal taste.

Do you still have the broken one? get some fibreglass kit from an auto or hardware shop and build something radical?

Hey fella,

Bad news about your spoiler,

I have a spare rs4 rear spoiler in pearl white if you need, good condition.

Good luck with your insurance,

It is a good excuse to get something a bit more to your personal taste.

Do you still have the broken one? get some fibreglass kit from an auto or hardware shop and build something radical?

Hey Ollie, Thanks for the offer mate, I may very well take you up on it! I love the current spoiler, it's rare and big (provides shade on hot days) lol.

I'm still waiting to hear back from Caltex, sent the quotes to them over a week ago and still no response, called yesterday and they swore black and blue that they didn't receive them. Bloody wankers.

The Fiberglassing isn't so much the issue, it's going to need a complete respray and the bootlid was also dented when it got torn off. I bought some rubber grommets from Clark Rubber and fitted them into the holes but it just looks tacky. I don't even have the motivation to clean it at the moment because that one part of the car ruins the rest (looks wise). Got 2 quotes and both were up at the $600 mark. It's not something I can afford if Caltex don't come through with the claim, So if that is the case, I'll shoot ya a PM!

James

Hey Ollie, Thanks for the offer mate, I may very well take you up on it! I love the current spoiler, it's rare and big (provides shade on hot days) lol.

I'm still waiting to hear back from Caltex, sent the quotes to them over a week ago and still no response, called yesterday and they swore black and blue that they didn't receive them. Bloody wankers.

The Fiberglassing isn't so much the issue, it's going to need a complete respray and the bootlid was also dented when it got torn off. I bought some rubber grommets from Clark Rubber and fitted them into the holes but it just looks tacky. I don't even have the motivation to clean it at the moment because that one part of the car ruins the rest (looks wise). Got 2 quotes and both were up at the $600 mark. It's not something I can afford if Caltex don't come through with the claim, So if that is the case, I'll shoot ya a PM!

James

This is standard practice; I had similar problems when dealing with GIO a couple of years ago, sent documents registered post, faxed documents etc, "Oh no, we don't have it, you'll have to send it again" cue more wasted time and bullshit delays...

The other one is "Oh, such and such is on holidays, you'll have explain it all to me", ask to speak to their supervisor, take the names of everyone you speak to; AND their extension numbers.

People you deal with on the phone often use a name other than their own; that is why you need the extension number, as the name will often lead you to a dead end if you wish to make a complaint.

If they start getting fractious; ask to be transferred to someone who can manage an official complaint about the individuals you are dealing with. Record phone calls if you wish, they cannot stop you; just tell them you will be doing so.

It's a delaying tactic; plain and simple.

Demand the direct email address of the individual you are dealing with (not their generic "contact us" one)while you are on the phone with them, and don't hang up until they say they've received the file. They can't bullshit about receiving documents then, and if they do; BAM! The whole file gets re-sent.

DO NOT GIVE UP; they will try to wear you down. If you had no claim, they'd have told you to piss off straight away. You obviously have a legitimate claim, so they will try to wait you out.

I got to the stage after 12 weeks; I would ring once every hour from the open of business until the close of business. After a week of constant calls, and the threat of half hourly calls; they got the message that I wasn't going to let it go, and paid up.

I have a zero tolerance policy on this kind of timewasting horseshit; and being patient will often get you nowhere.

Good luck.

Edited by Daleo

+1 for Dale.

Had my fair share of screwing around with Insurance companies. The only way to deal with it is be harsh but not personally threatening. And if that doesn't work. The threat of the Ombudsman.

EVERYONE who works at these places has done a cert level course on the legality of things- I know.

Not anymore. My girlfriend works in motor claims and the cert course is optional. If you want to do it you have to apply, because the company is too tight to pay for everyone to do it.

Apparently because it's a standard thing it makes it easier to get a job elsewhere, so they don't want to pay for it then you piss off.

Cheap bastards.

Thanks for all of the input lads.

Called them this afternoon and spoke with the head of the department after being told by the claims agent that they won't cover it due to it being aftermarket.

Let's just say, it's now booked in for repair and they are paying for it. I also went back to the carwash today to inspect it thoroughly and found no sign stating that aftermarket parts are not covered.

Funny thing is, when I told the Manager about the sign not being there, he said it is a company policy and they don't need to have a sign for it to be true. I threatened legal action (have actually spoken to a solicitor about it) and he folded immediately.

I appreciate all the input you guys have given and all the tips as well, I also work for a large company and deal with complaints on a day to day basis, If this had landed on my desk, it would have been paid within the first week. I don't care what the policy states, if we caused the damage, we pay, end of story.. Companies like Caltex are a Multi Billion dollar a year revenue holder and they want to argue about a $600 spoiler repair that "THEY" damaged. Like I said earlier, I've taken my car through that place multiple times before and this has never happened. I'll never take it there again, not for fuel and not for a wash, even if I'm on the last fume of Octane, I'll push it to the next one. They have lost my business and several of my mates business forever (not that they'd give a shit anyway).

Anyway, I'm happy that it's being paid. The lesson for anyone in a similar boat is DONT GIVE UP! They were prepared to decline my claim at the drop of a hat and if I had of been too lazy to do something about it, I'd be forking out my own money to repair this thing.

Once it's repaired I'll be on the next cruise! All washed and shiny!

Cheers SAU

James