You want to spend 10k? but don't want to mod your current car.... and think you will get a reliable Evo or WRX for that said 10k - Tell em there dreaming!

Mate throw a couple grand into the 34 :)

Otherwise, Il sell you my sisters Hyundai Getz for $10k

BUY A ROTARY.

hahahahahahahaha.

/Serious.

1100 kilo RX7 with 300hp at the wheels for under 10 k.
80's model, S2 or S3.

Will blow your socks off.
And sits between Falcon 4l six and Commo 7 litre V8 in terms of fuel economy.

Best of both worlds!
HAHAHA.

Serious, get a rotor or do what others have said and fork out for a 450-500 whp RB25/30 build from Croydon, just under 10 K will get you the assembled run-in motor for your R34.

haha hello rotor, goodbye fuel economy and apex seals.

It's quite unlikely you'll find a fast and reliable import of any type for under 10k, you may luck out though. It's also why people keep suggesting locally made stuff. Up your price range perhaps?

well its becoming more and more obvious that sticking with my 34 is the best option for me. still an import and isn't too problematic. seeing as i definitely cant up the budget, or afford any large modifications to my car right now anyways.

thanks for all the help guys. :)

If you can find a looked after 300ZX they are great. I know everyone will say they are shit, however i've owned a few of them and aslong as you don't buy a lemon and take care of it they are fine. My mate just paid 10k for his, 230rwkw on stock turbos and only 12psi.

haha hello rotor, goodbye fuel economy and apex seals.

It's quite unlikely you'll find a fast and reliable import of any type for under 10k, you may luck out though. It's also why people keep suggesting locally made stuff. Up your price range perhaps?

HEY!

They only fail because people fail to warm them up and cool them down properly.

And the seals are EXACTLY like a 100,000km service, just you have to actually pull the engine apart to do them.

I've owned two rotors both with over 200,000km's on them, one was the original motor and had the seals replaced at both 100,000km marks, ran like a dream and never gave me an issue.

Then I bought a GTS-T Skyline...

Yeesh.

Own a GTR now, and have a daily Subaru Impreza.

Wish I still had a rotor, but I currently can't afford the fuel due to heavy traffic in the city.

Don't wanna watch my fuel gauge go from a full tank to a 1/4 of a tank in 150 meters.

:wub:

Anyway, if you want something sporty, small, and good on fuel, get a Datsun to keep it in the nissan family, plenty can be had in good condition, like a 260z for around 9 grand that are decent cars, little Datto 1200 utes go for around five, drop an SR20DET in it and chuck skids and have decent fuel economy.

Or, do as I suggested and build your existing car, being that it's only a GTT, may as well go dog balls nuts on it.

If you can find a looked after 300ZX they are great. I know everyone will say they are shit, however i've owned a few of them and aslong as you don't buy a lemon and take care of it they are fine. My mate just paid 10k for his, 230rwkw on stock turbos and only 12psi.

Zed's are quite good as this man says.

Most people just flog them and complain when something breaks.

Rip the engine out, tighten it all up, metal gaskets, a couple of slightly bigger turbo's, up the boost and put a 3" exhaust on it and drive that.

They sound AWESOME with a good exhaust, and when you put your foot on the loud pedal.

Darn-Diddly-arn-it.

They sound tarn, tootin' amazing.

I'd use real swear words.

But that's a No No. :(

And Zeds aren't as bad as people say with the "engine out" issues.

As bad to work on as a GTR.

Just gotta be a little patient.

VG motors can handle quite a lot, and make power faster stock than a Skyline will.

/FLAME SUIT IS ON.

HEY!

They only fail because people fail to warm them up and cool them down properly.

And the seals are EXACTLY like a 100,000km service, just you have to actually pull the engine apart to do them.

so, not EXACTLY like a 100k service.

I know of no other engine that requires removal and complete pull down to perform a 100k service.

and besides, the power you get from them, I make better power from my .5l skyline motor.

Have you held a rotary engine?
It's kinda like a large football.
And they are quite easy to work on.

Yeah admittedly they don't make as much power N/A. but boost them, and they start chasing numbers at high revs.. like 12000rpm. lol

Look.
I have an R32 GTR on my list for a reason.
But Wankel Engines are a cool, odd thing.

And are still fun to own because they make power faster than any other P plate legal NA engine.

Edited by RBMunkie

Have you held a rotary engine?

It's kinda like a large football.

And they are quite easy to work on.

no, I havnt held one in my hands.

and a large metal football.

and not THAT easy.

you were comparing apex seals to a 100k service.

so, a timing belt.

can knock over a timing belt in under an hour.

it takes 1hr for a rotory rebuild?

Yeah admittedly they don't make as much power N/A.

what I was getting at was they cheating way they calculate the capacity.

eg, '1.3' is really a 3.9l.

so, compare the rx8 to the new commo or falcon.

But Wankel Engines are a cool, odd thing.

there are alot of 'cool, odd things' I wouldnt own.

And are still fun to own because they make power faster than any other P plate legal NA engine.

refer back to my capacity/falcodore statement.