Long Distance/interstate Drive In Skyline

You saying the varex's are illegal vic or nsw? (ive heard whispers around the laws on them) but assuming its the adjustable butterfly valve in this mufflers that are changing the noise level is the main culprit.

I find it funny when you can buy any HSV,be it a Clubby or GTS etc they all are optioned with an exhaust that has 2 adjustable mufflers and yet thats doesnt seem to be a problem with the rozors.

OEM / ECU controlled.

vs

Aftermarket / User controlled.

Totally different.

The attitude of the police towards JDM cars compared to the aussie holden or ford is amazing.

True but it mostly comes down to driver attitude whether they do anything once they pull you over.

I've had mine 10 years this summer and never been inspected. Heaps of rbt's with no issue. Even once told they see me around regularly and I'm always doing the right thing.

Was mistakenly pulled over for hoon laws as they saw smoke and assumed it was me. Explained respectfully that it wasn't me and they only inspected my rear tires and went on their way.

My exhaust didn't bother me one bit surprisingly (3.5inch legalis) and I'm used to driving the Honda which is like driving on a cloud in comparison..

We did have a full boot and back seat though maybe this helped to muffle some noise..or maybe you just have a shitty exhaust Ash. :P

Melbourne to Sydney, then back again, for world time attack.

Would gladly do it again, R33 didn't miss a beat. went with a mate, having someone to talk to / share driving certainly helped

Melbourne to Brisbane done over 4 weeks.

7,500-8,000km done in total.

Started off with 350 to the tank but fixed that whilst away and was getting 550-600.

Would do it again but in saying that next time would love to take 4x4 and go more places and do more camping. (So not with the mrs next time lol)

Hotels and cabins get expensive along with 98 fuel.

I think because of the "Skyline paranoia", i.e. imaginary and real squeaks/creaks/knocks, I have this fear that my car would break down somewhere along the way of a long trip...but the reality is probably closer to these cars being more reliable for the job than a lot of alternatives. We service them more often than we need to, replace wearing parts and are generally more attentive to them than the average vehicle owner!

I'd done Melbourne to Adelaide twice in my Pulsar. The longest drive I've done though was Melbourne to Wagga Wagga and back in one day (1000km round trip) in my R34. Pretty rubbish fuel economy but otherwise handled the task pretty well. I don't think the car is the biggest factor in a long drive, I've never had cruise control. I find staying alert when you're driving alone the hardest thing, no such issues with a passenger talking and keeping your brain active and alert. I stupidly only stopped once on my solo trip back from Adelaide and I was hallucinating from tiredness and staring at the road for so long. Could have ended badly.

Edited by llama_au

^I usually do deca and back in the one drive...the drive home is usually very bad and my passengers usually fall asleep on me, instead of distracting me from sleep :/

I do find just having someone there keeps you more alert though. I've never had a passenger for any of the trips and sometimes it's got a little scary on the way back.

Actually, last year I spend the night in Albury, drove to Winton, spent the day racing around Winton and drove back to Sydney in the same day. Never again... I wanted to kill myself by Marluan

Work the next day was death as well...

Pickup up my 32 in Adelaide and drove back to Geelong.

Was a good way to familiarise myself with the car, wasn't sure about fuel economy so i stopped a couple of extra times, but was all good and a nice drive too, except for the vic bacon waiting just over the border, great welcoming committee. They didn't get me but thats not the point.