sydking Posted July 4, 2012 Share Posted July 4, 2012 Ive only seen on a few cars, Though i cant seem to find aynthing pre made to have a look at. Pretty much just after a black mesh/grill to sit infront of my FMIC. Any input appreciated Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
gtsttrk Posted July 4, 2012 Share Posted July 4, 2012 Any auto store such as Superheap, Autobarn etc will have mesh. You'll have to cut it to fit but that's you're best bet. Just don't get some ugly colour like anodized blue or something like a Holden:p Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6428864 Share on other sites More sharing options...
sydking Posted July 4, 2012 Author Share Posted July 4, 2012 Was looking to get a DIY job on it, was jsut curious as to how a pre made one would sit. lol only black for me mate. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6428881 Share on other sites More sharing options...
34GeeTeeTee Posted July 4, 2012 Share Posted July 4, 2012 Any auto store such as Superheap, Autobarn etc will have mesh. You'll have to cut it to fit but that's you're best bet. Just don't get some ugly colour like anodized blue or something like a Holden:p ^This!!! And yeah Supercheap etc have it.... I will probably do mine at some stage so if you do have a go make sure you take pics and post them up for us Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6428883 Share on other sites More sharing options...
gtsttrk Posted July 4, 2012 Share Posted July 4, 2012 Yeah well it's very easy to do mate, you'll have no issues at all. Is it to hide your cooler? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6428922 Share on other sites More sharing options...
sydking Posted July 4, 2012 Author Share Posted July 4, 2012 Cooler is already painted black, Though yes, Bit of extra added stealth Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6428958 Share on other sites More sharing options...
34GeeTeeTee Posted July 4, 2012 Share Posted July 4, 2012 My cooler is all black but after getting a large rock breaking my windscreen i would be worried about the same size thing hitting my Plazmaman cooler, so mine will be more for protection Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6428987 Share on other sites More sharing options...
sydking Posted July 4, 2012 Author Share Posted July 4, 2012 ^^ Also crossed my mind, Good protection against, Bugs, Leaves, Rocks. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6428997 Share on other sites More sharing options...
34GeeTeeTee Posted July 4, 2012 Share Posted July 4, 2012 Yeah not a bad idea! We were going to do a mates Silvia first so i would have had practice but it was in a pile up and is now in getting repaired........ I wanna see someone have a go before trying lol Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6429008 Share on other sites More sharing options...
gtsttrk Posted July 4, 2012 Share Posted July 4, 2012 34, you have an inbox regarding your cooler! Didn't wanna hijack the thread!! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6429210 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RB25 SKYLINE Posted July 4, 2012 Share Posted July 4, 2012 i did mine just bought the mesh from auto barn cut it with side cutters about 30mm bigger all the way round the bent it over and cut out sections to make tags and sikaflexed it on.works great.i got black and painted my cooler black and u cant really notice its there. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6429216 Share on other sites More sharing options...
sydking Posted July 5, 2012 Author Share Posted July 5, 2012 Pics? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6430103 Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Bogan Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 REPCO has sheets for $20 ATM Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6430410 Share on other sites More sharing options...
34GeeTeeTee Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 Thats not bad, i think supernumpty auto was around $30 per sheet! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6430414 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RB25 SKYLINE Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 dont buy the shit at repco its rubbish its thin and bends easy,unless they have changed there suppplier recently. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6430708 Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Bogan Posted July 5, 2012 Share Posted July 5, 2012 dont buy the shit at repco its rubbish its thin and bends easy,unless they have changed there suppplier recently. I got it because it was thin, it has better flow than the thicker stuff, and I found how it bends easy was a good thing as you can easily form it and shape it around corners. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6430947 Share on other sites More sharing options...
D.I.Y. Mik Posted July 7, 2012 Share Posted July 7, 2012 i did mine just bought the mesh from auto barn cut it with side cutters about 30mm bigger all the way round the bent it over and cut out sections to make tags and sikaflexed it on.works great.i got black and painted my cooler black and u cant really notice its there. Me too, so easy and cheap! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6433720 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spunky Munky Posted July 10, 2012 Share Posted July 10, 2012 I was wanting to do the same...but the pattern, thickness and quality of the stock intercooler mesh cannot be matched. Everything bought at Bunnings, Supercheap Auto or Autobarn sucks. I decided to leave my GTR naked. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6437903 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon 34 Posted July 13, 2012 Share Posted July 13, 2012 You can get some cool waterjet cut stainless or alloy and powerdercoated mesh from usa , two custom sheets i just priced shipped is around 150 and its not the thin crap or cut up its full size sent priority mail two places in the states have at least 20 patterns and ? About how many colours , some is ghetto SUV , 300c stuff but the stuff I found is like nothing else around Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6443124 Share on other sites More sharing options...
75coupe Posted July 14, 2012 Share Posted July 14, 2012 Stainless steel security mesh, comes in different size weaves and is strong enough to stop a thief... And is already black, costs about $30 for an offcut, mine has been on for three years and looks just as new... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/403991-grillmesh-for-fmicbumper-bar/#findComment-6443732 Share on other sites More sharing options...