if your VL wasnt a turbo to start with dont bother doing this. My mate had one and he said the differences where massive between the turbo and atmo VL. For instance on the auto the stall was set at a different rpm. I would be very surprised if the atmo didnt have smaller brakes and the atmo also has a higher compression ratio making it bad to turbo.

Bad Idea.

No offense R33NT but i know plenty of people with RB30E and have added the T and all is good.

Sure it isn't the same as having as vl turbo to start with but can be very good as long as you are sensible and tune it well.

i have an R31 RB30ET and love it to bits, i would never go back to N/A.

I personally wouldn't take my car to a workshop to get this done as many people have done it before and its quite an easy job. Find someone to help you and give them a couple of slabs for their effort.

Dreg01 can you tell me if there is a difference in the size of the Diff, Brakes, Radiator and Gearbox going from a non turbo to a turbo VL? I personally dont go much for the old VL so i dont know the specifics.

I know numerous people have tried to get a cheap GTS25t by bolting RB25DET into a GTS ending up with tiny brakes and other things inedaquately sized to handle the additional power/speed from the turbo. It is a common problem when youngsters bolt a high power jap engine into an old wreck here in oz.

Anyway hemi just do what one of my mates did. By a cheap 1JZGTE front cut, weld up some engine mounts and swap it all over. It goes like a shower of sht and because the engine mounts are apparently identical to the 1UZFE (toyota quad cam V8) you could alway fit one of those to amuse yourself at a later stage.

Que all the cry babies that reckon swear by the nissan motor

the stock vl non turbo brakes and suspension are terrible. please dont turbo charge your engine and keep the same brakes/suspension. your best bet would be to do full engine swap and brake upgrade. youll be limited to what boost you can run due to compression differences and other such nasties.

Trust me the conversion is Cheap and easy, and yields huge performance gains over NA, well worth it!.

I turbo'd my 200'000km old RB30, and got 12months of 280rwHP out of it before cracking 2 piston ring lands. Max boost I could run with large IC was 9psi, Driveability was supurb...no lag whatsoever....Do it you wont regret it, I know a lot who have and non are sorry, I certainly was'nt :)

FTR...VLTs run bigger brakes / Calipers on the front, unbreakable but notcy MX7 manual box similar to RB25DET item, 28 spline LSD (which probably acts as single spinner now anyway!), and FE2 suspension (re: crap)

Sure spent some dollars on Brakes, new shocks and King springs, retain the NA 5 spd mine is still going, and you'll be cruizing :D

Try

www.calaisturbo.com

They will be able to give you more info & is a usefull place to pick up the parts you will need :rofl:

So the motor blew up 12months after doing this, the brakes, diff and gearbox are smaller? The brakes being smaller means it cant stop the additional speed you can pull with the turbo and the diff and gearbox are weaker so it cant handle the additional power from the turbo?

No offence but i cant see why you wouldnt ditch the atmo VL and buy a turbo VL. It would be heaps cheaper way of getting a turbo (in the long run) and it would last longer than an atmo with a turbo bolted onto it.

and these days your chances of finding a stock vl turbo would be very small so youll most likely get thats had a rebuilt or highflowed turbo or at least had some work done to it. either than or do a full engine swap.

What you reckon 12months from a 200'000km old RB30, which then produced over twice its original power, attended track days, drift days, drags, numerous cruizes, as well as gettin me to work is bad?!....Bwahaha...A 200'000km old original VLT would probably have done the same thing :P

Seriously the main reason anyone would attempt this conversion is Ease, Bang for your Buck (it is the best), NO LAG performance and the fact you can retain your own vehicle...Known quantity....if you have the choice of Purchasing a VLT or an NA VL and turboing it then yeah save yourself the hassle grab the VLT :(

As for the Brakes and suspension they can be cheaply & easily retrofitted to far outperform standard VLT items, lets face it VLT FE2 suspension is pretty average at best when new!, the VLT Gearbox is a big advantage in strength, having said that my old NA box is hanging in there fine running behind a Button clutch and minispool diff so....!..?

Diffs are physically the same size, only the VLT ran 28spline rather than 25 spline axles.