Defected

CheekyR32

Simple fact: SAPOL have the power to defect a 100% standard, factory legal, straight off the showroom floor "insert brand of car here". The situation is no different to any of the other states and territories.

I'm not saying the above situation is fair, but it's the unfortunate truth under the current scheme :)

• Replies 121

Nuns arnt too bad if you get them all worked up:) sorry had to be said. Regancy are as pissed of with the cops as we are, If you talk tp Regancy nice enough they will let you through with no hassles. ( i got through with my white 32) not sure how.

What servo is that? I drive past a R33 sometimes at Mobil on Lower Nth East rd, is that you??

Cheeky - good to hear that you are taking a firm stance on this, its about time someone does, just a shame it takes such a stupid act from a cop who has no idea what he is talking about to make it happen

Chris

Nah dude, thats that black 33 hey, he gets around all the mobils.

I work at the crappy caltex on bridge road ingle farm.

Just be careful if anyone is considering doing the back door defect removal. I have heard that the sh1t has hit the fan in a big way, and hundreds of cars and car owners are effected.

Police are doing full on video interviews with those that have been named as having cars taken off defect without going through regency. It would appear that a certain someone who works/worked there got caught and is spilling the beans big time.

Well the only other way i can think of is some form of "hacking" or is that just too fantasy?

I mean if thats the way it is done then there would be alot of charges like electronic freud etc.

I dunno as painful as it is i think i would rather just go the manual way, although i've never been offered the other way so i suppose i couldn't really say.

Guest INASNT

what u mean u cant do that??

even parking tickets give u the option to take it to court if u think it was given to you unfairly

I am having the matter investigated by the Police Complaints Tribunal. Shane (Never naughty) has been helping me alot with this matter.

I have to go to a panel interview and state my case and they will make a decision about my defect.

The only other option... is go through regency making sure everything is micky mouse.. prove to sapol my car was legal and make a claim for damages, for lost time, money, and stress against sapol.

Also, the day i got defected, i had a buyer for my car and it was to be sold.. now i have lost that sale.. thanks to those coppers.

I c ur car a few times a week. Its the silver 33. Looks very clean.

Yep thats the one, yeah its not to shabby. Ive been preety lucky actually, havent been pulled over or even had a cop follow me ( touch wood). I suppose it will happen eventually like most people here.

well at least you seem to be getting somewhere with your complaint. It seems SA import owners are getting pretty short fuses after all the hassles and pointless defects, just feel the hate in this thread towards SAPOL! Very soon someone is going to crack and they will have to change this bullsh1t "defect even if the cop suspects it might be defectable" crap. As everyone aggrees it is beyond a joke.

whoever mentioned it ( i think steve) is right about going higher than the cops and straight to the people who can change/make the rules. Surely if that person were to see/hear some of these absolutely petty examples that something could be done... The whole defect issue should be concentrated on safety anyways, not because the car makes an occasional noise on gearchange. The whole fact that ten year imports have better brakes and suspension than even new local cars is ridiculous.

I’m going to echo Steve’s comments on this one. I strongly urge you to go all out Erica. I know it’s going to be a pain in the arse for you but I really think you should take a stand. Let me know if you need any assistance? As I said to you on the phone, maybe give the media a shot? Hopefully if you/they (media) work it from the right angle it won't come across as a disgruntled car 'hoon' but rather an average motorist that has been unfairly treated.

The simple facts in your case are that you were defected for an item that was complete factory standard. Is that all they defected you for? And were you doing anything to draw the wrong kind of attention to yourself? If the answer is an honest NO in both cases then I believe it warrants some form of action to stop the same thing from continuing to occur. At the very least the situation where they (police) later agreed the defect “should” be removed, without the need for a full Regency Park inspection, should be highlighted.

I’m not saying that SAPOL should back-off and leave modified/import drivers alone completely (there are plenty of modified/import drivers on our roads that are drawing the unwanted attention in the first place! – this is the REAL issue) but what I would like to see is the police using common sense and judgement.

I guess when I look at the whole situation realistically, it really is fighting a losing battle : ( Modified/import car owners are, for the most part, seen by the wider community as “reckless hoons”. They (average suburban family member) probably see the police targeting as a good thing. They just think… “Excellent work SAPOL - less idiots on the road” The sad fact is in “some” cases this is pretty much true : (

Rant over.

Just be careful if anyone is considering doing the back door defect removal.  I have heard that the sh1t has hit the fan in a big way, and hundreds of cars and car owners are effected.

Police are doing full on video interviews with those that have been named as having cars taken off defect without going through regency.  It would appear that a certain someone who works/worked there got caught and is spilling the beans big time.

Mate i can go one step better then that, i can CONFIRM that this is happening, as i know of 2 people now that are being investigated for doing the back door payment from regency...A fair bit of other shit will be discovered as well when it all boils down, time will tell though...People's keep your heads down cause shit is hitting the fan big time on this one!

The problem that will be encoutered by approaching your local is MP is that at present this states MPs are pushing for changes to have yearly roadworthies introduced and special inspections required after certain accident damage. This would follow a similiar system as in NSW where roadworthies will be carried out by licensed private workshops. The RAA are currently opposing this and I think you may find that MPs are happy for police to be sending loads of cars through the regency VIS to overload the system to breaking point and force changes.

The higher authority at this point is the Police Complaints Authority who are an independent statutory body which answer directly to Parliament. Non of the staff are police officers. All complaints except in special cases (?? they dont detail what these are) are investigated by the Internal Investigation Branch. Any other form of other action at this point could effect the outcome of an investigation. Because this complaint will most likely be considered a less serious incident it should go to a conciliation process where both parties give there side and the complainant indicates what outcome they would like to achieve. A resolving officer will make a desicion normally within 14 days and the complianant can either except this or go forth with a full formal case.

I think what the problem is is that with all this extra policing and defecting, the REAL unroadworthy cars are still out ther whilst majority of modified cars are being targeted. For instance I walker through the back of mawson lakes carpark last week. i could easily see at least 30 cars (in a small carpark of maybe 150cars) and all of them were unroadworth. Smashed front head lights, crashed cars with no repairs done, cars with heaps and heaps of rust. And im sure they all would smoke like a biatch aswell.

I cant believe that these cars dont get defected and how a car with a BOV poses a much more dangerous "threat" on the road...

Ahhh

Your right Dean. Its total crap. I saw a car the other night smoking out so much black smoke the cars behind him could not see where they were going because of the huge amount of smoke coming out of the car in front. I then see a cop drive straight by!!

And Matt.. I was cruising 40kms around a corner nothing crazy just having a smoke and cruisin', so i was not being reckless at all.. I also was defected for JUST the stock factory blow off valve. The defect notice actually states "blow off valve to be conveyed to manifold" when IT IS!!! I also have more of a case here because the police officer defected me without having actually sited the defect.. he wouldn't even let me show him it was legal. therefore, i didn't pop my bonnet.

And Matt.. I was cruising 40kms  around a corner nothing crazy just having a smoke and cruisin', so i was not being reckless at all..  I also was defected for JUST the stock factory blow off valve.  The defect notice actually states "blow off valve to be conveyed to manifold" when IT IS!!!      I also have more of a case here because the police officer defected me without having actually sited the defect.. he wouldn't even let me show him it was legal.  therefore, i didn't pop my bonnet.

I knew you wouldn't have been doing anything wrong Erica. I was just making 101% sure :)

The situation so far... you recieve a defect notice for something that is in fact legal (that you state to the officer at the time). The officer doesn't even look under the bonnet to identify the 'supposed' offending item. And then by their own admission HHP officers later confirm that the defect "should" be cleared without requiring a full inspection. As far as I can tell you have a very strong case.

This 'defect without sighting the defective item' situation is a bit too much for me to accept. It's rediculous!