• Replies 60

If you're aiming that comment anywhere near me, i will comment by saying the reason i consider myself a relatively safe driver is because i am scared of the car :D and that fear keeps me within my limits. Sure occaisionally i may cross these limits, not often and luckily i have gotten through these occaisions and learnt. Anyway, I'm not going to defend myself and more than this.

Everyone is human, but the smart ones learn from their mistakes, the dumb ones eventually run out of luck. Evolution if you will.

I don't think skyline drivers, in general are that bad, i seen a few on the roads and not one of em acted like a dickhead... to the ones that do like it or not the cops WILL catch you (especially if your in victoria), then u'll lose your licence coz you got caught too many times, then you get it back and lose it again coz your a dickhead... vicious cycle really! only that he ruins the image of the good skyline drivers

I saved up and bought my first car, with no handouts from mum and dad. It was a shitty old VC Commodore with a rooted 173 and rooted 4 speed manual, but apart from that was as tidy as you could expect for $900. I learned a lot of what I know (which isn't much :D) from this car - I did an engine/gearbox swap (mild 202, Celica 5 spd), learned how to change the clutch, brakes/pads, suspension, wheels, tyres, and, after loaning it to my brother, the diff. I upgraded the head, valves, exhaust, cam, carb, ignition etc. I might not be qualified to be a mechanic, but I'm confident that I can get myself out of "most" situations if caught in the middle of nowhere with, say, a clutch problem.

After getting sick of chewing 20L/100km and *maybe* breaking into the 14s on a really good day when the temperamental old thing would actually run properly, I took out a loan and bought my R33 (I was 20 at the time). Thanks in part to what I learned mucking around with the Commodore, I'm confident that I can get myself out of trouble with mechanical problems in the 33 - at the end of the day, it's still just a car. It's more complicated, but things work basically the same way. Again, I'm no guru, but the little that I do know could mean the difference between a few hours on the side of the road, and a long, expensive tow to an expensive workshop.

I suppose what I'm saying is that, although I can see the point that some parents want their kids to have a "good" car to start out in, sometimes it's good to a) make them work for it themselves, and B) make them start out in something that requires a bit of elbow grease to keep on the road.

I'm not bagging the people whose parents have bought them their first car, I just think that there is merit in buying your first car yourself. Perhaps one way to do it is if the parents buy the *second* car, once the kiddies have spent a year or two with their first car and learned all the important, basic stuff.

Err... geez, strayed a bit off topic haven't we :D

I saved up and bought my first car, with no handouts from mum and dad. It was a shitty old VC Commodore with a rooted 173 and rooted 4 speed manual, but apart from that was as tidy as you could expect for $900. I learned a lot of what I know (which isn't much ) from this car - I did an engine/gearbox swap (mild 202, Celica 5 spd), learned how to change the clutch, brakes/pads, suspension, wheels, tyres, and, after loaning it to my brother, the diff. I upgraded the head, valves, exhaust, cam, carb, ignition etc. I might not be qualified to be a mechanic, but I'm confident that I can get myself out of "most" situations if caught in the middle of nowhere with, say, a clutch problem.

I must say im with RevHead on this... lkearning the basics is really important. Both mechanically and Driving Skills.

Having spent my early years living on a farm, and been around vehicles all my life, and driving since i could see over the wheel (and not always reach the pedals) i would say for 20 i was a competent driver. I still bought a NA skyline first because there is *no way* a young person (or old person, for that matter) can possibly think they can handle a 200rwKw car with no experience between that and their clapped out _insert POS here_.

You guys out there with track experince, of course, are in a different group, so please ignore this gross generalisation....

Well i can say, yes i may be young (21) and yes im driving a 33 skyline GTS-t but i would like to think that i dont fit into the yound D I C K head catagory in an overpowered car with an underpowered level of common sense or knowledge. My first was a 76 1100cc Mini Clubman S and it taught me the basics and a few lil tricks with how to maintain a vehicle. Yes i paid for it when i was 16 coz i busted my balls workin at a servo for years to save up. I still have the mini (be to sad to let her go) but when i got to 18 i felt as tho i needed sumfin a lil different, it was the step up to a 1500cc with a turbo....yes the classic Nissan Pulsar ET Turbo was the next ride in my garage....again paid for it ALL myself with no handouts from anybody. Once that was gone, its 33 a big step from 1.5 turbo FWD ! but not too crazy. AGAIN all funded by myself. SURE my parents probably could have bought me a "nice car" to start with but it all honestly it would not have been a good idea....goin from passenger in mum's mazda to driver in a 6cyl Turbo RWD is not the smartest of options in my opinion. Im not sayin that anybody may be a crappy driver, but i know that not enough people have any trainning in defensive driving or handling a vehicle at high speeds........

Haro Makes a Very good point :rant: (jk) :)

back on topic....

I too am frequently dissapointed by one skyline driver in my area (the guy with the maroon '33 GTST, you know who you are.... :mad: ) Most of the other guys (and girl) are great, always have a wave, not in a rush to prove themselves, just happy with THEIR car, and out for a drive - like most of us, i imagine :rant:

however, for 10 of us, thers always one.... he very nearly killed an old couple when he thought it would be a funny thing to *FLY* past me while stopped at a cross-walk ! A F&*#$G CROSSWALK FOR F#$K SAKE !!! What is wrong with these people ?!?!

oh well, thats my $4.82c for the evening, sorry for the slight hijack there Toby19... :cheers: Glad someone else started this thread... great for venting frustration. :rant:

Oh, and nmcmahon83 im with you all the way - No Better meditation than the passing blur of bitumen... Drive on Guys:burnout:

I bought my skyline after just turning 19, it's got a big fmic + bodykit etc so I get the rich boys die young thing over and over, and cops HATE me and my P plates. Truth is I worked very fudging hard to save up for every cent.(so much so I've had to sacrafice insurance). And this is what hurts me when I see another skyline driver being a ****head racing in residential streets/bog laps/2f2f (LIV LIFE OEN QUARTAR MILE AT E TEIM) attitude. It makes me want to shoot them in the face.

I really hope LaL is joking about his parents buying him an r33gtr. For the jealousy factor. :rant:((

Don't think that being a careful driver is any substitute for proper driver training. No matter how careful you are, eventually some tool will force you to take evasive action. Practice at skidpan days has saved my car and possibly my life on at least one occasion...

I gotta say im enjoying reading people's opinions and gripes!

i am with "revhead" also, i did the same thing with my mini and ET taught myself the basics, again, by now means am i a mechanic but i can also get myself outta trouble and its a nice way to be. I agree with "pstanbis" about people thinking they can handle a powerful car with little or no experience....kidding yourself and your mate sitting next to you in the passenger seat.

Just remember no car mixes well with poles, walls and other cars or trucks at the BEST of times...let alone when an inexperienced driver is at the wheel. Driver trainning is essential these days....experience gained with defensive drivers courses IS priceless, (ask revhead and im sure many others also). Consider it a $400 investment for preservation of your own and maybe other lives or wellbeing.

Yes LAL's mummy and daddy did buy him that GTR at the tender age of low 20s....in my opionion probably not a good option but jelousy may play a small part in that :thumbsup: .BUT HEY ...like they say "wouldnt it be nice...."

Haro

again you're contradicting yourselves. One person says that driving some 'POS' won't give you the experience to step behind the wheel of a skyline;

there is *no way* a young person (or old person, for that matter) can possibly think they can handle a 200rwKw car with no experience between that and their clapped out _insert POS here_.  

Then another comes on and says driving a crummy car gave them the experience needed to drive a turbo skyline. Why cant some of you accept that not all young people are idiots? So what if the cars a high performance vehicle. If i never speed or do anything overly stupid in my car, what are my chances of crashing?

Besides, who here can honestly say they've never INTENTIONALLY done something stupid, and that includes things like speeding, dragging or even puting pedal to the metal at traffic lights. Anyone? So what makes some of you think that you're a better driver then a younger person behind the wheel of the same car? Experience? like i said, age doesnt always bring wisdom. Im not saying all young people are great drivers, they're not. Im just saying that you can't generalise here. I know that if i crash my car doing something stupid, (and i don't die!) i won't be able to get another one. I know what the value of my car is, as im sure many other skyline owners here do. Rather than judge everyone by 'the few' judge them individually.

Anyways, that's my two cents.

I bought my skyline after just turning 19, it's got a big fmic + bodykit etc so I get the rich boys die young thing over and over, and cops HATE me and my P plates. Truth is I worked very fudging hard to save up for every cent.(so much so I've had to sacrafice insurance). And this is what hurts me when I see another skyline driver being a ****head racing in residential streets/bog laps/2f2f (LIV LIFE OEN QUARTAR MILE AT E TEIM) attitude. It makes me want to shoot them in the face.

I really hope LaL is joking about his parents buying him an r33gtr. For the jealousy factor. :(((

nah im not , but the thing is i wouldnt of ever got this car if i didnt WORK MY BALLS off since i was 15 till 18. i have spare cash ( the money i saved up= 100k - over 5 year period ) so my parents bought me a good car ONLY because i worked my nuts off. this money is going towards my house when im allitle bit older.

Period, maybe your parents wouldve bought you a car if they saw you working your nuts off for 5 years ?bricklaying for 5 years 6 days a week is not easy you know ? and i bet more then 3/4 of the people on SAU couldnt do it too.

just my 0.2cents

Things like driver training and experience in a vehicle of similar performance WILL give you better car control. You cannot expect someone to be able to start from practically nothing, or from a stock 50hp Gemini or something, and jump in a 250hp+ car and be able to safely drive at its limit. It's all well and good to say "I'll be good", but what happens if you need to push the envelope one day? It will happen. As I've said before, I've had to do it at least once (it was to avoid being involved in a very serious incident that happened right in front of me on a wet 100km/h road), and it not only saved my car, it could very well have saved my life. I'm not saying that all young people are bad drivers, that young people cannot control a car with power, or whatever. That said, you can't possibly try to tell me that you'd be no safer on the road after a couple of advanced driver training sessions.

Also, the quote you used is in no way invalidated by anything else said here. A 200rwkw car will be a weapon in the hands of an inexperienced driver. Using the basic rule of thumb conversions, 200rwkW car is putting out ~266kW at the engine, or around 355hp in the old money. A Skyline that makes that kind of power produces it in a way that means that the driver must know exactly what they are doing - there is a huge amount of midrange torque, and it comes in hard, and forget about full throttle mid-corner. How would an inexperienced driver handle the powerslide that would result from the sudden midrange push of such an engine? They'd back right off, and possibly hit the brakes - which would put them into the scenery. What about if it causes understeer? Probably wind on more lock and back off. Bang, into the scenery again.

Why cant some of you accept that not all young people are idiots?
Erm, I don't think anyone is saying that at all. Most of us in here are still young ourselves. Anyway, you don't have to be an idiot to crash a car. There are plenty of other idiots out there willing to do the damage for you.
If i never speed or do anything overly stupid in my car, what are my chances of crashing?
It's comments like that that show just how inexperienced you are. What happens if someone pulls out in front of you? What if there's a crash in front of you? What if the only way to avoid smashing into another car (or a pedestrian, or another obstacle) is to deliberately throw the car sideways? Staying below the speed limit and being sensible (these are two SEPARATE things, by the way) wouldn't save you then.

Thinking that you're the world's best driver with very little real-world experience is stupid. Thinking that you'll be safe for the entire 50 or 60 years you're on the road if you simpy don't exceed the speed limit is stupid. (Note: these aren't aimed at anyone in particular.)

who here can honestly say they've never INTENTIONALLY done something stupid, and that includes things like speeding, dragging or even puting pedal to the metal at traffic lights.
I don't see how you can put things like speeding and street racing under the same heading. Just about everyone here would have exceeded the speed limit. Anyone who has at least one functioning brain cell and who has spent time on the road would know that it's nowhere near as dangerous as the govt campaigns make out. Don't forget that there's a difference between 140 in the middle of nowhere, and 80 in a school zone. Look at any of the main highways between the capital cities - you cannot tell me that 10km/h is going to get you killed.

Knowing when and where is appropriate (and being able to control yourself) is something you gain with maturity.

FWIW I've never lost a point.

So what makes some of you think that you're a better driver then a younger person behind the wheel of the same car?
Nothing. I don't assume anything. That said, I've been on the road for a bit over 7 years, 4 of which have been in the 33. If I'm lined up beside a 17 year old kid in a sports car, I would be fairly confident that I have a much better idea of what I'm doing than he does. I've been driving a car of 'similar performance' for much longer than they have.
age doesn't always bring wisdom
Perhaps not, but it usually brings maturity.

That said (and just so you don't think I'm saying how long you've held a license for is the be-all and end-all of driving safety), IMHO some of the most dangerous people on the road are the elderly. Some are just physically unable to drive properly, whether it be due to sight or hearing problems, or inability to properly move a limb, but some are just very bad drivers. They're oblivious to the fact that they're doing anything wrong, and if they even notice that you're there, will often retort with "I've been driving for 50 years sonny, I think I have a better idea than you!" Well you might have the years on me, but when was the last time you practiced car control, had to do a driving test, or even read up on the numerous changes in traffic law over the past 50 years? Don't remember? Didn't think so. Experience is only valuable for as long as it is put to use, and applied in the current context.

I was 17, recently turned 18. I had about 25k of my own hard earned money.

My 2nd car. What do I buy? An R33 GTS. Simple. Fact of the matter is...

WHY do u need a GTS-T or a GTR? To go fast?? again why? Unless you

intend on taking it to the track... Regrdless of age, you can never have too

much experience. Maturity 'may' come with age, but common sense IS common

sense.

I was 17, recently turned 18. I had about 25k of my own hard earned money.

My 2nd car. What do I buy? An R33 GTS. Simple. Fact of the matter is...

WHY do u need a GTS-T or a GTR? To go fast?? again why? Unless you

intend on taking it to the track... Regrdless of age, you can never have too

much experience. Maturity 'may' come with age, but common sense IS common

sense.

:) finnaly someone else with a sense of realism ! :)

It's comments like that that show just how inexperienced you are.

Wow, thanks, seeings as you don't know me. I'm not proffessing to be the worlds best driver, or even a good driver, i know im inexperienced and i accept that, hence why im building up more time behind the wheel before i even THINK of driving the line. And what i meant by my comment was not being involved in a crash but causing one. Yes, people can pull out on you and you can never predict the road, but if im speeding or doing something stupid it will only make the crash worse, or even create a dangerous situation where none existed before.

And on the point of the elderly, i guess the same applies, but its true as people get older many become bad drivers and become 'over confident' in their diminishing abilities. My grandmother recently had her car taken off her because she couldnt turn her neck, much to her protest. Not a safe thing on the roads.

Wow, thanks, seeings as you don't know me. I'm not proffessing to be the worlds best driver, or even a good driver, i know im inexperienced and i accept that, hence why im building up more time behind the wheel before i even THINK of driving the line. And what i meant by my comment was not being involved in a crash but causing one. Yes, people can pull out on you and you can never predict the road, but if im speeding or doing something stupid it will only make the crash worse, or even create a dangerous situation where none existed before.

And on the point of the elderly, i guess the same applies, but its true as people get older many become bad drivers and become 'over confident' in their diminishing abilities. My grandmother recently had her car taken off her because she couldnt turn her neck, much to her protest. Not a safe thing on the roads.

Mate,

I think you will be right with a GTS as your first car.

You sound sensible and your not talking about dragging everything with wheels or drifting on every corner.

Everyone is guilty of some misdeamouner on the roads, it's all part of learning.

Many people here are forgetting that they too were once inexperienced.

I applaud you for getting as much experience as you can before stepping into a Skyline.

Not all young drivers think they're the best drivers in the world. I was too frightened when I got my licence to do anything stupid. I am 22 and I can honestly say that even now I have trepidation when driving, being cautious doesn't mean you're a bad driver. No one sets out to have an accident, that's wht they're called accidents.

Good luck mate.

I re-read my post and I might have come across a bit harsh - for that I apologise (damn lack of sleep), but I stand by everything I've said. I was not accusing you personally of being a bad driver - far from it, as Autech says you seem to have your head screwed on alright. I was mainly trying to point out that experience in one car does not necessarily give you relevant experience in another.

My granddad used to drive around all the time, but he couldn't see a thing - he had to have my grandma in the passenger seat telling him what colour the traffic lights were... and grandma used to comment about how 'so many people must know us, everyone seems to beep and wave'. Right...

Autech, being cautious definitely doesn't make you a bad driver, quite the opposite I believe. The fact that you're aware of your own limitations is one massive step toward not being the cause of a crash. Have you thought about attending skidpan days or other driver training to address your anxiety behind the wheel? I know for me, when I first started driving, much of my fear came from not knowing whether I would be able to handle the car if it did something unexpected, training days helped alot in that respect. They also tend to show the guys that think they're Colin McRae that they are mortal, just like everyone else...

Many people here are forgetting that they too were once inexperienced
Lol I remember reversing my dad's brand new patrol into a tree when I was learning, because it was the first time I'd taken my foot off the clutch fully, and I was thinking "hey cool, I don't need my foot on that one anymo.... BANG!" The spare tyre absorbed much of the impact, but I still dinted the steps on the back and crushed the mailbox . I copped a hiding for that one! I also nearly ran into the back of a stopped car on the way home from school, because I was too busy showing off to all the guys who were walking home that I was DRIVING, so nyer. Missed it by like an inch. Felt like an absolute tool, but I learned a valuable lesson :D
Wow, thanks, seeings as you don't know me
No I don't, but I originally read your post 'If i never speed or do anything overly stupid in my car, what are my chances of crashing?' as meaning '...what are my chances of being involved in a crash?'. I thought you were taking the commonly-held belief that if you drive slowly you'll never crash. Thankfully it would seem I was wrong :D