Well I have to agree with TA on that one... a Royal Commission may be a waste of coin as we all know nothing will change but some of the bigger unions are corrupt as all f**k. Just because they force people to pay you more doesn't actually make them legit lol.

On the other hand if you were simply going for the whole pot calling the kettle black thing, then I agree 100%

Fast torago or similar at the drags is cool. Budget FWD CRV turbo is a bit head scratching.

At least those turbo Rav4's launch hard.

Semi related, looked into a new luxo model torago at the dealership (was just walking past, not considering) and was very surprised to see it only had 4 seats that were like f**king armchairs! Very El Grande

When I was in America we were cruising around in a Chrysler Town and Country, 2000mi on the clock and luxo spec.

The back seats were full on leather versions of the Goldclass seats. Sleeping wasn't too tricky at all

Braking and Cornering on the other hand...

When I was in America we were cruising around in a Chrysler Town and Country, 2000mi on the clock and luxo spec.

The back seats were full on leather versions of the Goldclass seats. Sleeping wasn't too tricky at all

Braking and Cornering on the other hand...

But ALL American cars don't corner or stop. I know because Clarkson told me

Set fire to the brakes in a '10 camero in nappa valley a few yeas back.

had a '09 mustang convertible year b4 that and never had a car with worse build quality/panel gaps/so little power from so much engine

'12 charger...yeah that did not turn, felt like so many turns of the wheel to to anything and had milk bottle tops from brake rotors.

so yeah I'm going to agree with him

oh forgot the 14 dodge Journey, just google a pic and yes it drove like it looks...good boot space tho

ummm yes please

11930929_1455393558102064_62183079582115

new electric go karts opening in western suburbs

http://www.hivoltagekarts.com.au/karts/

my experience with electric go karts was far from promising

we had a large group (work trip) so were using all the karts and were in a 6 race format 2 groups with 2 qualifications then looser final and our final.

by the 2 finals random karts were just slowing down as could not keep up the charge.

sure they swapped you into a new one but ppl lost heaps of spots,

so for a longer session or for busy days give me petrol any day of the week.

(that said when working instant torque was great made being a larger person good as more grip and go faster)

I think Ford Au did the right thing.

the turbo 4 is a good entry model, and def not for everyone

the V8 is classic

the V6 they used in the stangs was such a boat anchor.

when I hired it I was thinking, it a 4L 6 with a live axle, ok it will handle like my Ute.

not even close, there just seemed to be no power, the ride quality was shocking and went though some juice for that, (stereo was great tho) you can see how it was being built down to a 20K entry price in USA

I dunno man... I know plenty of sub 3.0 cars that hammer lol

no-one here would disagree..

but if you buying a "muscle car" you would want the v8, short of forced induction I'm sure the 4 will be quicker, cheaper, lighter and better handling...I would still get the 8 tho.

sometimes it's emotion rather than brains that makes the final call.

5.0L v8 303kw 525nM 13.1L/100km
2.3L t4 233kw 432nM 8.5L/100km

54% more capacity
23% more power

17% more torque
35% higher minimum fuel consumption

Hmmmm... the turbo 4 doesn't actually look too bad when you compare them. Still not a v8 though... wonder what's going to happen if you up the boost by a few psi though.
Probably match the power and torque of the v8 for $500 worth of boost controller and a flash tune.

The turbo has more budget tuning potential IMO. I see 4k into the turbo getting you near on 300rwkw+ and not a great deal worse economy. Wonder how strong the engine is, though?

I see the same thing spent on the V8 getting you 300rwkw, awful economy and shitty drivability. If you have 10-15 to throw at an engine, then that thing with a supercharger or turbo would be the way to go.

I think for a few years the turbo models will suffer the fate of 86s - being low cost / entry level new cars with warranties, people won't want to modify them to extremity for a few years, save for the tuning houses and dedicated track/drags people.

the turbo is cheaper too, they all look cool but yeah i wouldn't help but feel like ive downgraded to a 5.0l non supercharged engine..

they might suffer from gt86 syndrome and be very common!

next car for me = wrx i reckon, like them but too bad no towbar capability.. also unsure on actually how much better fuel consumption i'd get given that i'd probably flat foot it everywhere. Mine gets about 15/100 atm

Edited by UNR33L

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• Thanks for all the replies fellas. Gonna finish putting it back together and see how it handles the set up. If it starts pinging it’ll be parked.
    • Well, I can recommend the partial AV system translation CD I ordered from Car Audio Workshop in NZ. Whilst it didn't address the date issue, it has conveniently translated on-screen menu items into English, and now allows the GPS-received time to be offset in hours rather than minutes, so I can display Eastern Australian time accurately ( and bump it by another hour when daylight savings starts ).
    • Yuh, if it's 45°C outside, my car is driving in it.
    • I'd be curious to hear more. Otherwise, have you driven a modern x-trail? I wonder how it compares. Here in Australia they are/were popular for rentals and fleet vehicles. I have been in some and my impression was they are bad. But, this may have been very different in the 2000s at a good trim level. Twenty years is plenty of time to make the model worse. I do very much agree with the 2 silver cars in the garage approach. But, not driving because it's too hot would not leave a lot of time in the year for many Australians. I don't think you need to worry too much unless the car has actual issues with overheating. 
    • Back again. I returned to Japan in Jul/Aug to spend time with the car on my birthday and remind myself what all the sacrifice and compromise is for. It happened to line up with the monthly morning meet in Okutama, which I have been wanting to go to for a long time. It's a unique event at a unique spot with really rare, interesting, and quirky cars. It's where all the oldheads and OGs gather. The nighttime scene at DKF certainly has its place and should be experienced if you're into cars, but there's too much bad attention and negativity around it now. IMO the better time is Sunday morning at DKF or Okutama; it's more chill and relaxed. I'm glad I was finally able to go, but not sure it's worth the drive from all the way from Nagoya immediately the day before, unless I was already staying in Tokyo for the days right before the meet, because you have to wake up quite early to make it in time. Funnily enough though I didn't drive the car all that much this trip because it was just too damn hot. While there were zero issues and running temps were nominal and the A/C was strong, RBs already run crazy hot as it is. Sure, it took it all like a champ but something about driving these cars in the ridiculous heat/humidity bothers me and makes me feel like I'm asking too much of it. I'm just me being weird and treating the car like a living thing with feelings; I'm mechanically sympathetic to a fault. Instead I was mainly driving something else around - a KX4(silver) 2001 X-Trail GT, that I acquired in May. There's a few different flavors to choose from with Xs, but visually it's the Nissan version of the Honda CR-V. Mechanically it's a whole different story as this, being the top-trim GT, has an SR20VET mated to a four-speed auto and full-time AWD! It was a very affordable buy in exceptional condition inside and out, with very low mileage...only 48k kms. Most likely it was owned by an older person who kept it garaged and well-maintained, so I'm really happy with how it all worked out. It literally needs zero attention at the moment, albeit except for some minor visual touch-ups. I wanted something quirky, interesting, and practical and for sure it handily delivers on all three of those aspects. I was immediately able to utilize the cargo and passenger capacity to its full extent. It's a lot of fun to drive and is quite punchy through 1st and 2nd. It's very unassuming -in the twisty bits it's a lot more composed than one would think at a glance- and it'll be even better once I get better tires on it(yes, it's an SUV but still a little boat-y for my liking). So...now I have two golden-era Nissans in silver. One sports car and one that does everything else; the perfect two-car solution I think👍 The rest of the trip...I was able to turn my stressed brain off and enjoy it, although I didn't quite get to do as much as I thought. I did some interesting things, met some interesting people, and happened into some interesting situations however, that's all for another post though only if people really want to know. Project-wise, I went back to Mine's again to discuss more plans and am hoping to wrap that up real soon; keep watching this space if that interests you. Additionally, while working in the tormenting sweatbox that is the warehouse, I was able to organize most of the myriad of parts that my friend is storing for me along with the cars, and the 34 has a nice little spot carved out for it: And since it can get so stupid hot in there, that made it all the more easy -after I was standing there looking at the car and said 'f**k it'- to finally remove all the damn gauges that have mostly been an eyesore all this time. Huzzah. The heat basically makes the adhesive backing on the gauge mounts more pliable to work with, so it was far less stressful getting this done. I didn't fully clean it up or chase the wiring though; that will happen once I have the car in closer possession. Another major reason to remove all that stuff is to give people less reasons to get in my car and steal s**t while it's being exported/imported when/if the time comes, which leads us to my next point... ...and that is even though it's time in Japan is technically almost up since it's a November car and the X would be coming in March, I'm still not entirely sure where my life and career is headed; I don't really know what the future looks like and where I'm going to end up. I feel there's a great deal of uncertainty with me and as a result of that, it feels like I'm at a crossroads moreso now than any point in my life thus far and there are some choices I need to make. Yes, I've had some years to consider things and prepare myself, however too much has happened in that time to maintain confidence and everything feels so up in the air; tenuous one might say. Simply put, there's just too much nonsense going on right now from multiple vectors. Admittedly, I'm struggling to stay in the game and keep my eyes on the prize. So much so in fact, that very recently I came the closest I ever have before to calling it quits outright; selling everything and moving on and not looking back. The astute among you will pick up on key subtext within this paragraph. In the meantime I've still managed to slowly acquire some final bits for the car, but it feels nice knowing there's not much left to get and I'm almost across that finish line; I have almost everything I'll ever want for my interpretation and expression on what it is I think an R34 should be. 'til later.