Am I the only one who feels sorry for some uni students? Not all of them have gone and done bs arts degrees with no future vision or under the assumption they'll just get a job out of bs - those degrees are designed for personal knowledge building anyway. Some uni students doing other courses have been lured into the premise of one by heavy industry demand at the time that since dropped off, or pushed into uni by parents only to discover they either don't like the field, aren't good enough to get into it / supply is too high, or the qualification gave them nothing relevant to catch a job. If I could go back I certainly would have taken up a trade, but when I was 16 no one really had the foresight to see how well paid tradies or fifos would be these days - being a tradie wasn't held in high regard, it was what the high school drop outs did.

There's exceptions like law and medicine, sciences and many marketing jobs for instance require a tertiary education in the field (not that there aren't other ways to get these jobs).

But yeah...I feel bad for those who went to uni being sold the prospect of a good career but haven't been able to use their degrees for this. Not only are they not getting paid while learning but need to pay back a debt down the track when they do finally get a job which may not be a skilled or professional job, so not earning much and setting them back further. You'd sure be pissed if your apprenticeship or tafe lead to nowhere and that's without copping a debt at the end of it. Something all should be concerned about as many will end up on centrelink or receive tax benefits through the government.

Whilst there would be a good many, I don't think all the struggling uni students out there unable to get their first homes are arts students blowing their 50k a year barista wages on lattes and interpretive dance shows.

VWL waiting for 88E be like

photo.jpg

I don't feel sorry for uni students. Now employers have the choice to ask for a degree education for something often completely irrelevant or that is their definition of tertiary education.most graduates be just as useless and non-uni people, but easier to weed out those without degrees via recruiting agency automatic wordsearch filtering

14 hours ago, TiTAN said:

If the market is at the point where that's the only way you can get into it. Then there's a far bigger issue at play.

You actually can't afford it/you aren't being sensible with the money you make/you have unrealistic expectations about where you are looking to buy vs what you do make/shits just outright over priced.

People are like oh I can't afford to buy, mean while taking an overseas holiday every year and blowing the rest of their money on alcohol/partying/fancy car. No shit you cant save the deposit. If that's the way you want to spend your money, go for gold. But don't cry that you can't afford shit as though that has nothing to do with it.

Not the only way they can get into the market, I would hope, but certainly helps first home buyers to compete on a more level playing field in the property market with established and foreign buyers.

I think it's a combination of all those factors put together, but as we discussed recently in this or another thread, the city needs to decentralise a bit so there is more motivation for people to move further out, cause where affordable housing is, travel time to city jobs is getting ridiculous. And I'm the first to say find a job in the suburbs like I have. But 30 years ago Wantirna was a fringe suburb and cheap housing, yet it was also only 40 minutes from the city, not over an hour travel where he equivalent affordable housing would be today. And that's without taking into account the change in wage vs cost of housing.

That latter description is a bit of a strawman...the quintessential millennial arts student with hecs debt who travels and then complains they cannot afford both...these people definitely exist, but I think it masquerades as a perception of anyone complaining about affordability, which is arguably a real problem.

1 hour ago, Leroy Peterson said:

I don't feel sorry for uni students. Now employers have the choice to ask for a degree education for something often completely irrelevant or that is their definition of tertiary education.most graduates be just as useless and non-uni people, but easier to weed out those without degrees via recruiting agency automatic wordsearch filtering

This is what I'm finding whilst looking for a job at the moment, it's often that they just have a requirement of a tertiary education as a minimal despite it being non-related to the job.

No affordable housing close to the city my dick.
Tarneit is affordable and 15-25 to the city depending on which estate you choose. Half the problem is eastside cock suckers who think they're too good to live in the west because they grew up in the east.

Just because your parents can afford to live there doesn't mean you can, so keep crying about housing affordability, no sympathy from me

20 minutes ago, dezz said:

No affordable housing close to the city my dick.
Tarneit is affordable and 15-25 to the city depending on which estate you choose. Half the problem is eastside cock suckers who think they're too good to live in the west because they grew up in the east.

Just because your parents can afford to live there doesn't mean you can, so keep crying about housing affordability, no sympathy from me

What are joints in Tarneit going for?

It's probably not just work then, people wanna live in the east cause closer to their parents, friends, geographic location - mountains / leafy parks, beaches etc. Also jobs inner east like Richmond. The west isn't what it used to be and come a long way but it is still nicer in the east hence higher prices. Except Dandenong / Apex dream boats of course.

I'm struggling to see your point... Where you want to live is irrelevant if you can't afford to live there, it's that simple.

God forbid anyone should hav to lower their standards to fit their means, the government should just buy everyone a beach house close to leafy parks and mountains.

When I bought I just wanted something close to the city, with a garage, near a train station for getting into the city. That ended up being 2 bedroom Clayton unit, sure I'd love a massive 4 bedroom Brighton house but $$ Reason I stayed east side is friends, family, and job location at the time.

If I needed or wanted a bigger house then yeah, would have to look out Cranbourne way.

Edited by UNR33L

I'm working in richmond at the moment. Its a really filthy place near the station and no freakin parking anywhere, dont know why anyone would want to live there. Used to live in Burnley in a house, it was pretty good working tradie hours but on a weekend you needed to leave the house before 9am or else traffic is f**ked.

Everyone says 10mins to the city from the west... never looks like that when I drive near the Westgate freeway or Bolte bridge or the tulla. at least once a week there is some moron caused a huge accident which makes people rage and drive even worse. Seriously reckon more worse drivers in the west. Even today traffic was f**ked in like 4 different spots all over melbourne. So glad my work in inner city is temporary.

Depends what you're earning I reckon, if on 45k then yeah buying coffees from cafes, going out for lunch & dinners, and drinking $50 of booze a week needs to be cut out.  Gym, rent, bills, fuel, netflix, spotify, interweb are all acceptable no matter what [emoji3] 

The problem my mrs has at the moment is not earning that much (first year full time job) and spends like $100+ a week on different makeup stuff, for some reason she's addicted to it, I guess I can't talk though buying motorbike parts and shit all the time. Soon she'll have to pay off dat dere $50k hecs loan too. #uni #uniforthewin #bachelorofarts

$100 a week on makeup... umm wtf???? That's definitely insane. I wear makeup every day for work and spend about $30 every 2-3 months when something runs out.

I do buy a coffee from McCafe every morning though. Coffee > makeup

40 minutes ago, L33SH said:

$100 a week on makeup... umm wtf???? That's definitely insane. I wear makeup every day for work and spend about $30 every 2-3 months when something runs out.

I do buy a coffee from McCafe every morning though. Coffee > makeup

Maybe she's just extra ugly, lel jokes. Yeah I don't know, it's not like she can use it all at once. 

7 hours ago, UNR33L said:

Nah she did a science degree, bach of arts was just a joke :P 

Although a science degree is probably nearly as useful as Arts. 

I did a 2 year tafe course, cost like less than 1k a year with health care card at the time fast forward a few years earning pretty decent for my age now for a "dumb tafe guy''  edit: maybe not for vwl standards, #6fig #800k #fifo

if it makes you feel better...your more qualified than me.

4 hours ago, dezz said:

I'm struggling to see your point... Where you want to live is irrelevant if you can't afford to live there, it's that simple.

God forbid anyone should hav to lower their standards to fit their means, the government should just buy everyone a beach house close to leafy parks and mountains.

My point is, that's the reason people are complaining, not saying it's always justified. But the housing market compared to wages has gotten pretty bad. When my brother bought in Narre Warren 5 years ago, house and land was 260ish. Now the equivalent further out in a now equivalent suburb like Pakenham or Langwarrin is looking at 360ish+. Three bedroom townhouse in Tarneit for about the same from a quick check. The wages haven't gone up proportionately with it. Either way they'll have to suck it up and live longer with parents etc. cause I can't see housing going down in price anytime soon.

2 hours ago, Count Grantleyish said:

Looks like I'd better off living in sticks  

Truly. If you don't care for location then you're gonna win big as far as buying a house and getting good value for it. It's astonishing what even a suburb across will do for cost. City is shit, unless you're 20 years old and going to nightclubs I can't fathom why people like living there.

55 minutes ago, Birds said:

Truly. If you don't care for location then you're gonna win big as far as buying a house and getting good value for it. It's astonishing what even a suburb across will do for cost. City is shit, unless you're 20 years old and going to nightclubs I can't fathom why people like living there.

Only that I don't agree with prices of property in "regional cities" based on what I've seen over the internets.

But I shouldn't really look at properties while I can't afford to service the loans, gotta finish that course and get some tickets before I can do "adult" stuff haha.