mikeyR33-T Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 Hi, before anyone jumps in, I have read about 20 different posts in relation to this and none of them are exactly the same as mine. Started the car today, from first crank it had a persistant tick/click sound like tick tick tick tick and even with throttle it was there and it increase in volume & speed as the throttle increased (using the throttle cable in the engine bay) (R33 S1 auto, stock turbo, stock inj, stock engine) I waited a good 5mins before driving the car, opened the hood and my ear was directed towards the top right hand side of the engine bay between the turbo and the wall/flywheel. couldnt exactly pin point but it was louder right there in that corner. At first I thought it would go away but I had some business to take care of, SO i drove the car 45mins and the click/ticking continued, was faint when driving unless I went pass a car or in a tunnel, but it was still making the noise whilst I was driving the whole time, as well as on Idle parked. At first I thought it was the lifters but lifters usually sound deeper, then after reading i am thinking it may be a big leak in the exhaust/turbo gaskets causing the noise, as it increased with throttle as if it was controlled by the air passing thru the exhaust. can anyone shed some light at tell me if its likely to be a leak as it made the noise in Idle and driving, no matter what rpm or speed I did. and its coming from the right side of the engine near the turbo/exhaust! any advice would be appreciated, its possible gasket or bolts have snapped and caused a leak?????? please help, as I just got myself Z32+nistune today ready to be tuned, but cant do a tune till I sort this out! hoping its just a leak and not lifters! ( it made this noise before I changed ECUs) thanks heaps Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 You couldn't have read too many threads... Exhaust manifold gasket has blown. You'll need to replace it. Also replace ALL manifold studs at the same time, you will likely have a few broken ones. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6221812 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mikeyR33-T Posted February 6, 2012 Author Share Posted February 6, 2012 You couldn't have read too many threads... Exhaust manifold gasket has blown. You'll need to replace it. Also replace ALL manifold studs at the same time, you will likely have a few broken ones. thanks, just wanted to be sure if it suited mine, and where do I get these parts & prices thnx Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6221813 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mikeyR33-T Posted February 7, 2012 Author Share Posted February 7, 2012 ANYONE ELSE )) this is very annoying issue atm>> Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6223156 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTSBoy Posted February 7, 2012 Share Posted February 7, 2012 Spoonfeeding required? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6223172 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mick_o Posted February 7, 2012 Share Posted February 7, 2012 Speak to your local nissan dealer mate use the standard nissan gasket and studs and she'll be right Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6223198 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mikeyR33-T Posted February 7, 2012 Author Share Posted February 7, 2012 Spoonfeeding required? I think ive explained this is all new to me,. and I want to make sure I have the right information. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6223222 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mikeyR33-T Posted February 8, 2012 Author Share Posted February 8, 2012 Thanks Ordered Exhaust manifold gasket and the stud kit with all studs/washers etc, will update when they arrive and are put on, that could also explain the low power, OH then I am getting my new nistune TUNED soon also happy happy! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6224380 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mikeyR33-T Posted February 9, 2012 Author Share Posted February 9, 2012 ANYMORE ADVICE?? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6226864 Share on other sites More sharing options...
dynafit Posted February 17, 2012 Share Posted February 17, 2012 ANYMORE ADVICE?? on...? install the gear you ordered, then if problem persists ask again. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6239389 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted February 17, 2012 Share Posted February 17, 2012 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6239447 Share on other sites More sharing options...
SargeRX8 Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 (edited) Get the number of a stud remover ready, there is a high chance some will break. My old car, 120xxxkm, all came out smoothly. Amazingly. How much did the parts cost you? Edited February 18, 2012 by SargeRX8 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6241201 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smaz Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 Mine had a similar problem, it turned out to be a loose wastegate, over time the actuator had lost its preload. Easy way to tell is to start the engine (preferably cold) and pull on the wastegate arm and see if it stop. Worked for me! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/390782-exhaust-leak-serious-loud-tickclicking-sound-even-while-driving/#findComment-6241956 Share on other sites More sharing options...