Good Long Distance Car

I live in brizzy, and will soon be working full time near chinchilla, about 5 hours drive away. My work is usually FIFO, but this site is DIDO.

I am going to have to buy a car anyway, as me and the Mrs share one at the moment, so I need to get something that is comfortable for frequent long journeys, but it also has to be fuel efficient. I'd get a falcodore, but they aren't that great efficiency wise..

Any ideas?

Adam

• Replies 71

BA Falcon on LPG. On the highway a Falcadore is as efficient, if not more, than a smaller engined car, especially with cruise control.

Or even one on ULP. It's going to lumber along at 110kph using 7-8l/100ks.

Comfy, reliable, economical, cheap, roomy.

Edited by Cowboy1600

Falcons aren't *too* bad on fuel on the highway - I normally average high 7's - low 8's l/100km in the hire cars I drive.

One thing to be aware of is that a seat which might feel comfortable on a short drive can be cripplingly painful over long hauls.

Example - when I had an MY02 WRX, the seats were fantastic and supportive on the race track. however, after 2 hours behind the wheel, my backside was numb and I had to stop so that I could get circulation back in my legs. OTOH, the 2007 PAthfinder had horribly uncomfortable seats (like sitting on a park bench) but after 11 hours behind the wheel (Gold Coast to Mackay) I still felt quite refreshed and there was no discomfort in the seats.

I find the current crop of Falcadores to be very good long distance haulers. Much as I love my small cars, they have no place on country highways. A big car will soakk up the km's much more comfortably, and are likely a better proposition if you happen to encounter any wildlife. On that note, good headlights are a must, as I gather much of your driving will be at night. Big spotties are fine, but a decent set of factory headlights makes a big difference too (unless you want to go the B&S ute route and mount 16 spotties across your roll bar and bull bar.

I've got no problems with getting a como or falcon, what sort of distance, on average, can you get on a tank of lpg in a falcodore?

Are there any models that stand out? I think the new falcon g6e look really smart, but a bit out of my price range

Edited by adamskill

I'd go a BA or BF if the budget extends. XR6s can be had for only a small premium over the stocko. That said, the firmer suspension might not be what you're after in a mile eater. A G6E would be shit hot for 5 hour trips each way a couple times a week but they aren't cheap.

On the highway a ULP Falc will do ~7.5l/100k (let's say 8 to be safe). It has a 68L capacity so you're looking at 850ks+ out of a tank on the highway. Obviously adding some towns and the odd Maccas stop will knock some off this.

EDIT: Haven't found LPG economy figures yet.

EDIT2: 11-12 on highway for gas with 80L tank so ~650ks to a tank. This'll cost ~$60. ($0.70/litre)

7-8 on highway for ULP with 68L tank so ~850ks to a tank. This'll cost ~$95 ($1.40/litre)

LPG ~ $9.23/100ks

ULP ~ $11.17/100ks

Note ULP is likely to be a bit better around town.

Edited by Cowboy1600

I thought people would be recommending diesels like a golf? Should get very good economy and I believe they are reasonably comfortable guess it also depends how much you are hauling

I'd go a BA or BF if the budget extends. XR6s can be had for only a small premium over the stocko. That said, the firmer suspension might not be what you're after in a mile eater. A G6E would be shit hot for 5 hour trips each way a couple times a week but they aren't cheap.

On the highway a ULP Falc will do ~7.5l/100k (let's say 8 to be safe). It has a 68L capacity so you're looking at 850ks+ out of a tank on the highway. Obviously adding some towns and the odd Maccas stop will knock some off this.

EDIT: Haven't found LPG economy figures yet.

Cheers mate.

Magnas and camrays.... How would they stack up to the challenge?

The XR6 suspension is actually perfect for daily driving - specially on highways. I find the G6's are a bit floaty for my liking, and the seats feel like an arm chair, whereas the XR6 seats still give you some feeling of what's going on. For a 5 hour haul I'd go the XR6 over the G6 every time

I haven't driven an XR6 longer than about 4.5 hrs in one stretch (Sydney airport to Mudgee region), but they certainly do the job well. As an all rounder, I quite like them (prefer them over the SV6 Commodores, but that's just a personal preference). Second hand should be fairly cheap, given how many of them end up as hire cars.

Magnas are getting long in the tooth now, and haven't aged well. The Mitsu 380 was OK when new, but I haven't driven one for at least 5 years now. The Aurion is another good cruiser - I've done plenty of 3 hour highway trips in them. I wouldn't go for a camry. The 4 cyl engine in something that heavy will be frustrating, and probably no better on fuel than the 6 cyl.

I thought people would be recommending diesels like a golf? Should get very good economy and I believe they are reasonably comfortable guess it also depends how much you are hauling

Small shitboxes and the buy in to diesel takes many more years to pay off the LPG.

You want a big car for long distances.

Cheers mate.

Magnas and camrays.... How would they stack up to the challenge?

OK, but they don't have factory fitted LPG like the Falcon. The V6s aren't really much more economical, even ULP vs ULP.

It'd be a Falcon all the way for me, followed by a Commonwhore and then a Camry. As Warps said, Magnas are getting on now.

You should snap up my daily BA XR6 that I am selling :ph34r: lol in all seriousness though i agree with the above on the XR6 falcon and have taken mine on a few long stretch runs with no issues. Great car, pretty quiet and the seats are extremely comfortable. Fuel consumption on the highway is also suprisingly very good!

We have an E39 2003 Bimmer 530i

It's a glorious car and we'll keep it for a long time yet (as it's done only 73,000Km). Fuel consumpt'n about 8.7 on Hwy. Bimmers of the period have really good petrol frugality.

I didn't recommend it because you're driving for 5 hours and in case the water pump or side tank blows, you probably will be far away from a BMW spares outlet.

I would test drive one certainly if it has low Kms and has had its services all complete. It was rated a few years ago as being the best Euro car ever made.

A 540i was being sold here on SAU Cars F/S a li'l while ago. It may have sold now I think!

The E39 5 Series has all the adjustments of seat positioning you'd every want; and is more comfortable than my brother-in-law's G6E Turbo

If considering this, take the car to the local mechanic to download any fault codes on the DME