Remap

Lumpy ROM it

you dont get a cool blue screen though but you do get complete ignition an fuel mapping

once the chip is in if you alter any hardware on your engine its just back to teh dyno for tuning not another chip,

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-80581

ive spoken to lumpy about this and he quoted me $500 per remap

i got the 1st gen SAFC.

to buy the unit, fit and tune it cost me under $300 and gave me an extra 45rwhp. so i think this worked out better for my situation as im still at the stage when im fiddling around with modifications. remapping is just too expensive when you need to continually refine the tuning...

and as has been said before (refer to grandenko for full detials) the AFC indirectly affects timing. not by much, but for the price an AFC is worthwhile particularly if u pick up a 2nd hand one and arent bothered about having a blue neon screen

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-80582

R32 once the lumpy rom is installed it isnt $500 per alteration. $500 gets the chip in there then you hit the dyno.... want to alter your mapping ings afm etc hit the dyno for tuning fee.

Jim thats a "how longs a piece of string" question

Sky dragon every experience so far with the canine ecu has fallen short ..... e.g on a R31 with R32 Rb20det went from 185rwhp to 175rwhp on same dyno !

R32 RB20det RB25det ecu .... 212 rwhp on 14psi then the canine 190rwhp on 14psi same dyno

they over fuel the earlier ones idle like a pig.... the V4 is far better... but $2200 odd drive in out mmmm

Lumpy ROM a WA venture doesnt get more home grown than that

Im trying to express my personal first hand experiences, not net parroting.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81332

Wassabi,

I'd go the Power FC for sure, I got mine through Nengun for an unbeatable price and it took just 3 days to get here. It cost me $300 for install and tuning by Lumpy, and i picked up 30rwhp from 3500rpm right through to around 6000rpm. Car runs heaps better, comes on boost harder, and pulls like a train right to redline. Plus you loose the 180 speed limiter, can upgrade afm, injectors and keep and eye on pinging and other stuff with the commander...

Id definately recommend Nengun, I'll be using him again....

And Lumpy for tuning...

Brett

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81473

Heya EVL R33,

I picked up 20 RWHP from SAFC, so for an extra $900 sounds like it aint too bad. $900 for extra 10HP aint too bad considering that FMIC worth $2000 gives you about 20rwhp...

I too am thinking about upgrading to PowerFC.

Just one thing though dude... your sig at the bottom of your post says 210RWHP on lumpys dyno... i didn't think he had a dyno.... i think he uses someone else....

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81483

25Gtt,

Yeah he has a mate who just brought his own dyno a few weeks ago, and Glen will be using that one for all his work now. I don't know the other fella's name so I called it Lumpy's dyno cause I'm lazy... ha ha ha

I was tossing up whether to get the Safc but for a PFC at $1450 including shipping and hand controller it was too good to pass up...

Brett

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81490

Originally posted by EVL R33

25Gtt,

Yeah he has a mate who just brought his own dyno a few weeks ago,  and Glen will be using that one for all his work now.  I don't know the other fella's name so I called it Lumpy's dyno cause I'm lazy...   ha ha ha

I was tossing up whether to get the Safc but for a PFC at $1450 including shipping and hand controller it was too good to pass up...

Brett

:) fair enough. That is good to here that c-red have got a dyno now...

Do you think the hand controller is worth the extra $$$? does it get in the way? This is one of the reasons from holding me back originally from getting the Power FC. Is there a way to fine tune everything using someone elses hand controller then giving it back???

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81499

The commander is definately worth getting if you can get a good price.... You can monitor up 10 different parameters in real time (knock, injector duty, air flow, water temp, speed, revs, ingition advance, intake air temp(not on GTSTs though) and battery voltage). It's really good for when you are giving the car heaps cause it stores peak values as well so you can see where it's pinging, at what revs etc... I've got mine mounted just to the right of the air con, so it's easy to see but not in the way of anything..

You can use someone elses H/c to tune yours if you can get one, but I believe there are different versions around that may not work with older / really new PFC's. The problem you will have in borrowing one is like mine if it's installed into the car you have to take things apart to unplug it.... Not too hard a job but a bit of a hassle I guess....

Brett

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81507

Thanks for all your help and advice guys, i have had my powerfc at my house for over 3 weeks now, and don't get me wrong i went and met lumpy he is a hell champ- but they just dont seem to have time to help me with my car as since the first time we spoke was over a month ago.....

think i will be going to PSI tomorrow- i have heard good and bad about every performance shop in this state, so i figure if i just dont run it over 14psi with the avcr it should be sweet now i have a big fuel pump

once again thanks guys

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81545

Sweet! Psi are good to me and you don't have to wait for ages to get things organised.

Hey let me know what you r dyno figure is and how much it goes up by. I would be interested to see how much of an increase between the SAFC and the power FC.

thanks Dude!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81571

Wassabi,

I know what you mean about C-Red, Lumpy is a great guy and an expert and tuning the PFC's but a bit unreliable in terms of getting back to you with info and dates.. Though in his defence he is extremely busy and always getting interupted with phone calls and people wanting to pick his brain (read me!!!) ha ha ha

PSI are pretty good to, just way to far for me to travel....

Did you go through Nengun for the PFC??

Brett

P.S. did you know there is a dark green/black Jag driving around with WASABI number plates....

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81573

yeh thanks dudes, i think PSI will get the business its just a matter of him hunting down one of his mates to borrow a controller as i dont have one... um i bought my FC off a guy on here in sydney called merli for 1200... has to be ****ing tuned properly though as it was making 300rwKW with a ****ing hks gt 3040!!! ehehehe

ans yeh i seen that ****ing jag, i wanted the origional spelling of WASABI bu ti couldnt get it so for some dumb reason i got 2 s's but i am sick of it now so I ordered "GOTRICE" which should be on my beats next week

cheers boys

oh yeh btw getting rid of my front bar its too girly and curvy for me, think i might get fibre vision to chuck on a nismo 400R they reckon about 480 for the front and 850 all up to fit it and shit? sound like a good deal?

anyone wanna buy my old veilside front? sorry for changing thread but i started it so fck it :lol:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/4335-safc-vs-p-fc/page/2/#findComment-81588