Hey all. I've never posted on SAU, mainly because I have never owned a Skyline.. I am however looking at buying a R32 Gtst, or possibly GTR. So i have been planning taking ownership in a GTR for years now, and now that i am able to I have had second thoughts of buying one. I plan on only having one car, so it will need to be a daily. And going through threads here it seems that most of you advise it would not be ideal for daily driving. So now I have been looking into Gtst, and a possible RB25DET Neo swap. The threads on SAU helped heaps, but im here for opinions on the idea. Do you think its better to pay 15-25k for a GTR, or build an RB25 R32 Gtst? (Gtst 5k + rb25det neo/box/ecu 4k + Labour ?)

Sorry if I have posted in the wrong section.

Vee.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/428169-r32-gts-t-limitations-vs-gtr/

After owning both and daily driving them, I would say the GTS-t is a better daily. Don't discount the RB20DET so much, they are a great engine. I slapped a NEO6 turbo on mine and easily returned 10L/100km or less if I stopped boosting it so much. Car was completely stock (engine, exhaust, suspension/wheels). Very easy to live with, and even had a factory sunroof! (Type M).

GT-R, a lot more expensive to run (12+L/100km with very easy driving), parts are more expensive, it's heavier and there's more things that will go wrong (ATTESA, HICAS) mainly because all of them will be thrashed.

BUT, and this is a big one, the way the GT-R drives is on a completely different level. The GTS-t feels tail happy, but is easier to drive (lighter, smaller turning circle). You can have a quick squirt through some hills/corners without much effort and it will be fun. GT-R feels like a restrained animal. The turbos comes on hard, feels heavier, as if more effort is required to drive it. But once you're on boost and ready to move, GT-R will decimate a lot of cars and quite easily yourself. You really have to take it to track days to fully open it up, it's just far too dangerous on the streets.

If you aren't driving much everyday and have the cash to spend when required, get the GT-R. If you do a fair bit of driving, get a GTS-t with as few mods as possible. Don't get me wrong, a near stock GT-R is very reliable, same with a GTS-t. Vehicle's history obviously plays a big part.

Depends what you are really going to be happy with, what you want in a car, how you want to drive it etc. Go for a drive in both and see. At the end of the day if you are going to go down the mod path then you need to work out what platform you want to start with. However if you decide on a gtr have $10k extra ready just in case.

whilst i reckon owning a 32 gtr would be great ive noticed that any skyline with the letters GTR on it seems to cost double to repair/replace

so its a cheap as gtst for me

That is true, reading through some threads on SAU and it seems ridiculous!

After owning both and daily driving them, I would say the GTS-t is a better daily. Don't discount the RB20DET so much, they are a great engine. I slapped a NEO6 turbo on mine and easily returned 10L/100km or less if I stopped boosting it so much. Car was completely stock (engine, exhaust, suspension/wheels). Very easy to live with, and even had a factory sunroof! (Type M).

GT-R, a lot more expensive to run (12+L/100km with very easy driving), parts are more expensive, it's heavier and there's more things that will go wrong (ATTESA, HICAS) mainly because all of them will be thrashed.

BUT, and this is a big one, the way the GT-R drives is on a completely different level. The GTS-t feels tail happy, but is easier to drive (lighter, smaller turning circle). You can have a quick squirt through some hills/corners without much effort and it will be fun. GT-R feels like a restrained animal. The turbos comes on hard, feels heavier, as if more effort is required to drive it. But once you're on boost and ready to move, GT-R will decimate a lot of cars and quite easily yourself. You really have to take it to track days to fully open it up, it's just far too dangerous on the streets.

If you aren't driving much everyday and have the cash to spend when required, get the GT-R. If you do a fair bit of driving, get a GTS-t with as few mods as possible. Don't get me wrong, a near stock GT-R is very reliable, same with a GTS-t. Vehicle's history obviously plays a big part.

Hey mate, thanks for the detailed reply. i will be driving frequently, hence decided to go with a GTS-T. It would be unfair to get a GTR and hardly use it for 'GTR like things' and just stack up kilometers on it.

Depends what you are really going to be happy with, what you want in a car, how you want to drive it etc. Go for a drive in both and see. At the end of the day if you are going to go down the mod path then you need to work out what platform you want to start with. However if you decide on a gtr have $10k extra ready just in case.

Thanks for the advice! It sounded ridiculous to me at the start, but its slowly sinking in (the 10k in the corner idea). LOL

I've been dailying my GT-R for almost two years. Used to drive 1,000km/wk at times. Expensive to run, but ballin' ain't cheap lol (my "daily" R31 was broken). It's not that hard to live with, my car has a heavy clutch, but it's pretty easy to drive in traffic. Just have to keep your boosting urges under control and you should see 12L/100km (assuming it's a good condition stocker). Highly modified ones are a different story I would imagine. Sydney roads are super shithouse so a car with low profile tyres and/or stiffer suspension will rattle you/itself to pieces.

But yeah, GTS-t is a far better option, especially if it came with factory sunroof! :D