But it is fixed now? That is a rather Random thing to happen. Unlucky but LUCKY. :D

join NRMA roadside assist. $90ish / year, you may not use it but if you need, they HELP.

I have mostly used them for flat batty but I've called them for what turned out to be : cactus fuel pump, ignition module, 2 new Batteries etc...

I even got a tow off one.

Worth it. :yes:

+1 for NRMA their roadside assist has been awesome to me over the years.

The guy who came out last time was excited to see the car and that it wasn't a straight forward boring case for once!

While raising my coilovers to a legal height i discovered my right CV boot was cracked. Has anybody had a go at replacing CVs on a r32 GTR?

IMG_1681_zpsd22a1388.jpg

can be done.

measure the outside of the shaft section, and cup section.

approx length, then take to repco and get the to match by dimensions.

thats how I got my front boots.

try and get the cv band tool if doing them yourself.

about 30 bucks from memory.

+1 for NRMA their roadside assist has been awesome to me over the years.

The guy who came out last time was excited to see the car and that it wasn't a straight forward boring case for once!

love nrma.

I keep membership purely on the gtr.

cheap tow.

20kms free, and ive had it towed twice in 2 years.

Took Rosie in to get coil overs done - missing bush in one of the coil overs (Couldn't do it) so requested to do brakes - They didn't have time to do it. So got Rosie back with no work done ($50 labour fee so pretty much paid $50 to park on the southside). Few days later got a quote on all the work that needs to be done due to tare and wear, as follow; I guess with the below all done and fixed that's everything for suspesion and steering also, all the parts that are being replaced are from factory from my understanding so 15 years worth out of a part is fairly decent I spose:

LAB 7.00 LABOUR $100.00 $700.00

WA - FOUR 1.00 FOUR WHEEL ALIGNMENT $90.00 $90.00

SPF1811K 1.00 BUSH - CONTROL ARM UPPER/ OUTER F $205.75 $205.75

SPF1484-21K 1.00 BUSH - SWAY BAR MOUNT - FRONT $22.67 $22.67

2.00 SWAYBAR LINK - FRONT GENUINE $68.00 $136.00

54618-85E00 & 54668-85E00

2.00 STEERING RACK END - FRONT - RE844R $39.91 $79.82

2.00 TIE ROD END - FRONT - TE926-12 $29.20 $58.40

2.00 HICAS BALLJOINT - REAR 55154-30P01 $155.00 $310.00

1.00 HICAS LOCK BAR & TOE ELIMATOR $325.00 $325.00

SPF1485-18K 1.00 BUSH - SWAY BAR MOUNT - REAR $27.53 $27.53

SPF2667K 1.00 BUSH - SWAY BAR LINK PIN KIT - REAR $24.69 $24.69

ENV 1.00 ENVIRONMENTAL WASTE DISPOSAL LEVY $5.00 $5.00

WSS 1.00 WORK SHOP SUPPLIES & CONSUMABLES $8.00 $8.00

TOTAL: $2,200

HICAS LOCK BAR & TOE ELIMATOR - the toe elimator might be some cash I'm guessing? I'm not sure. I asked him about not wanting my HICAS locked but he said he still needs that kit due to repairing the other stuff on the HICAS which the kit provides.

love nrma.

I keep membership purely on the gtr.

cheap tow.

20kms free, and ive had it towed twice in 2 years.

That is all I use them for, 4 times in 6 months to the workshop and back. You can add 10km to the 20km free for $10.

30km free towing ;)

You could do half that stuff yourself with a bit of help I reckon. Whn I had a 33 my hicas lock kit cost 150$. You shouldn't need a toe eliminator kit, I just had to get a wheel alignment on the rear to remove the toe created by the lockout kit.

Have you actually got under the car to have a look at some of the bushes and suspension parts they have said need replacing to see if they are actually rooted?

Yh you can probably do more than half of it by yourself im happy to help you if you need any. R34 dont need to get their Hicas locked as theirs the electric one (Super Hicas) not the hydraulic one.

http://nissanskyline.6te.net/HICAS.htm

You could try a second look and quote from Capital Steering and suspension. (as you know I don't trust anyone)

Looking at the labour and parts it appears to me that your Skyline has been thrown around. a bit.

It's steering and not really suspension, with a bit of stabilisation parts thrown in.

You could take a look with them while they point things out to give yourself comfort that the parts are farked.

I've had to replace basically everything suspension wise on the GTR and it wasn't cheap but a lot of those things were more expensive than what I paid to get things done.

I think great to get all that stuff refreshed on such an old car.

My GTR is an 89 model and when I bought it in 2005 the first thing I did besides get a major service done was drop like $3k on the suspension. Well worth it but I'd just double check these prices that you have :)