hey guys, I have a R34 GTT and the rear end of it is really bouncy and i did the bounce test on the back and it does keep bouncing. so my questions are

- is it definatly the shocks that are gone?

- how much is the cheapest i could replace the shocks or solve this problem for, like whats the average price on new or used shocks

and is it the struts or the shocks that are gone? its just the back end that bounces

thanks heaps

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403761-rear-end-of-car-is-bouncy/

Sounds like shocks to me. The springs are causing the bounce but the shocks aren't absorbing and eliminating the bounce.

Cheapest option is to either get new struts only or see if you can get a good set of second hand struts

Unless you want to go coilovers then you can get some bc's brand new for about $1100 and replace all 4

thanks for that, what do you reckon the price is if i wanted to do this as cheaply as possible?

and what sort of problems will i get if i continue to drive the car for a long time with the shocks as they are?

thanks for that, what do you reckon the price is if i wanted to do this as cheaply as possible?

and what sort of problems will i get if i continue to drive the car for a long time with the shocks as they are?

Just ring a few suspension suppliers and get some quotes on budget oriented shocks. You could probably get a pair of cheapies for less than $300. Even a set of Monroes would be better than stuffed originals. Will you be changing them yourself?

Are you hoping they'll somehow get better if you ignore the fact that they're stuffed?

The problems that occur with worn out shocks are; shit handling, poor grip, and extreme danger to other people when you plow into them in your out of control car.

So yeah; nothing too serious. :rolleyes: Sort it out, or don't drive a car.

Also; maybe an idea of where you live, might be able to suggest some places to go.

Edited by Daleo

Just ring a few suspension suppliers and get some quotes on budget oriented shocks. You could probably get a pair of cheapies for less than $300. Even a set of Monroes would be better than stuffed originals. Will you be changing them yourself?

Are you hoping they'll somehow get better if you ignore the fact that they're stuffed?

The problems that occur with worn out shocks are; shit handling, poor grip, and extreme danger to other people when you plow into them in your out of control car.

So yeah; nothing too serious. :rolleyes: Sort it out, or don't drive a car.

Also; maybe an idea of where you live, might be able to suggest some places to go.

This guy. He Know. :yes:

To put it in perspective / share an experience.

I have a 70kw Mazda 323. The shocks were completely gone. The drive was so bad that along a uneven 80km/h road in the wet the front tyres (which were of good quality) would spin up under power. Thats with all of 70kw.

Now imagine you with your 206+kw trying to put that through rooted shocks to the road. Shocks play a big part in how much traction your tyres have - in simple terms, if the tyre isn't in contact with the road you have no grip.

get it sorted, and the car will be nicer, and safer to drive. ;)

This guy. He Know. :yes:

To put it in perspective / share an experience.

I have a 70kw Mazda 323. The shocks were completely gone. The drive was so bad that along a uneven 80km/h road in the wet the front tyres (which were of good quality) would spin up under power. Thats with all of 70kw.

Now imagine you with your 206+kw trying to put that through rooted shocks to the road. Shocks play a big part in how much traction your tyres have - in simple terms, if the tyre isn't in contact with the road you have no grip.

get it sorted, and the car will be nicer, and safer to drive. ;)

Bang on Alex.

It blows out your stopping distances by heaps too, and that hurts you when you can least afford.

A mid corner bump on a wet road could unload the rear suspension and have you firing backwards across a lane of traffic with absolutely no warning; not worth it.

sorry for the late reply, but wow i get how serious it is now.

im in sydney around the blacktown area, does anyone know of the completly cheapest method to have them replaced, and i probably wont be doing them myself either.

like any really cheap spare parts shop? or what do i ask for if i call the shop, its like when i bounce on the back of the car it keeps bouncing.

sorry for the late reply, but wow i get how serious it is now.

im in sydney around the blacktown area, does anyone know of the completly cheapest method to have them replaced, and i probably wont be doing them myself either.

like any really cheap spare parts shop? or what do i ask for if i call the shop, its like when i bounce on the back of the car it keeps bouncing.

PM sent.

thanks for the offer john and the inbox daleo. I might just install them myself, just so i dont get ripped off for buying shocks can someone tell me the average price of cheap shocks, maybe even second hand shocks? for the R34 GTT

Pick a number. Nasty cheap crap like anything Australian made (Monroe) will be <$200/pr. Decent dampers are >$300ea.

Have you ever taken a damper/spring unit apart before? Do you know what a spring compressor is and how to use it? You might want to take Johnny up on his offer if you can't answer those questions in the affirmative.

thanks for the offer john and the inbox daleo. I might just install them myself, just so i dont get ripped off for buying shocks can someone tell me the average price of cheap shocks, maybe even second hand shocks? for the R34 GTT

Call the place I told you about, they're not in the business of "ripping people off"; is he supposed to fit your shocks for nothing?

Do you seriously have to be spoon fed every step of the way?

It's only help, if you act on the information YOU ask for.

i called them, 240ea shock and 100 instalation. I've gotten quotes for 180ea so far thanks for heading me off in the right direction though.

Good work, happy to help out.

Cheers, Dale.