Hey guys i was driving down to Mt buller a few days ago in the s15 and on a straight bit of road i clocked 180km and nekminit i see flashing blue and red disco lights in the mirror..the poo poo.. HEARTDROP

Anyways he asked me to go to his car and showed me his speed camera caught me at 158km and he said he got it all on film too hrm?!?!

So i was beeing very nice and sorry he said i have two choices:

1. He tows the car away on the sport and i go to court and get a result there, or

2. He gives me a fine (8 points, $720 and 12months suspension effective in 28 days) and i drive off.

I chose option two as i wanted to go Mt buller, but anyways now i want to take it to court to see if i can reduce the suspension as i have 6 cars that i drive and need my license 100%

On legal aid website it states:

Minimum suspension periods for excessive speed

Period

Excessive speed (amount over the speed limit)

1 month

25 km/hour or more but less than 35 km/hour

6 months

35 km/hour or more but less than 45 km/hour

12 months

45 km/hour or more

1 month

Any speed of 130 km/hour or more not covered above

I want to see my chances if i take it to court?? anyone been there for similar offences?? the cop said the court would probs give me more as ihad a full car load and roads wer semi wet :(

I hold a full south Australian license and the cop missed one number from my license number on the fine lol

I wanted to tell court my studies situation, i have one semester left on my bachelors to finish and need to find work experience before i graduate, every job requires a license(can show proof) and without work experience i cant graduate, so preety much i cant graduation is extended for 1 year.

what are peoples thoughts>???????? any help would be greatly appreciated.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/

Choices are...

1) Man up > face the consequences

2) Hire a lawyer to mitigate the suspension

3) Tourette's Syndrome sufferer missing medication that morning and had a spasm in the right foot

4) Getting a Victorian fine in the mail to a SA address > don't open the window envelope > check any window envelope to see if there are the words "Traffic" or "Infringement" and sending it back to sender

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/#findComment-6966189

Hey guys i was driving down to Mt buller a few days ago in the s15 and on a straight bit of road i clocked 180km and nekminit i see flashing blue and red disco lights in the mirror..the poo poo.. HEARTDROP

Anyways he asked me to go to his car and showed me his speed camera caught me at 158km and he said he got it all on film too hrm?!?!

Choices are...

1) Man up > face the consequences

FYP Terry, only 1 option

OP . Seriously you get what you deserve.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/#findComment-6966218

OP, you shouldn't have a licence at all. That's disgraceful. How you can even think you deserve to have your suspension reduced or that your situation should allow you to keep a licence after that is beyond me.

Admitting on the Internet what speed you were actually doing is also not a very smart thing to do.

If I read correctly you had a full load, as in passengers too? And the roads were damp? Time and a place...it's called a racetrack, by yourself.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/#findComment-6966255

Mate you're lucky they didn't impound it on the spot.. how much were you over the limit?

Don't like your chances having a full car load, wet roads, and doing 180km/h pretty stupid/wreckless I reckon. If you go to court you'll get charged with dangerous/wreckless driving and maybe conduct endangering life..

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/#findComment-6966296

Going to court is actually going to be worse TBH. The Prosecution will go you and can still impound your car as a result, given it's classified as under the Hoon Laws now (40km/h+)... So your kinda stuffed either way.

Get a lawyer and talk to them. It's going to cost you 1-2k at to get a decent one for a start.

Then maybe you plead to 145km/h (down from 158 so it's semi believable) but it's stil 40km/h over so you are still going to be walking. There is no way in this day and age, a Magistrate is not going to take your license and that is what the Police Prosecutor will be pushing for.

Radar, Video = you've got nothing to stand on and no sop story is going to save you. If you've also ever had a previous fine, forget any leniency.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/#findComment-6966320

You're going to think my responses are a bit douchey... but I'm in a bad mood and you don't seem to understand that you've actually done something wrong... 12 months without a licence may help remedy this...

on a straight bit of road i clocked 180km

Why?

If you wanted to show your mates you had a big dick, you could have just pulled out it for them...

i have 6 cars that i drive and need my license 100%

Having 6 cars does not make you in need of your licence... Living in a remote town and having to drive your sick mother to her dialysis appointment every week might have cut you a little slack...

On legal aid website it states:

Minimum suspension periods for excessive speed

12 months

45 km/hour or more

"Minimum"

the cop said the court would probs give me more as ihad a full car load and roads wer semi wet :(

Even more reason for them to increase the penalty

I hold a full south Australian license and the cop missed one number from my license number on the fine lol

omg lol!!!1!!

I wanted to tell court my studies situation, i have one semester left on my bachelors to finish and need to find work experience before i graduate, every job requires a license(can show proof) and without work experience i cant graduate, so preety much i cant graduation is extended for 1 year.

This is something that is seen as a consequence of your actions. Fortunately, the consequence does not involve you explaining to your mates families how you killed their sons.
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/#findComment-6966336

I got a similar fine to this and copped it sweet, even though I think that where I got caught is quite a stupid stretch of road. Coming off M1 goes from 100 to 60.. I stayed at 100.

Got me at 101kms an hour in a 60 zone.

1km less and I could of kept my licence..

I received a $2300 fine 11 points and 6 months suspension.

Was in my festiva... :(

But honestly just cop it, if you expect to get off Scott free, your dreaming.

Bad luck mate.

It's been 3 years since my last fine/traffic insistent so I am pleased with myself haha..

Edited by Zrobe
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/#findComment-6966361

I don't need anyone telling me i did the wrong thing, i understand and know i have to face the consequences.. but i want to at least try if i can by any chance change the prosecution, and anyone here would if they were in my shoes..

My last and only other speeding fine was back in 2008 and only incurred 1 point.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/#findComment-6966411

It would be a bad move wanting to take it to court and i think most lawyers will advise against it. Stick with option two and you only lose your licence once you have paid the fine. You can get upto 3 extentions on your fine but you have to call them before the payment is due. So atleast you can extend it by four months before you lose your licence, which would probably help a little. Then Just suck it up and take taxi/public transport or whatever

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/430102-speeding/#findComment-6966464