Everyone looks great

Sinista you look pretty shredded.....

Nick, great shots, love the bicep one lol.

What is your current workout?

Awesome progress Mitch!!

P.s Who the hell is Barbs?

Thanks leesh your looking extremely fit yourself

• Replies 170

x11ty Simon

So much unnecessary overcomplication. Lift heavy, eat plenty and rest well. So many big and strong people out there who don't know jack about their caloric intake and macro bullshit because you don't need to. They just put in the hard yards and get on with life.

Yep. I enjoyed reading that too Simon. Awesome.

Question, you say low reps/high weights = high reps/low weights. So would you say that doing low reps/high weights increases muscle stamina?

So would you say that doing low reps/high weights increases muscle stamina?

I don't believe so. I think that's where a variety of training has to come into it. If you always stick in your 5 and under rep range and your max squat is 100kg for e.g., then if you drop down to 50kg, you'll be able to smash out that weight in terms of strength, however as you haven't trained in a high rep range you wouldn't be used to that lactic acid buildup and the lung efficiency needed, so although your muscles can physically lift the weight no worries, you may struggle or find yourself absolutely rooted afterwards.

That's why it is good to do different rep ranges, and circuit/tabata style training too.

Interesting...markos posted that vid a while back of the guy doing heaps and heaps of 60kg squats but he'd only ever trained heavy/low reps (from memory) with 180kg? I think stamina needs to be defined before we can say whether strength training does or does not support it.

I agree about the cardio side of it though, re: lungs and lactic acid etc.

Ok cool thanks. Currently I do 6 sets 10 reps, do you think this is towards the long term or short term stamina? What amount of reps are best for stamina, as in where does increasing the amount of reps become useless - 20, 30, 50? I know this is probably subjective and hard to define, but even an example would be helpful. Thanks and I hope I'm not asking too many q's :)

I think we are already getting a bit too scientific ;)

There's no magic rep range. Stamina, or muscle endurance which i assume we are talking about, has a lot more to do with it than lifting weights. It's our lactic acid threshold, it's our vo2 max, it's our mental side.

It's all subjective. What sort of endurance are you looking for? Do you want to do 50 reps on something, do you want to do 10 reps, do you want to be able to do 5 different exercises with no rest in between, did you want to run 10km, or swim 5k's?

You can shoot off in a hundred different directions with this topic, but at the end of the day, what are you're goals? Because that's what you have to tailor your training for.

But for most people, if you are lifting heavy, doing high rep training also, plus some cardio intensive workouts, then you should cover everything.

On a side note, with 6 sets of 10 reps, at what stage do you increase the weight?

I want to ride a motorcycle as hard as I can for maximum 15 minute blocks. On training days I do max 6 sessions of this, on race days maybe two but two days of that. My hr max is 170 if that's any indication as to how much stress I'm under while riding a training session.

I do two warm up sets, two working then two max, usually unable to complete the last set. So increasing every second set. Still finding how much I'm capable so sometimes it's a bit messier than that

Edited by JEPPE

I think we are already getting a bit too scientific ;)

There's no magic rep range. Stamina, or muscle endurance which i assume we are talking about, has a lot more to do with it than lifting weights. It's our lactic acid threshold, it's our vo2 max, it's our mental side.

It's all subjective. What sort of endurance are you looking for? Do you want to do 50 reps on something, do you want to do 10 reps, do you want to be able to do 5 different exercises with no rest in between, did you want to run 10km, or swim 5k's?

You can shoot off in a hundred different directions with this topic, but at the end of the day, what are you're goals? Because that's what you have to tailor your training for.

But for most people, if you are lifting heavy, doing high rep training also, plus some cardio intensive workouts, then you should cover everything.

On a side note, with 6 sets of 10 reps, at what stage do you increase the weight?

LOL

I do two warm up sets, two working then two max, usually unable to complete the last set. So increasing every second set. Still finding how much I'm capable so sometimes it's a bit messier than that

I saw your log and your weights and sets/reps look all over the place.

Don't count warm up sets. What's the difference between two working sets and two max sets if your trying to get 10 reps on each?

I would suggest cutting it back to either the old 3 sets of 10 reps, or 5 sets of 5. This doesn't including warmups.

Once you have warmed up, pick a weight, and try to do 5reps 5 times with it. Once you can do this, put the weight up next workout.

Do this for all your exercises. If you go up, and you end up getting 5 reps, then 5, then 4 , then 3, then 2........this is good. Don't drop the weight, leave it, and stay on it until you can do 5x5. Then move up again.

Progressive overload is the basics, but if your weights and reps are all over the place, then you'll end getting to where you want, but it will take you a hell of a lot longer than it should have.

I want to ride a motorcycle as hard as I can for maximum 15 minute blocks. On training days I do max 6 sessions of this, on race days maybe two but two days of that. My hr max is 170 if that's any indication as to how much stress I'm under while riding a training session.

I'm no expert on the physical requirements on competitive motorbike riding, but I'm guessing apart from the strength aspect, the fitter you are the better.

So apart from your strength work, just do a few circuit/tabata training sessions a week, even a lot of cross fit workout are pretty decent. Anything that will increase your fitness is going to be a benefit.

I wouldn't worry about your heart rate, doesn't matter how fit you are you'll still hit a high hr when your adrenalin is up. It's just the fitter you are, the better your body will cope when your hear rate is through the roof.

I saw your log and your weights and sets/reps look all over the place.

Don't count warm up sets. What's the difference between two working sets and two max sets if your trying to get 10 reps on each?

I would suggest cutting it back to either the old 3 sets of 10 reps, or 5 sets of 5. This doesn't including warmups.

Once you have warmed up, pick a weight, and try to do 5reps 5 times with it. Once you can do this, put the weight up next workout.

Do this for all your exercises. If you go up, and you end up getting 5 reps, then 5, then 4 , then 3, then 2........this is good. Don't drop the weight, leave it, and stay on it until you can do 5x5. Then move up again.

Progressive overload is the basics, but if your weights and reps are all over the place, then you'll end getting to where you want, but it will take you a hell of a lot longer than it should have.

I should probably interject here, as I've set Charlie up with the routine she is currently doing, but her logs don't fully explain how it works and...as she has just begun the routine...weights and sets do look a bit over the place. I'll use my current bench press as an example. Warmup is 82.5kg x 10 for 2 sets - to be done at a weight you could easily push out 15-20 reps of. Working sets are 92.5kg x 10 for 2 sets - to be done at a weight you can just push out 10 reps of. Max sets are 102.5kg x 4-5 for 2 sets - these are the stepping up sets, where once you reach a predetermined number of reps (for me ~7-8), you step the weight up. So it is not that different to progressive overload, just done on a higher rep range than 5x5.