55 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

As all young guys who buy a skyline they try their chance in getting approved to drive their turbo skyline coupes for no other than hoon purposes, even if some may have LEGIT reasons they are mixed with the feelings of wanting to be behind a wheel of some power. I am no different.

I will be sending off my exemption form to VicRoads, as my circumstances (this is actually legit, believe it or not lol) are that I have MAJOR educational travelling issues.

I live in Meadow Heights, next to Broadmeadows, im sure most people from Victoria know. I go to La Trobe University Bundoora. Thus if I go by car It takes me about 40 minutes to drive there with little to none traffic, also depending on my route. Driving through barry road then Sydney road then freeway then plenty road then my University. Point is its fregging long and by transport, its much, much worse. pretty much impossible by public transport.

need to take bus at Broadmeadows then go all the way down then walk take a tram then walk to my uni, this takes about 1.5 hours of my time. that's 3 hours a day and I go 5 times a week about 3 hours a day so for 3 hours a day im going to be losing another 3 hours of my life.

mind you this is all legit, and so is the want to drive this turbo'd car, not going to lie.

fact is I have no other car to drive with. and NO SHIT I could've bought another car but believe it or not I got this pretty dam cheap and runs smooth, so hell why not take a shot.

Anyway told you the scenario. What are my chances, put a poll up.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/423438-will-i-get-my-exemption-approved/

As all young guys who buy a skyline they try their chance in getting approved to drive their turbo skyline coupes for no other than hoon purposes

Wrong. I didn't, because I knew the rules and accepted them. I didn't have the arrogance to think I could loophole through the system. I'm usually a P-plate sympathiser, but you didn't start this post on a good note.

You're probably not going to get an exemption since you knowingly bought a car that you full well knew you are prohibited to drive, and you had equal opportunity to buy a car that's p plate legal. They're not going to accept "oh it was a good buy, so i bought it, now i've already got it..."

Edited by alex182

It may have been cheap but the running costs (fuel) is going to end up costing you much more than if you'd bought a cheap 4 cylinder. You have to run it on premium and your economy will be poor compared to a natro 4 cylinder. I hope you thought about all this, and the day to day practicalities if owning a turbo car when you are a uni student (who generally don't have much money).

And as Alex said, there are plenty of people who respect the law and don't act like a spoilt brat (not a dig at you personally, but all platers who buy a turbo car then try for an exemption).

No, you will get declined. I myself have a high powered vehicle exemption. But it is for work purposes, not just because i want to drive a turbo on my P's. I originally got knocked back on the application because i didn't provide enough information, a quick re-submit and a phone call to the lady that actually reveiws the applications and i was all set. I can drive whatever the hell i want between 6:30am and 6pm :)

But i still need to use P plates, which is annoying because i'm always in and out of different cars but i can live with it.

Sell the skyline and buy a cheap Fiesta or something until you can legally drive it.. i'm telling you now, you won't get approved.

1 As all young guys who buy a skyline they try their chance in getting approved to drive their turbo skyline coupes for no other than hoon purposes, even if some may have LEGIT reasons they are mixed with the feelings of wanting to be behind a wheel of some power. I am no different.

I will be sending off my exemption form to VicRoads, as my circumstances (this is actually legit, believe it or not lol) are that I have 2 MAJOR educational travelling issues.

I live in Meadow Heights, next to Broadmeadows, im sure most people from Victoria know. I go to La Trobe University Bundoora. Thus if I go by car It takes me about 3 40 minutes to drive there with little to none traffic, also depending on my route. Driving through barry road then Sydney road then freeway then plenty road then my University. Point is its fregging long and by transport, its much, much worse. pretty much impossible by public transport.

need to take bus at Broadmeadows then go all the way down then walk take a tram then walk to my uni, this takes about 1.5 hours of my time. that's 3 hours a day and I go 5 times a week about 3 hours a day so for 3 hours a day im going to be losing another 3 hours of my life.

4 mind you this is all legit, and so is the want to drive this turbo'd car, not going to lie.

fact is I have no other car to drive with. and 5 NO SHIT I could've bought another car but believe it or not I got this pretty dam cheap and runs smooth, so hell why not take a shot.

Anyway told you the scenario. What are my chances, put a poll up.

1 - No, not all young guys will, but people who wants to write off their car within 12 hours and selling it to me to wreck, will try (this has happened). I bought my NA R34 and it runs fine and I'm happy with it as a daily (very awesome daily as a matter of fact).

2 - No form of transport requires a turbo. Exemptions are granted if your vehicle is a turbo DIESEL or it is a utility vehicle such as a ute or other heavy workhorses, thus you would need to demonstrate or prove that it is necessary for the course of your employment.

3 - 40 minutes or not, does not require you to drive a turbo vehicle. Using this as an excuse will only let them think that you'd be speeding with your turbo car and hence get declined.

4 - Not really legitimate reasons for exemption.

5 - Then you should have bought another car.

There are two words that come into mind in this thread, they are "want" and "need". You basically NEED a metal box with 4 wheels that can take you from A-B. You WANT a turbocharged fast metal box with 4 wheels, to take you from A-B.

However this is coming from Nanny NSW. Might be less tougher in VIC.

I personally think that your chances at getting an exemption is next to 000.0001%. Though if you do get approved then I'll personally fly down there and buy you a beer :cheers:

I'm due to apply for one over the coming months, though I have a legitimate reason as I now work in the automotive industry.

What type of car is it? I just got mine for a r33 gtt. I dyno'd and weighed it and got approved no worries.

Not to sure on Vic rules but if your car is 125 at the wheels or less than it is at the legal max at the fly. If it is look into it and apply

On another note. They are REALLY!!! REALLYYYY thirsty.

I can see your reason but I agree with the 4 cly n/a thing, I'm considering going back to my ford focus and driving the skyline on weekend so I can wait till I get a pay Rise to pay for fuel.

Edited by cowdy

When I was attending Uni it took me 2 hours by public transport there and back. That's 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. Did this for about 1 and a half years.

I did not ask for an exemption. Instead I worked hard, saved my money and bought a P-Plate legal car.

No offence but I do think you went about this the wrong way but either way good luck to ya!

When I was attending Uni it took me 2 hours by public transport there and back. That's 4 hours a day, 5 days a week. Did this for about 1 and a half years.

I did not ask for an exemption. Instead I worked hard, saved my money and bought a P-Plate legal car.

No offence but I do think you went about this the wrong way but either way good luck to ya!

exactly. i did that through uni (for 3 years mind you) AND now working at the same uni, it is my daily commute (insert face palm). suck it up OP...

If it takes 40 mins by car from Broady to Bundoora then you are doing it wrong.

The point remains - you didn't need to purchase a illegal car, so why should you be exempt? If I was the person responsible for reviewing your app, you'd be denied

• 10 months later...

Sorry to bring up an old thread but I just got done last night by highway patrol driving my stagea do I'm going to try for an exemption again. Is there any way to get a tuning shop to do a low power dyno run so the car still comes up under powered? I have a fmic, 3" turbo back, hypergear op6 highflow and 255lph walbro pump. Do they inspect the car for mods or can you just hand them a dyno sheet and the results from weighing the car?

I doubt you'll get one, and there are plenty of wagons you could've bought that are not on the banned list; so I doubt that will fly as a reason.

They will have a listing with the factory power for the engine, and will use that rather than a deflated dyno figure you are clearly using to try & get around the rule; everyone know's you're going to bump the power straight back up anyway; right?

Sometimes it's better to wait until you don't have to break the law, and drive the car you are allowed to drive.

Why do P platers insist on buying cars they cannot legally drive? I dun get it.... Go out and buy a VL like 90% of them, do some skids. When you can legally drive a real car buy it.