Love my RB30/26, would never go back to having the 2.6

Makes heaps more torque at a much lower rev range, and it doesn't need to be revved to death to make power.

.....car should have come with it already in here.....

To do the complete oil fix properly it's a head off job anyway. One of the best things you can do is improve the head oil returns to the sump. I reckon I took about 10mm out of my head around each of the 2 main holes, they're so much smaller than the galleries in the block.. Nissan really did do a shit job at the factory of finishing off the head.

Yeh I realise this... What I'm thinking I mite do is: I'm on a good thing with a very reasonably priced fully built 30/26. I'll buy this engine and keep my 26 and do the oil mods and have it as a spare... If the 30/26 lasts say 10,000km I'll deem the build reliable and then I mite think of selling the 26?

Yeh I realise that. My thinking is: the 26 is stock so you know it is put together perfectly at Nissan with the added piece of mind I have already tried and tested it. The 30 has been built by a shop and all it takes is one small thing to go wrong and bang...

I agree. My car has been off the road for 12 months now building my 30. Leave the 26 in until the 30 is ready to bang in. I did the same as what you're proposing- buying a built 30 assuming I could whack it straight in and away I go. Mine was a lump of shit and I had to start completely from scratch. Don't waste your time unless you're 100% on the engine you're buying. If you don't have a young family and other committments then you'll bowl it over a lot quicker than what I will!

I have a 30 block and a 26 head for sale if your interested mate.

I would have built it but other things come up and my 26 doesnt show any signs of letting go anytime soon.

PM if your interested.

Hmmmm ok. Anyone here that has had both and can explain why it will be that much better apart from the moderate power gain?

have had both.

for street, go the 30, alot nicer to drive due to better low end.

for track, keep the 26 until it pops, the replace with a built 26.

alot easier to swap in/out if anything happens as everything just bolts up.

where abouts are you located?

response and power out of corners come down to turbo selection.

see if you can go for a ride in someones car that has the conversion.

was going to offer, but its a little far for you to travel.

Honestly, if it's 90% track you don't need anymore power. As previously said put some forgies and rods, balance it up, get the oil control sorted and your done. Spend the rest on chassis and suspension setup. 370 is more than enough. Also a revving 26 sounds much nicer than a stroker or a 26/30. Whoops did I say that....sorry.