Supercharger is really nice when someone in a Camry cuts you off or something and you need the instant 'f**k you' foot down smoke them up as you go around them. 

Oh and going up the mountains you can basically sit in any gear you want

You don't get the rushing feel of torque like a turbo though, just because torque is basically flat through whole rev range, either will be a great mod.

Edited by UNR33L

Agree with Leigh - the choice between the two comes down to whether you want to go fast or feel fast

We clocked up more instant G force in my Skyline than his three hundred and seventy five kilowatts that walked away from me pretty easily

2 hours ago, Birds said:

Agree with Leigh - the choice between the two comes down to whether you want to go fast or feel fast

We clocked up more instant G force in my Skyline than his three hundred and seventy five kilowatts that walked away from me pretty easily

yes but how much of that was tyres ...  hook up lays a bigger part of instant g that power..

Was just foot down when rolling, both cars had grip.

Leigh's power delivery is just so linear that after the initial pull you barely feel it accelerating anymore...just see the speedo going up...probably also helps that you get to a given speed quickly so the feeling doesn't last as long either

Supercharging certainly seems more simple, less space, less heat issues, less custom work.

That pretty much is the winner for me. You can tweak chargers to suit your requirements and power curve with pulleys, belts and tuning?

If I'm gonna do it, should probably get it done before eofy.

Other thing to consider is warranty... Walkinshaw / harrop etc offer warranty, at a cost, haven't really looked into how it affects the manufacturer warranty if at all... But my mate recommended dynomotive or dpm, sounds like they offer more and better quality for less than walkinshaw etc...

2 minutes ago, dezz said:

If I'm gonna do it, should probably get it done before eofy.

Other thing to consider is warranty... Walkinshaw / harrop etc offer warranty, at a cost, haven't really looked into how it affects the manufacturer warranty if at all... But my mate recommended dynomotive or dpm, sounds like they offer more and better quality for less than walkinshaw etc...

I don't think EOFY really matters man... end of the day adding a supercharger to your work ute is not a deductable for a sparky. 

Go the supercharger, you'll love it.

And yeah you can change boost by smaller pulley & the tune, e.g my car can be adjusted from low boost (3psi ish to 9psi ish stock standard) but if I want more than that I need to buy a smaller pulley to spin the supercharger harder. The problem here lies that then generally need the supporting mods like a turbo car, fuel pump, injectors etc. 

That's great as long as you don't get audited.

Remember they compare you against the expected deduction for your salary & occupation class.

If you claim enough to stick out like a sore thumb it's going to be reeeeeeal hard to explain why you needed to add performance parts to your car that were not factory delivered.

2 minutes ago, Kinkstaah said:

Anyone know a decent auto elec that is mobile in Vic?

Not necessarily an "after hours cash only" style job, need a professional that can un-f**k a clusterf**k.

what happened? did you look at your car?