I'm seriosuly looking to buy a r33gtst, but now feel I may be making the wrong decision...

Reading through the posts on here, it seems you guys have a bad time with the cops issuing defects and just hassling you in general.

All the r33's I have looked at are modded in some way (pod, bov, lowered) and I cant seem to find any concrete information as to what mods are legal (everyone has their own opinions).

I really want a r33, but I could do without the cop attention. How bad is it in QLD. I really don't want this to deter me from buying one!

Cheers, P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/40016-skyline-owners-hassled/

• Replies 58

just test drive the line then if the impression that it gives u doesnt outweigh the fact that u might get hassled from cops then dont get it.... either way any performance car gets looked twice at by a cop when u go past just dont do stupid things in known hoon areas stick to "private" roads and ull be right...

Michael

I've never really been "hassled" by the cops...

And I also don't agree just by having a turbo car (eg, Eug comments) that you will be hassled.

It's not the type of car you own, more the type of attention you attract. If the cops were "out to get us" we would have been locked down at the MSCII and not let out until they had gone over our cars. I can guarantee there are cops monitoring this site for cruise dates and stuff like that, but because the MSCII was simply that, just a cruise, we weren't hassled.

As I said, if your going to go out in your "skyline" speed EVERYWHERE you go, do burnouts in known hoon hangouts or just generally be a wanker, your going to be caught.

As usual, theres a time and place for shenanigans, and you must know when and when not to be stupid. For every action you take, theres always a consequence or re-procussion(sp?) that could, would or will happen.

It's simple. Not just because you own a turbo car. It's your actions on the road.

Geezus, think before you speak.

Well i have had skylines going on 9 years, and i never get hassled by the cops. But if you choose to race people everywhere, and do stupid things, expect to be pulled up.Theres always a place and a time.I,m sure the local cops have seen me driving in my area over the years many times ,but because i drive respectably, they never bother me. If skylines a what you like, go ahead and buy one,in the end it will depend on how you drive and what you do that will get you in trouble.

I think u've misunderstood my meaning nismogirl...

what I'm trying to say is that all skylines will attract attention, because

it is considered a high performance import and others automatically

think you want to go fast...hoon around etc.

My point with NOT that: turbo = hasseled, NA = totally fine.

The point I'm trying to make is what you like the skyline for?

The tuning potential? The power? The looks?

If u want the looks then go NA, but if its the speed and the power

you want, then of course turbo...

and read my post.. i asked "you want to go fast???"

obviously if u speed... in ANY vehicle u can expect to be hasseled...

Geezus, think before you speak.

I know what I said sounded a lil wierd... but I know what I'm saying.

The reason why I focused on the turbo is because he wants the

gts25t, and what I'm trying to say is why he wants the gtst?!

I still have no idea what you are ACTUALLY trying to say Eug...

NA and turbo skylines look exactly the same, so the pigglies are hardly gonna pull you up and then go "woah wait a second, this is NA, OBVIOUSLY not a hoon car" then let it go.

Then again.. they musnt have met John... heh

haha... John...

what i mean is like... why this 'particular guy' wants the gtst...

if he is so concerned about getting hasseled... then dont speed...

not saying all people with turbos wanna go fast... but turbos are

there to make the car more powerful and faster. (right?)

so it just seems a lil contradictory... i mean if he dusnt wanna get

hasseled drive slow... so why dus he need the turbo...

dus that clear it up? :) I'm no good with words.

I have had skylines for a while now and have never been hasseled. Hey I was even let off for speeding once in the GTST for being honest. I think it is more conspiracy theory than anything, or people having a cry cause they got caught doing something dumb. If you can't take responsibility for your actions, don't do them. I always have the police give me the eye when I drive past, but if you aren't doing anything dumb, then what can they do?

Buy a skyline mate, I am sure you will find the positives far out weigh the negatives.

P.S. Shameless plug :- My GTST will be for sale in about 2 months.

Well.. I can say from personal exprience. if you dont want hassles then dont get a skyline (sorry to other peoplez).

I have been a good with police for a long time.. till I get me skyline.. mine stands out a lil bit and believe me.. if something is eye catching.. you will be pulled over sometime or another wether you drive safely or not.

And there is no such thing as no defect cars, if the cops wants to defect you.. they will.. Its all bs you might think.. but that $%^& has happened to me twice already. :)

Having said tat.. I'm still keeping me skyline tho. :D

Also if you keep yours mods legal and not to 'ricey' you should be right. You can still have your BOV's & Pod's and be legal, just do a little research.

Sorry my friend.. alot of BOV is illegal.. especially the atmosphere ones.. you can be defected for causing excessive noise or noise polution. :D

Pod I was told was illegal too. but you normally wouldnt get done for it.. but if your being smart to the officers.. then you can also get booked for it.

As long as it plumbs back it should be fine? But then you dont get the 'psschhh' do you :D

I also thought Pods where legal as long as they were fully enclosed?

But you are right, they can and will make up shit as they go along.

Sorry my friend.. alot of BOV is illegal.. especially the atmosphere ones.. you can be defected for causing excessive noise or noise polution. :)

Pod I was told was illegal too. but you normally wouldnt get done for it.. but if your being smart to the officers.. then you can also get booked for it.