great insight - you're 100% right, the best drivers always get the seats and other factors like politics, cash, marketing, timing never come into it in F1.

It doesn't matter anyway - he'll only be keeping the seat warm for a year until Verstappen hops in. That's why they're risking the young guy with no runs on the board. And putting JEV in the car would be like an admission they were wrong... They'd look like morons announcing one minute he sacked and the next minute he's being promoted to Red Bull.

Edited by hrd-hr30

who said anything bad about Dan? I thought I was talking about JEV. Dan's going great in the Red Bull obviously, and everyone likes him. But 2 years is a long time in F1 terms and he never managed to equal his team mate's best results in those 2 years. They finished those 2 years 1-all with just 1 point seperating them. JEV deserves a go in a better car far more than Kvyat does.

Well, good luck to JEV running around in Nissan's sportscar program. If I was him I would leave as another season at STR is just going to make him the Luizzi measuring stick

BUT, for me a more interesting discusson is Hulk and Perez. Seriously, Perez has come on strong and I am thinking that McLaren all happened that little bit too soon for him. He is having a cracking back half of the season

I serioulsy hope Button doesn't end up at Porsche. Can you imagine half way through le Mans him wanting to chanrge the car setup as the car gets understeer and cant drive around/to the characteristics of the track and car. :)

Let him go to Nissan as well, he can listen to Jev whine about how he was as good as Dan

I serioulsy hope Button doesn't end up at Porsche. Can you imagine half way through le Mans him wanting to chanrge the car setup as the car gets understeer and cant drive around/to the characteristics of the track and car. :)

Let him go to Nissan as well, he can listen to Jev whine about how he was as good as Dan

If he is doing that what's Harry going to do?

unlike some I'm a fan of F1, not just one or two drivers. I don't even have a favourite driver.

There's some I like because they've got some talent. One I favour because his team mate is an absolute wanker. Others I take an interest in because of a bit of a backstory. Some I like because they're underdogs or unfavoured. I don't understand blind fans of one driver who bag all the others...

Guess we are all F1 fans otherwise we wouldn't be here talking about it.

Used to watch it when it was on channel 9 after the Sunday movie which finished at 10.30pm if you were lucky. Remember sitting there hoping Brabham could drag his Brabham/Simtek into the top 18 just so you could see how many laps down he was. So when a yocal with half a chance is running he gets my support, doubly so when he is the only one from WA to ever have had a go. Probably the closest I will get to fanboism.

But outside that and outside a hatred for all things Ferrari I am not massively bothered by who wins. Do like to see driving talent rewarded and the middle ranked teams stay in the hunt for half a result every now and then. Which is why the current arrangement where Ferrari gouge all the coin sh!ts me to tears. Well done to Lauda and Merc for letting Britney and Homo have a fight. Otherwise it would be like the Schumacher era all over again - and that sucked badly enough the first time.

The JEV thing is an example. Most young drivers with a good future turn up and qualify well, but lack race craft. Eg Hakkinen when he turned up at McLaren and scared a somewhat complacent Senna. What improves is their speed (a bit as the comparison of quali performances over the year shows) but more so their race performance. Which I reckon is why Kvyat is getting an RB drive and JEV not. That and the fact that Russia is probably a market with more growth in it for that god awful cats piss than France.

Almost every new driver scared Senna. Alesi & Irvine, to name just a couple, while driving much lesser machinery.

The reason Kvyat is getting the drive is simply because they only need a filler for 1 year until Verstappen gets promoted, which is an obvious
fait accompli. And, as you say, marketing reasons. It's obviously not on merit. To claim qualifying performances as justification for his promotion to RBR is laughable, but we've already been over that - Qualifying 9-7 by +0.072s. The only way it could be closer is if it was dead even! And these days with the tyres and DRS qualifying is less important than ever.

And Red Bull are certainly not in the business of playing the long game with their young driver program - they're not promoting him in the hope that in time he'll mature into a great racer. he doesn't have time - Verstappen has dibs on that seat for 2016.

Nope, it's seat warming and marketing that got him the RBR drive.

Edited by hrd-hr30

Maybe but when Hakkinen turned up (replacing Andretti) he out paced Senna in the same car in either practice or quali in Spain or similar with the first round they drove for the same team (cant remember). Which really got his attention. I think Irvine just pissed him off. Which he did to a lot of people. Irvine is one of my heroes. On very little talent he gouged huge coin out of F1. If only I had a little talent...

Was trying to point out not the difference in the quali average (0.072 sec) but the improvement that Kvyat is managing. In the first 7 races he was beaten 5 times. 1.5 seconds behind in Australia no less. Since then he has been infront 7 out of 9 times.

Anyway I seem to have more faith than you, but I guess well find out next year.

That's so crap! Tony simply put too much faith in retard Gascoyne....cost and complexity of new engines obviously not helping either

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/116445

Some suppliers are going to get screwed whilst assets are moved around, debt written off and team continues. What do you expect when you have a Romanian in charge :)

Really would like to see sleeker more elegant cars with less aero and way more tyre....help even the cars up without uber aero budgets and development

Probably. Maybe :) I wonder which V8 Supercar team Sam Michael is going ot come back and be a hack for?

Shame he sucked at Williams and McLaren. I have read he is actually very good but simpy overworked at Williams and landed in a sh1t storm at McLaren. It was UK journo but could be your typical "make excuses for the Aussie and make out he is great even though he is average"

This is gunna turn into one if those unnecessarily protracted sort of affairs that everyone already knows the outcome of, right?..

http://m.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/116456/caterham-f1-bosses-issue-quit-threat

Yep.