R33 GTS-T

would prefer an r34 but only wanna spend about 10 grand

So i've got some questions i wanna know about before i set my heart on getting one.

1. i've got a stock vt v6 commodore now and it has plenty of power but im interested to know if GTS-T with exhaust/pod filter/intercooler boosted to 12psi would beat it? (just want to make sure its at least faster than my vt)

2. With those mods mentioned above would i need to worry about it having many problems? (my friend had one that was fairly problematic)

3. Am i going to be better off buying one with everything i want on it mentioned above or would stock be better and just add parts on myself? (i guess if its stock i think it would be more less likely to be driven hard).

4. wat amount of km's are reasonable? i wanna get one with low km's but i also get the feeling it doesn't matter that much within reason cause if somethings going to break or go wrong with it then it could happen any time.

Edited by Boxtrot
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/400627-thinkin-about-gettin-an-r33/

R33 GTS-T

would prefer an r34 but only wanna spend about 10 grand

So i've got some questions i wanna know about before i set my heart on getting one.

1. i've got a stock vt v6 commodore now and it has plenty of power but im interested to know if GTS-T with exhaust/pod filter/intercooler boosted to 12psi would beat it? (just want to make sure its at least faster than my vt)

LOL

yes a 33 boosted to 12 psi will beat a stock v6 commonwhore.

2. With those mods mentioned above would i need to worry about it having many problems? (my friend had one that was fairly problematic)

Sure, but depends on you. What condition you buy the car in, how well you take car of it. The list is very long.

3. Am i going to be better off buying one with everything i want on it mentioned above or would stock be better and just add parts on myself? (i guess if its stock i think it would be more less likely to be driven hard).

Personal preference that one. I would buy stock and do it up.

4. wat amount of km's are reasonable? i wanna get one with low km's but i also get the feeling it doesn't matter that much within reason cause if somethings going to break or go wrong with it then it could happen any time.

LOL again.

Maybe you should go and read abit about winding back jap clocks.

2) Careful now. Ladies love R34's, so dont say I didnt warn ya.

Sorry, I couldnt resist. Serious answers -

1) Yes.

2) Less likely if you purchase a well respected, quality example to start with.

3) Depends on your preference and plans for the car.

4) Dont go off KM on the cluster. Go off wear and tear items such as seats, steering wheel - etc to get a guesstimate on the actual KM of the car. Check for rust and for any obvious oil leaks and also get compression test performed to check engine health.

Hope this helps a bit and good luck with your search.

Edited by iwanta34gtr

Here you go.

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/topic/35129-im-buying-a-skyline-what-should-i-look-for/

Have a read if you do decide to move forward with purchasing one.

Should help you find a good example and potentially answer some of the other questions which are bound to pop up while searching.

2) Would be more dependand on the actual condition of the car than anything else. Sounds like your friend picked up an dud.

I've mine boosted to 10 PSI (ok not 12) + the support mods + basic SAFC tune & it has being fine running in this state even after ~3years (& I give it a lead foot from time to time). Also last time I checked engine compression (last year) it was all pretty stable around 160PSI across all cylinders.

The only thing that keeps on breaking in my car is the f**king A/C... :rant:

3) Up to you really, I bought mine stock as all the modified ones where over my budget at the time. If I were to buy a again, I would probably pick up one with the basic stuff done so you can save some $$$ there.

2) Same with every car, it will depend how it's been treated. Look after something and it will last.

Just make sure a thorough inspection is done before you buy it. I had access to complete RAA inspection results and spoke to the mechanics about every detail that came up. There were small things (pretty easy fixes) which most cars have but now I can make sure they are fixed before they develop into something more costly.

3) I bought mine pretty much stock as I didn't trust the ones with plenty of mods in my price range (and looked like they'd been thrashed).

An stock R33 (even at 12psi) won't beat a stock VT by much so don't expect miracles..I had 180kws and had trouble shaking a VT, like I would get in front but he was always right behind me.. I also beat my own skyline ( with someone else driving) in the missus Honda accord, autos can make alot of difference, especially in traffic ligjt races..However take it to a track and it should flog it

The thing is modding an r33 will be alot more rewarding than modding a v6 commy. Some simple mods can almost double your power, almost nothing can double the power of a v6 crapadore :laugh: I say if you want a stock thrasher keep the commodore, if you want a car to spend/waste money on making it perform then definitely get the skyline

Yeah I gave my mate my r33 to drive, he's a good driver too from a family of racers, but he wouldn't rev it hard like u told him too, kept changing early @ about 5.5-6k..I took the Honda which is just a v6 auto and absolutely flogged him I was almost out of site.

Also had some young guys run me in the 33 in a VT, there were driving like knob p-players of course but they were keeping up with me pretty well..Sure on paper a skyline should flog it but get out o. The streets and try it and its often a different ball game.. You will still win but it's not always as easy as you think it will be.Having your skyline dropped on hard suspension just makes it worse as well and who wants to drive a not lowered skyline.

At the end of the day the skyline is far more enjoyable to drive but, if you wanna go out cruising with your mates the skyline is totally gay, no man should have to sit in the back of one, ever :no:

LOL again.

Maybe you should go and read abit about winding back jap clocks.

can't tell if hes joking or serious?

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

f**king commodore drivers.....

Hahahaha...Hahahaha omg these guys, too funny. just had to quote, man i knew laughing at people asking for info was funny but you guys, golly gosh.

You 2 are true skyline wankers. Everyone else didnt have the need to post something antagonizing yet you 2 turd stains did, good for you.

Everyone else made quality posts thanks for the info i think im gonna keep my vt and buy a vz monaro, the 2 faggots posting in my thread made the choice a lot easier.

Edited by Boxtrot

Yeah I gave my mate my r33 to drive, he's a good driver too from a family of racers, but he wouldn't rev it hard like u told him too, kept changing early @ about 5.5-6k..I took the Honda which is just a v6 auto and absolutely flogged him I was almost out of site.

Also had some young guys run me in the 33 in a VT, there were driving like knob p-players of course but they were keeping up with me pretty well..Sure on paper a skyline should flog it but get out o. The streets and try it and its often a different ball game.. You will still win but it's not always as easy as you think it will be.Having your skyline dropped on hard suspension just makes it worse as well and who wants to drive a not lowered skyline.

At the end of the day the skyline is far more enjoyable to drive but, if you wanna go out cruising with your mates the skyline is totally gay, no man should have to sit in the back of one, ever :no:

Sorry to rain on your parade, but to me it sounds like you can't drive if you couldn't shake a VT V6....... They do mid 16's at the drags with work done, i could chop one in my mums camry.

Edited by Super Drager

I think the bogan was offended that you implied his 140-150kw vt v6 was not indeed a fast motor vehicle.. Vz monaro? Blowing that 10 grand budget to the shitter or what. Just put a chevy badge on. An Easy 20-25rwkw gained. - Regards, skyline wanker :)