Hey guys i recently brought a 1995 r33 and found out its has 4 wheel steering and after research i found out the hicas light that is always on is related to it, so iv taken some pics and thought id share them and ask what do you think the problem may be thanks guys :)

I dont think its a issue with the apexi ecu but if you think it is id be glad to know :)

Here are as many pics that i thought may help as you can see a orange and black wire have been cut behind the steering wheel (btw i can not get the car into hicas diagnostic mode but in the apexi hand held controler i can see that the steering sensor is working if its the same one i dont know

post-140354-0-12827200-1434167918_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-95104800-1434167938_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-31802600-1434167959_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-98680900-1434167991_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-75813900-1434168013_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-88202500-1434168073_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-55056200-1434168096_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-98246400-1434168147_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-04117700-1434168172_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-12807600-1434168194_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-91335000-1434168222_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-70471100-1434168243_thumb.jpg

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/457438-r33-gtst-hicas-issue/

Oh 1 last question if i reset my apexi ecu will the tune be lost its running a safe tune and i know due to a mates skyline that after his battery was flat for a month his car was having troubble and blew up, it would some times load the right tune sometimes not.... should i worrie about disconnecting the battery?

The engine ecu does nothing with the HICAS, it has its own ECU

Pull the boss kit off and make sure it is installed properly. There is a tank that goes into the boss kit that needs to move perfectly with the wheel. Even a little bit of play there will cause an error.

Which steering sensor are you talking about? Im guessing in the sensor/sw check page and looking at the "STR" lighting up when you turn? Its a pressure switch that gives the ECU a feedback when there is pressure in the power steering rack to make sure the engine doesnt drop revs due to the extra load

Thanks for the info ok ill pull the boss kit off tomorrow and have a look i did take a better pic of the bosskit i think it isnt hicas compatible as it has no wires off of it like id seen on another one and ok yeah i searched it up this arvo and found out that from google about the powersteering :)

post-140354-0-89799800-1434205586_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-66166100-1434205618_thumb.jpg

post-140354-0-00472200-1434205645_thumb.jpg

There should be only 1 wire from memory off the wheel for the horn. Nothing in the boss kit plugs into HICAS, it locates in a hub that turns (steering angle sensor) which in turn has wires off it. A photo straight on of the hub with the steering wheel off will help and a photo of the boss kit straight on where it sits up against the hub

Are there any noticable problems? Heavy power steering etc? May just be that the rear steer isnt working? Honestly you dont miss it when its gone, i was determined to keep mine all working, then one day decided screw it and havent looked back. Car feels fine

Thanks for the info nah the power steering is fine it did run empty one day and i mean empty lol no idea why but i refilled it and she is sweet when it was empty it was heavy but atm all seems good maybe i will leave it off i dont go drifting or anything like that i just drive fast usualy 200+ where safe to do so so i thought the extra cornering might have come in handy and the odd 100+m burnout down the road, os it possible to wire in a toggle switch to enable/dissqble hicas as needed? Sorry for all the questions i usualy drive either a nissan patrol or a v8 ute or ride my ninja 650 or what ever car i have with fuel and tyres..... so no ute atm ;)

Alrighty thanks for the help yeah i think ill do that any idea on cost and where to get one? Got the horn working was tucking lose wires away and i shit myself when the horn went off and wouldnt stop so wired it all up :) from my understanding the horn wire was green but the orange one in the pics was my horn :) i think the steering angle sensor is removed had it removed today right down to the bearing behind the wheel all the controls removed and nothing that seems to measure the steering i thought i found it but it was the the thingy to turn off the indicators :)

sounds like its gone. HICAS Lock bars are only about $100 or so. Easy enough to do at home. Just need a big spanner to undo the steering arms from the HICAS motor so they can be fitted to the lock bar.

Make sure you get a wheel alignment afterwards as your rear toe will be out

Yeah thats what i thought.. yeah ill get one and fit it in next few weeks plus the other things they defected me on aswell.. forgot to pay my rego so a ticket for that on top didnt help.. yeah got lots of toys, i gave alot away over the last year aswell, helped out a few ppl who could use them more than me.