Hi Guys,

We have just announced a trial class at the up coming Jamboree event in QLD. It will cater of slick tyres untubbed cars, and below is the press release and attached rules and regs.

I STRESS THIS IS A TRIAL CLASS ONLY!!!

We are hosting the class as a promoter discretion class that will be used by ANDRA to asses the viability of these types of vehicles. If the class is well subscribed we will be potentially looking to make it a permanent fixture on the ANDRA Sport Compact racing scene.

I hope you like our work.

cheers for now

Jason O'Halloran

ANDRA Sport Compact Director

Press Release.

ANDRA is proud to be associated with an exciting new trial drag racing class making it’s debut at the up coming Fast Fours Jamboree event at the Willowbank Raceway in Queensland on the 18th and 19th of September. OZ Modified is the brain child of ANDRA Sport Compact Director Jason O’Halloran, Small Car Promotions CEO Ray Box and Ausrotary Forum Moderator Rob Iacona.

ANDRA is giving serious consideration to the permanent implementation of this class, and hence will be assessing the classes popularity and entry levels.

Entry for the Fast Fours Jamboree will be available from 23rd of June, and all entry forms can be downloaded from www.jamboree.com.au

Good luck and happy racing!

Jason O’Halloran

Ray Box

CEO Small Car Promotions

Rob Iaconna

Ausrotary.com.au

OZ MOD

Designation

OM preceded by car number.

Designed for RWD cars only. No full chassis or back half cars allowed. Slick tyres with a maximum size of 28” x 9”.

Minimum Weights

2 Rotor & 4 cylinder 2,100 lbs, maximum two power adders

3 Rotor & 6 cylinder 2,650 lbs, maximum two power adders

All weights include driver, verified after the run.

1. ENGINE

1.1 Engine:

Any 4 cylinders, Rotary or Overhead Cam 6 cylinder engine permitted. Engine swaps permitted. Maximum 2 power adders. Redundant power adders, such as a dual stage nitrous system or twin turbos, will be counted as one power adder.

1.2 Exhaust:

Open exhaust permitted, except where prohibited by track rules.

1.3 Fuel:

Pump and race fuel as approved by ANDRA’s Homologated Fuels List. See General Regulations 1.6 and 1.7.

1.4 Fuel System:

See General Regulations 1.8.

1.5 Liquid Overflow:

See General Regulations 1.9.

1.6 Nitrous Oxide:

Commercially available nitrous oxide permitted, including for supercharged and turbocharged engines. Nitrous bottle(s) in driver compartment must be equipped with a relief valve and vented outside of driver’s compartment. Hoses from bottle(s) to solenoid must be high-pressure steel-braided. Commercially available, thermostatically controlled, blanket-type warmer accepted. Any other external heating of bottle(s) prohibited. See General Regulations 1.12.

1.7 Supercharger, Turbocharger:

Permitted. Liquid intercoolers limited to water and/or ice ONLY. See General Regulations 1.13. Screw-type supercharger prohibited.

2. DRIVELINE

2.1 Driveline:

Driveshaft loop required on all cars. See General Regulations 2.4.

2.2 Flywheel Shield:

All manual-transmission-equipped cars running quicker than 10.99 must have a flywheel shield labeled as meeting minimum SFI Spec 4.1 or 9.1. Applications for which an SFI Spec 4.1 or 9.1 flywheel shield is not available may use an SFI Spec 6.1 or 9.1 flywheel shield from another application, attached to a motor plate that is attached to the engine block at all available bolt holes, or a fabricated shield made of 1/4-inch-thick steel, surrounding the bell housing 360 degrees, extending 1 inch forward and 1 inch rearward of the rotating clutch assembly. Shield must be securely attached to frame or frame structure; may be multi-piece.

2.3 Transmission, Automatic:

Non-original automotive transmission permitted without weight penalty. Transmission brake permitted. See General Regulations 2.1 & 2.2

2.4 Transmission Manual

Any transmission permitted. Automated, timer-type, air-shifted, pneumatic, electric, electronic, hydraulic, etc. shifting mechanism prohibited; each individual shift must be a function of the driver and controlled manually. (Driver must pull the lever.) Sequential or clutch-less transmissions permitted.

3. BRAKE & SUSPENSION

3.1 Brakes:

Four-wheel hydraulic brakes mandatory. See General Regulations 3.1. Carbon fiber brake rotors prohibited.

3.2 Steering:

Aftermarket steering gear permitted. See General Regulations 3.3.

3.3 Suspension, Front:

Upper mounting point for strut assemblies must be in the factory location. Adjustable caster/camber pillow ball mounts are permitted. Lower control arm may be strengthened provided factory-mounting points to chassis are maintained. Lower mounting point for strut assembly may be modified for improved caster or camber. Strut tower braces, lower tie bars, sway bars, and limit straps are permitted. Traction bars/devices permitted; must be bolt on ONLY.

3.4 Suspension, Rear:

Traction bars/ladder bar devices permitted. Control arms may be strengthened or replaced. Strut tower braces, lower tie bars, sway bars, limit straps, and camber kits permitted. Rear suspension must maintain minimum shock travel of 1 inch. All rear suspensions must use at least one working shock absorber per wheel.

3.5 Wheelie Bars:

Permitted. Maximum length 65 inches from rear bumper. May be adjustable, but must be fixed during run. Any movement or adjustment during run prohibited. Pneumatics, hydraulics, electronics, etc. prohibited. Wheelie-bar wheels must spin free at the starting line. Any preload prohibited.

4. FRAME

4.1 Ballast:

Permitted. See General Regulations 4.2.

4.2 Chassis:

OEM chassis rails, with complete OEM floor pan and firewall mandatory. Back-half conversions, tube chassis, etc. prohibited. Original frame rails and OEM floor to remain; stretching guards and enlarged wheel tubs to accommodate maximum 28” x 9” tyre is allowed. Rear tyres must not protrude outside the body work. Engine must be in OEM location for body used. FWD to RWD conversions prohibited. Non-OEM tubing in front of firewall prohibited except to tie shock towers to roll cage. See General Regulations 4.3, 4.7.

4.3 Ground Clearance:

Minimum 3 inches from front of car to 12 inches behind centerline of front axle, 2 inches for remainder of car (except for exhaust more than 12 inches behind centerline of front axle).

4.4 Parachute:

See General Regulations 4.6.

4.5 Wheelbase:

Must retain original wheelbase for body used, plus or minus 1 inch. Maximum wheelbase variation from left to right is 1 inch.

5. TYRES & WHEELS

5.1 Tyres:

Only racing slicks permitted. Maximum tyre size of 28” x 9” permitted.

5.2 Wheels:

Must be automotive-type wheels suitable for street or racing use. Minimum wheel size 13 inches unless originally equipped with smaller wheels and vehicle is equipped with original engine. Wheel studs must be threaded into hex portion of lug nut a distance at least equal to the diameter of the stud. Spindle mounts prohibited. See General Regulations 5.3.

6. INTERIOR

6.1 Interior:

Upholstery, headliners, carpets, OEM dashboard, etc. optional. If OEM dashboard is removed, must be replaced with fabricated or aftermarket unit to provide finished appearance. Must be equipped with one seat minimum for driver, properly installed. Holes, slots, or other openings in floor and/or firewall prohibited.

6.2 Window Net:

See General Regulations 6.2.

7. BODY

7.1 Body:

Any import or domestic body permitted. Mild customizing permitted, but must retain full-size, full-bodied appearance and silhouette, at the discretion of ANDRA, with minimum 2 functional doors. Doors must open and close from inside and outside. OEM glass may be replaced with Lexan or other shatterproof material, minimum thickness 1/8-inch. OEM shell (roof, quarter panels, rocker panels, rocker boxes, firewall, A-pillars, floor pan from rear of driver’s seat forward, minus 8 square feet for transmission removal, full unibody structure from firewall to front of strut tower) must be retained. Lightweight body panels limited to bonnet, guard, and boot lid.

7.2 Firewall:

OEM firewall mandatory. See General Regulations 7.4.

7.3 Floor:

OEM floor pan, from rear of driver’s seat forward mandatory, minus 8 square feet for transmission removal.

7.4 Street Equipment:

Headlights may be painted on; OEM taillight assemblies mandatory.

8. ELECTRICAL

8.1 Batteries:

Batteries must be securely mounted; may not be located in driver compartment unless sealed off per General Regulations. See General Regulations 8.1.

8.2 Ignition:

Two steps, rev limiters, etc. permitted. See General Regulations 8.3.

9. SUPPORT GROUP

9.1 Computer:

Prohibited. Electronic Fuel Injection Permitted. See General Regulation 9.2.

9.2 Data Recorder:

Permitted. Wheel-speed sensors of any type on any wheel, including wheelie-bar wheel(s), prohibited. See General Regulations 9.3.

9.3 Fire Extinguisher System:

Permitted; must be securely mounted. See General Regulations 9.4.

9.4 Tow Vehicles:

Permitted; however, ANDRA may, at random intervals, require race vehicle to return to scales under its own power. See General Regulations 9.9.

9.5 Warm-Ups:

See General Regulations 9.10.

10. DRIVER

10.1 Credentials:

All drivers must have an ANDRA competition License. ANDRA competition License mandatory for driver of any car running 10.99 or quicker. See Section 1 - Credentials.

10.2 Driver Restraint System:

See General Regulations 10.11.

10.3 Helmet:

See General Regulations 10.8.

10.4 Neck Collar:

See General Regulations 10.10.

10.5 Protective Clothing:

See General Regulations 10.10.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/44022-new-untubbed-class-at-jambo-04/

looks like a class designed for rotors, with the minimum wieght and max size tyre tyre being exectly what most mazdas can fit under the gaurds, Why even bother with the 6cyl part and just call it straight out 2 rotor and 3 rotor classes? I really can't see it being fair at all for Skylines as we weigh more and can fit a bigger slick under the OEM rear but aren't allowed to?

Sorry but I thought RWD6 was a Drag Combat class......nothing to do with ANDRA Sport Compact racing!

As far as weights go....the 6 cylinder weight is nearly 1000pounds lighter than Sport RWD (ANDRA Sport Compact class!) and Theo Woollet ran 9.98 at 146 MPH in that class. I would have thought the Skyline boys would have been jumping for joy at the OZ Mod weight breaks! I guess if you have enough horsepower, and a light enough car then you would be competitive.

Lets see 1650 pound R33 GTS-T, trick gearbox with a set of 28x9 slicks, and a 400 hp RB25 oh and as the weight is for a car with two.....YES THAT"S RIGHT TWO...count em!!! Power adders - you can have NOS as well.

I think that car would be very competitive.......I guess someone will have to take it to the Rotary boys and show them how's it's done.

Jason O'Halloran

BU5TER,

Since R33's and such weigh in around 3,100 lbs that means you can drop a good 500lbs off the weight if you want to lighten the car. Thats pretty generous i reckon. Nothing stopping people from entering a heavier car than the minimum.

When it comes to drag racing i this sort of category, chook cookers are very hard to beat.

RWD6 class in the sports compact rules

what one dude?

this is okay but when was the last time any of us had to compete against a tubbed rotary? Don't get very excited about things like this until i see street tyre class mentioned more often :(

Would love to have a much lighter R33 with 400 hp and slicks but kinda destroys the street car idea!>!>!?!?!?

we'll see.

Adrian

Sorry but I thought RWD6 was a Drag Combat class......nothing to do with ANDRA Sport Compact racing!

Sorry my bad calling it RWD6 insead of Sport RWD, will there still be the sport rwd class?

As far as weights go....the 6 cylinder weight is nearly 1000pounds lighter than Sport RWD (ANDRA Sport Compact class!) and Theo Woollet ran 9.98 at 146 MPH in that class. I would have thought the Skyline boys would have been jumping for joy at the OZ Mod weight breaks!

Theo Woollet's AWD GTR could fly to the moon for all I care, all i'm interesed in is RWD, so you think we'd be over the moon because we now have the choice of OZ Mod which is set up for rotors ie the weight and the size tyre allowed or Sport RWD where we get to race the big HP GTR's aswell mmm maybe its just me but neither seems fair, even with weight reduction ... what we might get down to 2700 pounds if we've stripped the shit out of the car which would include driver and roll cage etc

Lets see 1650 pound R33 GTS-T, trick gearbox with a set of 28x9 slicks, and a 400 hp RB25 oh and as the weight is for a car with two.....YES THAT"S RIGHT TWO...count em!!! Power adders - you can have NOS as well.

And in what world is there a 1650 pound GTST ie roughly 750kg, I agree if there were such a thing it would be competitive but sadly there isn't and why is it a 9" slick max, we can fit a 10.5" slick which i'm pretty sure a Supra can aswell where did these sizes and weights come from ... it wouldn't have been from the rotory boys would it? Where was the input from other cars ie like Supras or Skylines?

"Yes thats right 2 power adders" what the 2 power adders is for the heavier cars only? if not honestly what has it got to do with keeping things fair as the lighter cars will use THE YEP THATS RIGHT 2 POWER ADDERS ASWELL

I've been following the thread for the last few weeks on Ausrotory http://ausrotary.dntinternet.com/forums/vi...pic.php?t=37786 http://ausrotary.dntinternet.com/forums/vi...1998&highlight= and really think that even though you've chucked the 6cyl name into the 3 rotor class that its really a class for the rotor boys made up by the rotor boys and no real consideration has been made towards the other imports/non rotor racers ie Skylines/Supras etc

Please Jason feel free to prove me wrong and tell me where and how other types of cars were asked for input into this class as I could be wrong

OZ Modified is the brain child of ANDRA Sport Compact Director Jason O’Halloran, Small Car Promotions CEO Ray Box and Ausrotary Forum Moderator Rob Iacona.

I think the brainchild of an Ausrotary moderator sums it up.

This class will be good for rotor vs. rotor which is all well and good.

In all honesty I think there needs to be a class for RWD cars with one power adder running on 'street tyres'

Would be very competitive with skylines, VL's, 200sx's, Supras.

I have always wondered what kind of times the VL's would run with Nitto's, etc.

Evan

Ok your opinions are justified.......1650pounds errrr TYPO TYPO that should have read 2650pounds!!!!

So lets address a few issues;

Why do you all think Rotaries are the bee's knee's in drag racing? I thought the Pro RWD classes in the US was dominated by MEGA-HP 6 Cylinder weapons of mass destruction?

rev210 states he thinks that rotor's are hard to beat? I know they can be fast and powerful, but their drag racing reliability has always been questionable! I know heaps of rotor teams that would love to switch to piston power....just for reliabilities sake.

DON"T BE SCARED OF THEM......BEAT THEM! The Yanks do!

This class is a TRIAL CLASS!!!!! All the parameters are being trialled!!! I have had not one email from any member of Skylinesaustralia.com.au regarding Sport Compact drag racing!!! If you really give a toss about this sort of motorsport why have you not emailed me? I know it's not my job to chase you!! I want Skylines/ Supra's etc in this class and the rules that have been formulated have been done so to attract a majority of players not a boutique few like the rotor boys. As for tyre sizes.....that 28 x 9 is a MAXIMUM SIZE...you can run a smaller version if you like.

This class is a hybrid between the Sport Mod class and the Sport RWD class. It is for racers who have cars that are not ideally suited for the street and are more strip orientated......stripped out GTST.....I'm sure someone has thought about it....haven't they?

I hate treading on people's toes, but the reality is that there has been a 'hole' in the Sport Compact racing scene. This class is aimed at fixing that problem, and I appologise if you feel left out. I am trying to cater for everyone, and I need your support. If you have an opinion that is constructive, then let me know. Don't sit on the fence and tell me what I'm doing wrong.......jump in and help the sport grow into a viable product we can all enjoy.

After all I own an old Mk 1 Cortina Lotus replica.....without the knowledge of this forum...where else do I go for info and input on Skylines?

Thanks for listening to me ramble

Jason O'Halloran

As for tyre sizes.....that 28 x 9 is a MAXIMUM SIZE...you can run a smaller version if you like.

Jason, the concern is that VL's, Skylines, Supras and the like would prefer a 10" slick as a maximum. Just about every untubbed VL in the country runs a 10" slick. Is this supposed to be designed to leave these cars out of the class?

Mate, we're not sitting on the fence. This is our little way of contributing.

Adrian

Like I said it is a starting point, there is a major discussion going at the moment as to the elegibility of the VL's....so I will leave that one alone at this point of time.

I understand the 10 inch slick dilema...but again it's a starting point. I hope you can all understand what we are trying to achieve with this trial class, and as far as having input.....I don't take suggestions from forum websites.....you will need to email/ or snail mail me at ANDRA for a potential suggestion to be registered.

Anyway all that shyte aside.....what's the story with this rumoured 700hp RWD GTS? Who has it where is it from?

Oh and I hear through the grape vine that some NZ cars are coming for Jambo!!!

GTR, Gazelle and a Pro RWD car is what I have been told!

cheers for the input

Jason O'Halloran

.....what's the story with this rumoured 700hp RWD GTS? Who has it where is it from?

I dunno which one you're talking about but there is certainly another one about to join the ranks and it's in Sydney.

NZ cars for Jamboree? Any white, 32, gtr's???

Adrian

Like I said it is a starting point, there is a major discussion going at the moment.

I understand the 10 inch slick dilema...but again it's a starting point.

Firstly, I appreciate that you're trying to do a good thing with this new class.

But I really can't understand what there is to warrant "major discussion"... Perhaps you'd like to update us on what you guys are "majorly discussing" in reference to allowing 10" slicks?

As far as I can see, the ONLY reason why 9" slicks were specified as maximum is because of the rotor boys, which alienates and classes out the rest of the eligible cars you are apparently trying to cover with this class?

I can't see any need for discussion really, if you want to cater for Skylines, Supras, VLs, etc in this class, you're going to have to bump the maximum slick size to 10"?

If you don't, you've effectively made this a rotary-only class. What's there to discuss?

'Major discussion' was in reference to the VL commodore inclusion into the Sport Compact arena! I made no reference to slick size being under major discussion.

I am trying to get the ball rolling with the whole 'untubbed' car thing here in Australia, I'm sorry if you feel I have left you and your cars out.....but as this is a TRIAL CLASS (mentioned five times so far!!!!!!) I have no doubt we will be making changes at a later date.

I am offering you an alternative option to race when you attend Jambo, if you decide to take this opportunity then that up to you.

I undertsand that everyone is free to give their opinions, however I would have expected a little more support from this forum for what was on the table, please remember 8 months ago the whole import/ sport compact scene was a jumbled mess of unorganised, poorly run events that wern't taken seriously by any of the mainstream drag racing community. With out the correct guidance and input.....we could end up back there.

thank you for your input

Jason O'Halloran

I think you deserve some kudo's for trying to get the whole Import scene into a legitimate class. What I can see happening is the rotaries getting up and running first, as there are already squillions already competing in various levels already. Once you start introducing other makes/types the playing field will start to get leveled, in the form of weight breaks, tyre widths etc. But until it's up and running you can't start to restrict things as you don't know if there are going to be any other forms of vehicles, and what they are going to be running.

'Major discussion' was in reference to the VL commodore inclusion into the Sport Compact arena!

Where do they fit in exactly and what are the points of view? Is there another forum we should be aware of where this is being discussed?

Adrian

Sorry if I sounded harsh, I do appreciate what you are doing and I loved attending the Jamboree.

VL's are one of the most developed RWD (street) drag cars in the country and a lot of people are right behind them. Skylines, Supras, etc. are starting to catch up and it is an awesome thing to see.

VL's all want to be the fastest in the country and I am sure you are aware of the huge rivalry.

I think that if the country's fastst VL's got behind sports compact racing that the crowds would increase as their is a huge audience for them (skylines as well).

I would of thought that if you REALLY wanted this sport to take off and be huge you would be trying to get these big name cars to race.

Once again I think you are doing a gret job.

Evan