Sau A.c.t. - What Did You Do To Your Car Today?

SkyWagon started making a nasty sound from the DriveTrain today driving over to Mum n Dad's. :(

Seemed to get worse on the way home.

Not sure if it's Gearbox, Tailshaft etc but it's from something Rotating and increases with speed.

Sounds like this. --->> https://soundcloud.com/not-a-pulsar/r31-rear-noise

Welded and primed most of the holes in my firewall up yesterday, hopefully get time to paint it this week. Also removed dash, heater/ac box and most of the main loom ready to start cutting some wires :)

I think SkyWagon's Tailshaft CV joint is totally shagged.

DSC01996_zpsb053dc04.jpg

Looking at buying a one piece. (8000kms old)

Eliminates 2 potential problems. (CV and center bearing.)

I'd say the the CV needs repacking (grease), they are serviceable and never get done. worth doing all 3(?) while the tailshaft is out - it's perhaps a 1/2hr job.

Haha yeah mate have fired up the BBQ and it's a ripper. 10/10 best purchase I've made this year. :yes:

Thanks, I hope everything goes smoothly with the stag from here on out.. driving the lexus to work this morning was horrible... FIRST WORLD PROBLEMS!

Sprayed primer filler.

I think i have the flu, somehow managed to not fill the respirator with snot and keep breathing.

Dizzy wobbly spraying, so i did 3 coats to cover the misses.

Couldnt get the spray gun working properly, untill i realized i was being lazy and not fully pulling the trigger.

So flu also makes the brain stupid, hope i didnt miss anything, or leave a handprint or something.

:yucky: sore throat snot machine

Haha yeah mate have fired up the BBQ and it's a ripper. 10/10 best purchase I've made this year. :yes:

Thanks, I hope everything goes smoothly with the stag from here on out.. driving the lexus to work this morning was horrible... FIRST WORLD PROBLEMS!

LOL oh how things change... :)

GL getting your rego sorted!

I'd say the the CV needs repacking (grease), they are serviceable and never get done. worth doing all 3(?) while the tailshaft is out - it's perhaps a 1/2hr job.

Looks like the rubber boot is split to the splithouse. Replaceable?

Do CV joints go Ting Ting Ting like Uni joints when they crap out / are dry?

A single piece may cause you grief in the way of vibrations - just a thought.

Potentially but balancing may help? Seems to be a common upgrade. The one I'm looking at was built 8000kms ago.

My old mechanic put a one piece (180B) tailshaft in my 1985 Bluebird years ago... No Problems.

Sprayed primer filler.

:yucky:Sore Throat Snot Machine

That's a recentish John Cusack movie isn't it? :laugh:

Nice work Chris

Will give that a try maybe next in line and if not then just give it to a exhaust shop to do it.

Today i tidy the engine bay a little and got rego :banana:

Exhaust shops just call capital thread repair.

I have done 6 myself. If your good with tools and have patience give it a crack. I use socket Allen keys instead of easyouts.

Looks like the rubber boot is split to the splithouse. Replaceable?

Do CV joints go Ting Ting Ting like Uni joints when they crap out / are dry?

Potentially but balancing may help? Seems to be a common upgrade. The one I'm looking at was built 8000kms ago.

My old mechanic put a one piece (180B) tailshaft in my 1985 Bluebird years ago... No Problems.

That's a recentish John Cusack movie isn't it? :laugh:

one of the CV's on my XC90 did make that noise (it was the centre one). you don't actually touch the rubber boot, so it may still hold.

Hmmm nice how does that work with the Allen keys.

Drill into stud 2/3rds deep slightly smaller than whatever size Allen key socket you want to use.

Tap Allen key into stud and undo with ratchet. I find it useful when up against firewalls