Unsustainable production in Australia will win the war

Congrats to the 55 though...they can blame management in a few years time when the brewery shuts down and sacks 1000

Unsustainable my dick. I listen to bogans whinging all day that they have no money for luxuries, not for a second stopping to think how much disposable income they'd have if their piss budget wasn't $200+ a week. They talk about beer like it's food and water, a necessity. CUB simply wanted to increase their profits by sacking the staff that keep their shit pumping out day in day out, and offering them their job back at a fraction of the wage.. I guess they expected them to bend over and cop it, a bit like most of you Muppets would... The market deciding the rate right... Pretty sure management isn't the market. Once their production went from millions of slabs to a few hundred thousand, and their labour hire workforce still couldn't manage to maintain production like the sacked staff did, they probably realised they'd f**ked up by thinking dual tradesmen would accept maccas wages. But with morons like you guys thinking that's the way it should go, who can blame them.

It's possible. Contrary to what you may think, I'm actually for supporting Australians in keeping Australian jobs, and against free market deciding that. My criticism of the CUB action is that it feels like short term win and potential long term loss - money in the weekly pocket over the 5 year profitability of a publically traded company that has to compete with imported product.

The supportive action for Australian manufacturing and jobs needs to come from the government and be targeting consumers, not twisting the arms of Australian based businesses struggling to compete in a world market, or propping them up with bailouts. Without tariffs and government action to drive support for local business, and with a disposable society + increasing quality goods coming out of China/Korea, consumerism in Australia will turn / has turned to the lowest bidders in exchange for being able to afford more material goods. These Asian countries have much lower standards for working and living conditions than us, we simply can't compete on anything except quality and innovation and one day they may be the only areas where jobs are available.

Online shopping is a huge driving force in this and if you engage in it whilst complaining about Australian jobs being given to offshore people then it's a tad hypocritical; I think most of us are guilty these days.

$60/h electricians at CUB. cant blame them for trying to lower the wage legally. now they have production targets so they cant sit on their ass all day.

union been doing the rounds, getting people to couch up to help those who have been on strike for 6months. Will the people now back at work be on a payment plan to pay those people back? ETU put up a billboard on the monash, ads in the paper, and sponsored facebook links telling everyone to boycott CUB products (wonder how much that would have cost?), and now done a 180 telling members to now focus on CUB beers. Union then had celebratory drinks today at 12pm. isn't everyone supposed to be at work?

Pretty sure CUB just did a cost analysis and worked out it was cheaper to pay the over inflated wages than continue losing sales due to a union backed boycott.

It's nothing more than union strong arm tactics... Let's not pretend it's market demand... If it was all electricians would be getting $60ph + penalties to stickytape wires together

I know it hurts to know that you wear a flash suit but make less than plenty of dirty blue collar monkeys, you'll just have to deal with it.

You're either trying to bait me, or you're actually a clueless moron, I hope for your sake it's the former..

Unions are the greatest contributor to the death of Australian manufacturing I can think of.  We all want to get paid more to do less but we're realistic. Unions don't need to be in touch with reality, they have standover tactics and bullying. It's more profitable that way. 

5 hours ago, dezz said:

I know it hurts to know that you wear a flash suit but make less than plenty of dirty blue collar monkeys, you'll just have to deal with it.

You're either trying to bait me, or you're actually a clueless moron, I hope for your sake it's the former..

lol... I'm pretty sure we all know that the real money is made by guys in suits, not the boys on site having 4 smoko's an hour

How much were those CUB blokes getting paid anyway? 65% is a fair chunk of a cut. Do they actually have skills or could anyone do it?

Loled @ the protest video, clearly they're outraged Malloo driving bogans, yes I'm jelly 

Also, RIP 88e? 

Edited by UNR33L

It was over $60/h. So go back to $26 or more an hour. Any sparky working for a large company non-team leader/supervisor in a permanent position/location over $40/h is getting a great deal.
Some guys i know on EBA agreements get 2% payrise bi-annually. So when people sit there for years, wages get ridiculous.